CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP

New Pharmacy License Requiredtc "New Pharmacy License Required"
According to the Texas Pharmacy Act, Section 560.101, a pharmacy license is not transferable or assignable.  Therefore, if a pharmacy changes ownership, the new owner must obtain a new pharmacy license.  A change of ownership takes place when one of the following occurs:

(1)
a sole proprietor (individual) incorporates or changes to a partnership;

(2)
a partnership incorporates or changes to a sole proprietor;

(3)
a corporation dissolves and changes it status to a partnership or sole proprietor;*

(4)
a sole proprietor (individual), partnership or corporation sells or transfers the ownership to another individual, partnership or corporation.


*Note:  A change of ownership does not occur when the corporation sells stock to another person or changes officers but the same corporation continues as the owner of the pharmacy license.

Application Proceduretc "Application Procedure"
A change of ownership pharmacy license application may be downloaded from (Pharmacy App); and if applicable, a remote pharmacy service application may be downloaded from (Remote App).  Please read the following instructions carefully and complete all sections of the application(s).  Most delays in issuing a pharmacy license are a direct result of incomplete pharmacy license applications and/or supporting documentation.  

Additional Required Registrations / Permits for Pharmacies

Undergoing A Change of Ownership and Located in Texas

tc "Additional Required Registrations / Permits for Pharmacies
Undergoing  A Change of Ownership and Located in Texas"
Controlled Substances1tc "Controlled Substances2"
When the pharmacy obtains a new pharmacy license, the pharmacy must obtain new registrations from the Department of Public Safety (DPS) and the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA).

Note:  DEA requires registrants to notify the appropriate DEA Divisional Office by registered mail at least 14 days prior to a transfer of ownership.  See “Distribution upon Discontinuance or Transfer of Business” in the DEA Pharmacist’s Manual section of this reference.

When new controlled substance regulations are not obtained by the date of the change of ownership, a new owner may operate under the previous owner’s controlled substance registration during the transition period if:

(1)
BOTH the buyer and the seller enter into a power of attorney that specifically sets forth the following:


(A)
the seller agrees to allow the controlled substances activities to be carried out under the seller’s DEA registration;


(B)
the seller agrees to allow the buyer to carry out the controlled substances activities of the pharmacy, including the ordering of controlled substances, as an agent of the seller;

(C) the seller acknowledges that, as the controlled substances registrant, he/she will be held accountable for any violations of the controlled substances laws which may occur;


(D)
the buyer agrees that the controlled substances activities of the pharmacy may be carried out under the seller’s DEA registration for no more than 45 days after the purchase date, which shall be recorded in the agreement; and

(2)
the buyer notifies the appropriate DEA Divisional Office by registered mail at least 14 days in advance of the proposed use of the seller’s DEA registration and furnishes a copy of the power of attorney and a copy of the seller’s DEA registration certificate.  No written or other response from DEA regarding the proposed Power of Attorney will constitute DEA approval.  Contact the appropriate DEA Divisional Office for complete information.

Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) Registrationtc "Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) Registration"
Allow at least 45 days for DEA to process your controlled substances registration.  Applications may be obtained from DEA at the following:




Registration Unit




PO Box 28083




Central Station




Washington, DC 20038-8083




(800) 882-9539 (24-hour automated system)




Web Address:  www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov

Dallas Divisional Office  (For zip codes:  75000-75899*, 76000-76499 and 79000-79700*)



Drug Enforcement Administration




10160 Technology Blvd., East




Dallas, Texas 75220




(214) 366-6900




Registration:  (214) 640-0849


Houston Divisional Office  (For zip codes:  75900-75999*, 77000-78199*, and 78900-78999*)



Drug Enforcement Administration




1433 West Loop South, Suite 600




Houston, Texas 77027




(713) 693-3634 




Registration:  (713) 693-3660  or  (800) 743-0595

San Antonio District Office  (For zip codes:  75800-75899*, 76500-76999, 78000-78299*, 78600-78999*, and


79700-79900*)


Drug Enforcement Administration




10127 Morocco, Suite 200




San Antonio, Texas 78216




(210) 442-5634




Registration:  (713) 693-3660  or  (800) 743-0595
* Note: Divisional Office responsibility is assigned by county, therefore there may be some overlap in the zip codes listed above.  If your zip code is listed for more than one of the Divisional Offices, contact any of the Divisional Offices and ask which office is responsible for your county.

1You must have a pharmacy license first, then a DPS registration in order to complete the DEA application.

Inventory Requirementstc "Inventory Requirements"
On the date of the transfer of ownership, an inventory of all controlled substances and all dosage forms containing nalbuphine (e.g., Nubain®) and carisoprodol (e.g., Soma®) on hand must be taken (see Board Rule 291.17) for complete inventory requirements).  This inventory constitutes the closing inventory of the previous owner and the initial inventory of the new owner.  This inventory must be retained for at least two years.

(1)
If the new owner has a new DEA registration number on the date of the change of ownership, this will be the only inventory of controlled substances needed for the change of ownership.  Transfer the controlled substances as outlined below.*

(2)
If the new owner does NOT have a new DEA registration number on the date of the change of ownership, a second inventory of all controlled substances on hand must be taken when the new DEA registrations is received.  Transfer the controlled substances as outlined below.

Transfer of Schedule II Controlled Substancestc "Transfer of Schedule II Controlled Substances"
(1)
Schedule II controlled substances must be transferred on a DEA Order Form (DEA 222).  The previous owner is the “Supplier” and the new owner is the “Purchaser.”  The new owner “orders” the C-II drugs from the previous owner on the new owner’s DEA Order Forms.

(2)
If full bottles of C-II drugs are transferred, the purchaser writes the number of bottles in the column marked “number of packages” and writes the size of package in the column marked “size of package.”  If partial bottles of C-II drugs are transferred, the purchaser should leave blank the column marked “number of packages” and complete the column marked “size of package” with the exact number of tablets (capsules, etc.) transferred.  The count for C-II drugs may not be estimated.

(3)
The new owner (or the person granted power of attorney for the new owner) signs the Order Form and issues Copy 1 (brown) and Copy 2 (green) to the previous owner.

(4)
The previous owner enters the required information on the right-hand side of the DEA Order Form in the space marked “To be filled in by Supplier” (the NDC number of the transferred drug is not required).  The Supplier’s DEA registration number is the DEA registration number of the pharmacy under the previous owner (seller’s DEA number).

Transfer of Schedule III-V Controlled Substancestc "Transfer of Schedule III-V Controlled Substances"
Records must be maintained for the transfer of Schedule III, IV, or V controlled substances.  These records (e.g., invoices) must indicate the following information:

(1)
the actual date of transfer;

(2)
name, strength, and quantity of the controlled substance transferred;

(3)
name, address and DEA registration number of the transferring pharmacy; and

(4)
name, address and DEA registration number of the pharmacy or practitioner to whom the controlled substances are transferred.

An estimated count or measure of Schedule III-V drugs may be taken unless the container holds more than 1000 dosage units, in which case an exact count of the contents must be made.

*Note:  The transferring pharmacy must provide a copy of the record of distribution (invoice) to the receiving pharmacy.

Previous Owner’s (Seller’s) Responsibilitiestc "Previous Owner’s (Seller’s) Responsibilities"
(1)
Mail the following items to the appropriate DEA divisional office:


(a)
the DEA registration certificate issued to the previous owner;


(b)
all unused DEA Order Forms (DEA 222) — the previous owner should write the word “VOID” on the face of each Order Form prior to mailing;


(c)
copy 2 (green) of the DEA Order Forms which were used to transfer Schedule II controlled substances, if any; and


(d)
letter of explanation.


Dallas Divisional Office  (For zip codes:  75000-75899*, 76000-76499 and 79000-79700*)




Drug Enforcement Administration




10160 Technology Blvd., East




Dallas, Texas 75220




(214) 366-6900




Registration:  (214) 640-0849


Houston Divisional Office  (For zip codes:  75900-75999*, 77000-78199*, and 78900-78999*)



Drug Enforcement Administration




1433 West Loop South, Suite 600




Houston, Texas 77027




(713) 693-3634




Registration:  (713) 693-3660  or  (800) 743-0595


San Antonio District Office  (For zip codes:  75800-75899*, 76500-76999, 78000-78299*, 78600-78999*, and


79700-79900*)




Drug Enforcement Administration




10127 Morocco, Suite 200




San Antonio, Texas 78216




(210) 442-5634




Registration:  (713) 693-3660  or  (800) 743-0595
* Note: Divisional Office responsibility is assigned by county, therefore there may be some overlap in the zip codes listed above.  If your zip code is listed for more than one of the Divisional Offices, contact any of the Divisional Offices and ask which office is responsible for your county.

(2)
Mail the following items to DPS:


(a)
DPS registration certificate; and


(b)
a letter of explanation.

Mail to:

Department of Public Safety




Controlled Substances Registration Section




PO Box 4087




Austin, Texas 78773-0001

Retention of Recordstc "Retention of Records"
All controlled substance records of the previous owner must be transferred to the new owner.  The previous owner is responsible for the accuracy of the records prior to the date of transfer but the new owner is responsible for the custody and maintenance of the records.  All records must be maintained 2 years from the date of the sale.

