TEXAS STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY
CHAPTER 295. PHARMACISTS
22 TAC §295.8

The Texas State Board of Pharmacy proposes amendments to §295.8, concerning Continuing
Education Requirements. The amendments, if adopted, clarify the procedures for pharmacists
who have been licensed for 50 years wanting to return to the practice of pharmacy.

Gay Dodson, R.Ph., Executive Director/Secretary, has determined that, for the first five-year
period the rule is in effect, there will be no fiscal implications for state or local government
as a result of enforcing or administering the rule.

Ms. Dodson has determined that, for each year of the first five-year period the rule will be in
effect, the public benefit anticipated as a result of enforcing the rule will be to ensure that
only qualified individuals are licensed to practice pharmacy. There is no fiscal impact for
individuals, small or large businesses or to other entities which are required to comply with
this section.

Comments on the proposed amendments may be submitted to Allison Benz, R.Ph., M.S.,
Director of Professional Services, Texas State Board of Pharmacy, 333 Guadalupe Street,
Suite 3-600, Austin, Texas 78701, FAX (512) 305-8082. Comments must be received by
5:00 p.m., October 30, 2008.

The amendments are proposed under §551.002 and §554.051 of the Texas Pharmacy Act
(Chapters 551 - 566 and 568 - 569, Texas Occupations Code). The Board interprets §551.002
as authorizing the agency to protect the public through the effective control and regulation of
the practice of pharmacy. The Board interprets 8554.051(a) as authorizing the agency to
adopt rules for the proper administration and enforcement of the Act.

The statutes affected by this rule: Texas Pharmacy Act, Chapters 551 - 566 and 568 - 5609,
Texas Occupations Code.

§295.8.Continuing Education Requirements.
(@) - (c) (No change.)

(d) Reporting Requirements.

(1) - (2) (No change.)

(3) Extension of time for reporting. A pharmacist who has had a physical disability, illness,
or other extenuating circumstances which prohibits the pharmacist from obtaining continuing

education credit during the preceding license period may be granted an extension of time to




(A) [€)] The pharmacist shall submit a petition to the board with his/her license renewal
application which contains:

(i) [(H] the name, address, and license number of the pharmacist;

(i) [(HH] statement of the reason for the request for extension which includes the dates the
pharmacist was incapacitated; and

(iii) [(HH] if the reason for the request for extension is health related, a statement from the
attending physician(s) treating the pharmacist which includes the nature of the physical
disability or illness and the dates the pharmacist was incapacitated.

(B) [€H#)] After review and approval of the petition, a pharmacist may be granted an extension
of time to comply with the continuing education requirement which shall not exceed one
license renewal period.

(C) [€H#] An extension of time to complete continuing education credit does not relieve a
pharmacist from the continuing education requirement during the current license period.

(D) [€¢)] If a petition for extension to the reporting period for continuing education is
denied, the pharmacist shall:

(i) [€H] have 60 days to complete and report completion of the required continuing education
requirements; and

(i) [€HH] be subject to the requirements of paragraph (2) of this subsection relating to failure
to report completion of the required continuing education if the required continuing
education is not completed and reported within the required 60-day time period.




(4) Exemptions from reporting requirements.

(A) All pharmacists licensed in Texas shall be exempt from the continuing education
requirements during their initial license period.

(B) Pharmacists who have been licensed for 50 years are subject to the following.

(i) Pharmacists who are actively practicing pharmacy shall complete the continuing
education requirements in order to renew their license.

(ii) Pharmacists who are not actively practicing pharmacy shall be granted an exemption to
the reporting requirements for continuing education provided the pharmacists submit a
completed renewal application for each license period which states that they are not
practicing pharmacy. Upon submission of the completed renewal application, the pharmacist
shall be issued a renewal certificate which states that pharmacist is inactive.

(iii) Pharmacists who wish to return to the practice of pharmacy after being exempted from
the continuing education requirements as specified in clause (ii) of this subparagraph must:

(1) notify the board of their intent to actively practice pharmacy;

(11) pay the licensing fee as specified in §295.5 of this title (relating to Pharmacist License or
Renewal Fees); and

(111) provide copies of completion certificates from approved continuing education programs
as specified in subsection (e) of this section for 30 hours. Approved continuing education
earned within two years prior to the licensee applying for the return to active status may be
applied toward the continuing education requirement for reactivation of the license but may
not be counted toward subsequent renewal of the license.

(e) - (9) (No change.)

This agency hereby certifies that the proposal has been reviewed by legal counsel and found
to be within the agency's legal authority to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on September 8, 2008.
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Earliest possible date of adoption: October 19, 2008

For further information, please call: (512) 305-8028



