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RULE ANALYSIS 
   
 Introduction: THE AMENDMENTS ARE SUBMITTED TO THE BOARD FOR 

CONSIDERATION AS AN ADOPTED RULE 
  
 Short Title: Fees  
 
 Rule Numbers: §§291.6, 295.5 
 

 Statutory Authority: Texas Pharmacy Act, Chapter 551-569, Occupations Code: 
 
  (1) Section 551.002 specifies that the purpose of the Act is to 

protect the public through the effective control and regulation 
of the practice of pharmacy; and  

  (2) Section 554.051 gives the Board the authority to adopt rules 
for the proper administration and enforcement of the Act.   

   
 Purpose: The amendments, if adopted, will increase the fee to obtain an 

amended pharmacy license from $20 to $100; add a fee to fund the 
Prescription Drug Monitoring Program as passed by Senate Bill 195 
of the 84th Texas Legislature.  

     
The Board reviewed and voted to propose the amendments during the May 5, 2015, 
meeting. The proposed amendments were published in the June 26, 2015, issue of the 
Texas Register at 40 TexReg 4173. 
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CHAPTER 291. PHARMACIES  1 

SUBCHAPTER A. ALL CLASSES OF PHARMACIES  2 

22 TAC §291.6  3 

The Texas State Board of Pharmacy proposes amendments to §291.6, concerning Pharmacy 4 
License Fees. The amendments, if adopted, add a fee to fund the Prescription Drug Monitoring 5 
Program as passed by Senate Bill 195 of the 84th Texas Legislature and increase the fee to 6 
obtain an amended pharmacy license from $20 to $100.  7 

Gay Dodson, R.Ph., Executive Director/Secretary, has determined that, for the first five-year 8 
period the rule is in effect, there will be fiscal implications for state government as a result of 9 
enforcing or administering the amended rule as follows:  10 

Revenue increase  11 

FY2016: $99,776  12 

FY2017: $108,400  13 

FY2018: $108,400  14 

FY2019: $108,400  15 

FY2020: $108,400  16 

There are no anticipated fiscal implications for local government.  17 

Ms. Dodson has determined that, for each year of the first five year period the amendments will 18 
be in effect, the public benefit anticipated as a result of enforcing the rule will be assuring that 19 
the Texas State Board of Pharmacy is adequately funded to carry out its mission. The effect on 20 
large, small or micro-businesses (pharmacies) will be the same as the economic cost to an 21 
individual, if the pharmacy chooses to pay the fee for the individual.  22 

Economic cost to persons who are required to comply with the amended rule will be an increase 23 
of $21 for an initial license and renewal of a license; and an increase of $80 for an amended 24 
license.  25 

Comments on the amendments may be submitted to Allison Benz, R.Ph., M.S., Director of 26 
Professional Services, Texas State Board of Pharmacy, 333 Guadalupe Street, Suite 3-600, 27 
Austin, Texas, 78701, FAX (512) 305-8008. Comments must be received by 5:00 p.m., August 28 
3, 2015.  29 

The amendments are proposed under §551.002 and §554.051 of the Texas Pharmacy Act 30 
(Chapters 551 - 569, Texas Occupations Code). The Board interprets §551.002 as authorizing the 31 
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agency to protect the public through the effective control and regulation of the practice of 32 
pharmacy. The Board interprets §554.051(a) as authorizing the agency to adopt rules for the 33 
proper administration and enforcement of the Act.  34 

The statutes affected by these amendments: Texas Pharmacy Act, Chapters 551 - 569, Texas 35 
Occupations Code.  36 

§291.6.Pharmacy License Fees.  37 

(a) Initial License Fee.  38 

(1) Prior to October 1, 2015, the fee for an initial license shall be $500 for the initial registration 39 
period and for processing the application and issuance of the pharmacy license as authorized by 40 
the Act §554.006. Effective October 1, 2015, the fee for an initial license shall be $401 for the 41 
initial registration period and for processing the application and issuance of the pharmacy license 42 
as authorized by the Act §554.006.  43 

(2) In addition, the following fees shall be collected:  44 

(A) $15 surcharge to fund a program to aid impaired pharmacists and pharmacy students as 45 
authorized by the Act §564.051;  46 

(B) prior to October 1, 2015, $15 surcharge to fund TexasOnline as authorized by Chapter 2054, 47 
Subchapter I, Government Code; and effective October 1, 2015, $12 surcharge to fund 48 
TexasOnline as authorized by Chapter 2054, Subchapter I, Government Code; [and]  49 

(C) $5 surcharge to fund the Office of Patient Protection as authorized by Chapter 101, 50 
Subchapter G, Occupations Code; and  51 

(D) $21 surcharge to fund the Prescription Drug Monitoring Program as authorized by §554.006, 52 
Occupations Code, effective October 1, 2015.  53 

(b) Biennial License Renewal. The Texas State Board of Pharmacy shall require biennial renewal 54 
of all pharmacy licenses provided under the Act §561.002.  55 

(c) Renewal Fee.  56 

(1) Prior to October 1, 2015, the fee for biennial renewal of a pharmacy license shall be $500 for 57 
processing the application and issuance of the pharmacy license as authorized by the Act 58 
§554.006. Effective October 1, 2015, the fee for biennial renewal of a pharmacy license shall be 59 
$401 for processing the application and issuance of the pharmacy license as authorized by the 60 
Act §554.006.  61 

(2) In addition, the following fees shall be collected:  62 
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(A) $15 surcharge to fund a program to aid impaired pharmacists and pharmacy students as 63 
authorized by the Act §564.051;  64 

(B) prior to October 1, 2015, $15 surcharge to fund TexasOnline as authorized by Chapter 2054, 65 
Subchapter I, Government Code; and effective October 1, 2015, $12 surcharge to fund 66 
TexasOnline as authorized by Chapter 2054, Subchapter I, Government Code; [and]  67 

(C) $2 surcharge to fund the Office of Patient Protection as authorized by Chapter 101, 68 
Subchapter G, Occupations Code; and  69 

(D) $21 surcharge to fund the Prescription Drug Monitoring Program as authorized by §554.006, 70 
Occupations Code, effective October 1, 2015.  71 

(d) Duplicate or Amended Certificates. The fee for issuance of a duplicate [an amended] 72 
pharmacy license renewal certificate shall be $20. The fee for issuance of an amended pharmacy 73 
license renewal certificate shall be $100.  74 
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CHAPTER 295. PHARMACISTS  1 

22 TAC §295.5  2 

The Texas State Board of Pharmacy proposes amendments to §295.5, concerning Pharmacist 3 
License or Renewal Fees. The amendments, if adopted, add a fee to fund the Prescription Drug 4 
Monitoring Program as passed by Senate Bill 195 of the 84th Texas Legislature.  5 

Gay Dodson, R.Ph., Executive Director/Secretary, has determined that, for the first five-year 6 
period the rule is in effect, there will be fiscal implications for state government as a result of 7 
enforcing or administering the amended rule as follows:  8 

Revenue increase  9 

FY2016: $320,082  10 

FY2017: $380,100  11 

FY2018: $380,100  12 

FY2019: $380,100  13 

FY2020: $380,100  14 

There are no anticipated fiscal implications for local government.  15 

Ms. Dodson has determined that, for each year of the first five year period the amendments will 16 
be in effect, the public benefit anticipated as a result of enforcing the rule will be assuring that 17 
the Texas State Board of Pharmacy is adequately funded to carry out its mission. The effect on 18 
large, small or micro-businesses (pharmacies) will be the same as the economic cost to an 19 
individual, if the pharmacy chooses to pay the fee for the individual.  20 

Economic cost to persons who are required to comply with the amended rule will be an increase 21 
of $21 for an initial license and renewal of a license.  22 

Comments on the amendments may be submitted to Allison Benz, R.Ph., M.S., Director of 23 
Professional Services, Texas State Board of Pharmacy, 333 Guadalupe Street, Suite 3-600, 24 
Austin, Texas 78701, FAX (512) 305-8008. Comments must be received by 5:00 p.m., August 3, 25 
2015.  26 

The amendments are proposed under §551.002 and §554.051 of the Texas Pharmacy Act 27 
(Chapters 551 - 566, 568, and 569, Texas Occupations Code). The Board interprets §551.002 as 28 
authorizing the agency to protect the public through the effective control and regulation of the 29 
practice of pharmacy. The Board interprets §554.051(a) as authorizing the agency to adopt rules 30 
for the proper administration and enforcement of the Act.  31 
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The statutes affected by these amendments: Texas Pharmacy Act, Chapters 551 - 566, 568, and 32 
569, Texas Occupations Code.  33 

§295.5.Pharmacist License or Renewal Fees.  34 

(a) Biennial Registration. The Texas State Board of Pharmacy shall require biennial renewal of 35 
all pharmacist licenses provided under the Pharmacy Act, §559.002.  36 

(b) Initial License Fee.  37 

(1) Prior to October 1, 2015, the fee for the initial license shall be $281 for a two year 38 
registration and for processing the application and issuance of the pharmacist license as 39 
authorized by the Act, §554.006. Effective October 1, 2015, the fee for an initial license shall be 40 
$235 for a two year registration and for processing the application and issuance of the pharmacist 41 
license as authorized by the Act, §554.006.  42 

(2) In addition, the following fees shall be collected:  43 

(A) $13 surcharge to fund a program to aid impaired pharmacists and pharmacy students as 44 
authorized by the Act, §564.051;  45 

(B) $5 surcharge to fund TexasOnline as authorized by Chapter 2054, Subchapter I, Government 46 
Code; [and]  47 

(C) $5 surcharge to fund the Office of Patient Protection as authorized by Chapter 101, 48 
Subchapter G, and Occupations Code; and[.]  49 

(D) $21 surcharge to fund the Prescription Monitoring Program as authorized by §554.006, 50 
Occupations Code, effective October 1, 2015.  51 

(3) New pharmacist licenses shall be assigned an expiration date and initial fee shall be prorated 52 
based on the assigned expiration date.  53 

(c) Renewal Fee.  54 

(1) Prior to October 1, 2015, the fee for biennial renewal of a pharmacist license shall be $281 55 
for processing the application and issuance of the pharmacist license as authorized by the Act, 56 
§554.006. Effective October 1, 2015, the fee for biennial renewal of a pharmacist license shall be 57 
$235 for processing the application and issuance of the pharmacist license as authorized by the 58 
Act, §554.006.  59 

(2) In addition, the following fees shall be collected:  60 

(A) $13 surcharge to fund a program to aid impaired pharmacists and pharmacy students as 61 
authorized by the Act, §564.051;  62 
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(B) $5 surcharge to fund TexasOnline as authorized by Chapter 2054, Subchapter I, Government 63 
Code; [and]  64 

(C) $2 surcharge to fund the Office of Patient Protection as authorized by Chapter 101, 65 
Subchapter G, Occupations Code; and[.]  66 

(D) $21 surcharge to fund the Prescription Drug Monitoring Program as authorized by §554.006, 67 
Occupations Code, effective October 1, 2015.  68 

(d) Exemption from fee. The license of a pharmacist who has been licensed by the Texas State 69 
Board of Pharmacy for at least 50 years or who is at least 72 years old shall be renewed without 70 
payment of a fee provided such pharmacist is not actively practicing pharmacy. The renewal 71 
certificate of such pharmacist issued by the board shall reflect an inactive status. A person whose 72 
license is renewed pursuant to this subsection may not engage in the active practice of pharmacy 73 
without first paying the renewal fee as set out in subsection (b) of this section.  74 

(e) Duplicate or Amended Certificates.  75 

(1) The fee for issuance of an amended pharmacist's license renewal certificate shall be $20.  76 

(2) The fee for issuance of an amended license to practice pharmacy (wall certificate) only, or 77 
renewal certificate and wall certificate shall be $35.  78 
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