RULE ANALYSIS

Introduction: THE AMENDMENTS ARE SUBMITTED TO THE BOARD FOR
CONSIDERATION AS AN AODPTED RULE

Short Title: Continuing Education
Rule Numbers: 8§297.8
Statutory Authority: Texas Pharmacy Act, Chapter 551-569, Occupations Code:

(1) Section 551.002 specifies that the purpose of the Act is to
protect the public through the effective control and regulation
of the practice of pharmacy; and

(2) Section 554.051 gives the Board the authority to adopt rules
for the proper administration and enforcement of the Act.

Purpose: The amendments, if adopted, update the continuing education
requirements for pharmacy technicians.

The Board reviewed and voted to propose the amendments during the May 5, 2015,
meeting. The proposed amendments were published in the June 26, 2015, issue of the
Texas Register at 40 TexReg 4190.
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CHAPTER 297. PHARMACY TECHNICIANS AND PHARMACY TECHNICIAN
TRAINEES

22 TAC §297.8

The Texas State Board of Pharmacy proposes amendments to §297.8, concerning Continuing
Education Requirements. The amendments, if adopted, decrease the number of in-service hours
allowed for continuing education from 10 to 5 hours; clarify the requirements for continuing
education hours; and clarify the types of programs pharmacy technicians may count for
continuing education.

Gay Dodson, R.Ph., Executive Director/Secretary, has determined that, for the first five-year
period the rule is in effect, there will be no fiscal implications for state or local government as a
result of enforcing or administering the rule.

Ms. Dodson has determined that, for each year of the first five-year period the rule will be in
effect, the public benefit anticipated as a result of enforcing the amendment will be ensuring
pharmacy technicians have the appropriate continuing education. There is no fiscal impact for
individuals, small or large businesses, or to other entities which are required to comply with this
section.

Comments on the amendments may be submitted to Allison Benz, R.Ph., M.S., Director of
Professional Services, Texas State Board of Pharmacy, 333 Guadalupe Street, Suite 3-600,
Austin, Texas 78701, FAX (512) 305-8008. Comments must be received by 5:00 p.m., August 3,
2015.

The amendments are proposed under §551.002 and §8554.051 of the Texas Pharmacy Act
(Chapters 551 - 566, 568, and 569, Texas Occupations Code). The Board interprets §551.002 as
authorizing the agency to protect the public through the effective control and regulation of the
practice of pharmacy. The Board interprets 8554.051(a) as authorizing the agency to adopt rules
for the proper administration and enforcement of the Act.

The statutes affected by these amendments: Texas Pharmacy Act, Chapters 551 - 566, 568, and
569, Texas Occupations Code.

§297.8.Continuing Education Requirements.

(a) Pharmacy Technician Trainees. Pharmacy technician trainees are not required to complete
continuing education.

(b) Pharmacy Technicians.

(1) All pharmacy technicians shall be exempt from the continuing education requirements during
their initial registration period.
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(2) All pharmacy technicians must complete and report 20 contact hours of approved continuing
education obtained during the previous [per] renewal period in pharmacy related subjects in
order to renew their registration as a pharmacy technician. No more than 5 [48] of the 20 hours
may be earned at the pharmacy technician's workplace through in-service education and training
under the direct supervision of the pharmacist(s).

(A) successfully completing the number of continuing education hours necessary to renew a

registration as specified in paragraph (2) of this subsection:;

(B) successfully completing during the preceding license period, one credit hour for each year of
the renewal period, in pharmacy related college course(s); or

(C) taking and passing the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE) during the
preceding renewal period, which shall be equivalent to the number of continuing education hours
necessary to renew a reqistration as specified in paragraph (2) of this subsection.

(4) To renew a reqistration, a pharmacy technician must report on the renewal application
completion of at least twenty contact hours of continuing education. The following is applicable
to the reporting of continuing education contact hours.

(A) For renewals received after January 1, 2015, at least one contact hour of the 20 contact hours
specified in paragraph (2) of this subsection shall be related to Texas pharmacy laws or rules.

(B) Any continuing education requirements which are imposed upon a pharmacy technician as a
part of a board order or agreed board order shall be in addition to the requirements of this
section.

(5) [(4)] Pharmacy technicians are required to maintain records of completion of continuing
education for three years from the date of reporting the hours on a renewal application. The
records must contain at least the following information:

(A) name of participant;

(B) title and date of program;

(C) program sponsor or provider (the organization);

(D) number of hours awarded; and

(E) dated signature of sponsor representative.
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(6) [(5)] The board shall audit the records of pharmacy technicians for verification of reported
continuing education credit. The following is applicable for such audits.

(A) Upon written request, a pharmacy technician shall provide to the board copies of the record
required to be maintained in paragraph (5) [€4)] of this subsection or certificates of completion
for all continuing education contact hours reported during a specified registration period. Failure
to provide all requested records by the specified deadline constitutes prima facie evidence of a
violation of this rule.

(B) Credit for continuing education contact hours shall only be allowed for programs for which
the pharmacy technician submits copies of records reflecting that the hours were completed
during the specified registration period(s). Any other reported hours shall be disallowed.

(C) A pharmacy technician who submits false or fraudulent records to the board shall be subject
to disciplinary action by the board [shal-retsubmit-false-orfraudulentrecords-to-the-board].

(7) The following is applicable if a pharmacy technician fails to report completion of the
required continuing education.

(A) The registration of a pharmacy technician who fails to report completion of the required
number of continuing education contact hours shall not be renewed and the pharmacy technician
shall not be issued a renewal certificate for the license period until such time as the pharmacy
technician successfully completes the required continuing education and reports the completion
to the board.

(B) A person shall not practice as a pharmacy technician without a current renewal certificate.

(8) A pharmacy technician who has had a physical disability, illness, or other extenuating
circumstances which prohibits the pharmacy technician from obtaining continuing education
credit during the preceding license period may be granted an extension of time to complete the
continued education requirement. The following is applicable for this extension:

(A) The pharmacy technician shall submit a petition to the board with his/her registration
renewal application which contains:

(i) the name, address, and registration number of the pharmacy technician;

(ii) a statement of the reason for the request for extension;

(iii) if the reason for the request for extension is health related, a statement from the attending
physician(s) treating the pharmacy technician which includes the nature of the physical disability
or illness and the dates the pharmacy technician was incapacitated; and

(iv) if the reason for the request for the extension is for other extenuating circumstances, a
detailed explanation of the extenuating circumstances and if because of military deployment,
documentation of the dates of the deployment.
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(B) After review and approval of the petition, a pharmacy technician may be granted an
extension of time to comply with the continuing education requirement which shall not exceed
one license renewal period.

(C) An extension of time to complete continuing education credit does not relieve a pharmacy
technician from the continuing education requirement during the current license period.

(D) If a petition for extension to the reporting period for continuing education is denied, the
pharmacy technician shall:

(i) have 60 days to complete and report completion of the required continuing education
requirements; and

(ii) be subject to the requirements of paragraph (6) of this subsection relating to failure to report
completion of the required continuing education if the required continuing education is not
completed and reported within the required 60-day time period.

(9) The following are considered approved programs for pharmacy technicians.

(A) Any program presented by an Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE)
approved provider subject to the following conditions.

(i) Pharmacy technicians may receive credit for the completion of the same ACPE course only
once during a renewal period.

(ii) Pharmacy technicians who present approved ACPE continuing education programs may
receive credit for the time expended during the actual presentation of the program. Pharmacy
technicians may receive credit for the same presentation only once during a license period.

(iii) Proof of completion of an ACPE course shall contain the following information:

(1) name of the participant;

(11 title and completion date of the program;

(111) name of the approved provider sponsoring or cosponsoring the program;

(1V) number of contact hours awarded:

(V) the assigned ACPE universal program number and a "T" designation indicating that the CE
is targeted to pharmacy technicians; and

(V1) either:

(-a-) a dated certifying signature of the approved provider and the official ACPE logo; or
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(-b-) the Continuing Pharmacy Education Monitor logo.

(B) Pharmacy related college courses which are part of a pharmacy technician training program
or part of a professional degree program offered by a college of pharmacy.

(i) Pharmacy technicians may receive credit for the completion of the same course only once
during a license period. A course is equivalent to one credit hour for each year of the renewal
period. One credit hour is equal to 15 contact hours.

(ii) Pharmacy technicians who teach these courses may receive credit towards their continuing
education, but such credit may be received only once for teaching the same course during a

license period.

(C) Basic cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) courses which lead to CPR certification by the
American Red Cross or the American Heart Association or its equivalent shall be recognized as
approved programs. Pharmacy technicians may receive credit for one contact hour towards their
continuing education requirement for completion of a CPR course only once during a renewal
period. Proof of completion of a CPR course shall be the certificate issued by the American Red
Cross or the American Heart Association or its equivalent.

(D) Advanced cardiovascular life support courses (ACLS) or pediatric advanced life support
(PALS) courses which lead to initial ACLS or PALS certification by the American Heart
Association or its equivalent shall be recognized as approved programs. Pharmacy technicians
may receive credit for twelve contact hours towards their continuing education requirement for
completion of an ACLS or PALS course only once during a renewal period. Proof of completion
of an ACLS or PALS course shall be the certificate issued by the American Heart Association or

its equivalent.

(E) Advanced cardiovascular life support courses (ACLS) or pediatric advanced life support
(PALS) courses which lead to ACLS or PALS recertification by the American Heart Association
or its equivalent shall be recognized as approved programs. Pharmacy may receive credit for four
contact hours towards their continuing education requirement for completion of an ACLS or
PALS recertification course only once during a renewal period. Proof of completion of an ACLS
or PALS recertification course shall be the certificate issued by the American Heart Association
or its equivalent.

(F) Attendance at Texas State Board of Pharmacy Board Meetings shall be recognized for
continuing education credit as follows.

(i) Pharmacy technicians shall receive credit for three contact hours towards their continuing
education requirement for attending a full, public board business meeting in its entirety.

(ii) A maximum of six contact hours are allowed for attendance at a board meeting during a
renewal period.
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(iii) Proof of attendance for a complete board meeting shall be a certificate issued by the Texas
State Board of Pharmacy.

(G) Participation in a Texas State Board of Pharmacy appointed Task Force shall be recognized
for continuing education credit as follows.

(i) Pharmacy technicians shall receive credit for three contact hours towards their continuing
education requirement for participating in a Texas State Board of Pharmacy appointed Task
Force.

(ii) Proof of participation for a Task Force shall be a certificate issued by the Texas State Board
of Pharmacy.

(H) Attendance at programs presented by the Texas State Board of Pharmacy or courses offered
by the Texas State Board of Pharmacy as follows:

(i) Pharmacy technicians shall receive credit for the number of hours for the program or course
as stated by the Texas State Board of Pharmacy.

(ii) Proof of attendance at a program presented by the Texas State Board of Pharmacy or
completion of a course offered by the Texas State Board of Pharmacy shall be a certificate issued
by the Texas State Board of Pharmacy.

(1) Pharmacy technicians shall receive credit toward their continuing education requirements for
programs or courses approved by other state boards of pharmacy as follows:

(i) Pharmacy technicians shall receive credit for the number of hours for the program or course
as specified by the other state board of pharmacy.

(ii) Proof of attendance at a program or course approved by another state board of pharmacy
shall be a certificate or other documentation that indicates:

(1) name of the participant;

(1D title and completion date of the program;

(111) name of the approved provider sponsoring or cosponsoring the program;

(1V) number of contact hours awarded;

(V) a dated certifying signature of the provider; and

(V1) documentation that the program is approved by the other state board of pharmacy.
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(J) Completion of an Institute for Safe Medication Practices' (ISMP) Medication Safety Self-
Assessment for hospital pharmacies or for community/ambulatory pharmacies shall be
recognized for continuing education credit as follows.

(i) Pharmacy technicians shall receive credit for three contact hours towards their continuing
education requirement for completion of an ISMP Medication Safety Self-Assessment.

(ii) Proof of completion of an ISMP Medication Safety Self-Assessment shall be:

(1) a continuing education certificate provided by an ACPE approved provider for completion of
an assessment; or

(1) a document from ISMP showing completion of an assessment.

(K) Programs approved by the American Medical Association (AMA) as Category 1 Continuing
Medical Education (CME) and accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical
Education subject to the following conditions.

(i) Pharmacy technicians may receive credit for the completion of the same CME course only
once during a license period.

(ii) Pharmacy technicians who present approved CME programs may receive credit for the time
expended during the actual presentation of the program. Pharmacy technicians may receive
credit for the same presentation only once during a license period.

(iii) Proof of completion of a CME course shall contain the following information:

(1) name of the participant;

(11 title and completion date of the program;

(111) name of the approved provider sponsoring or cosponsoring the program;

(1V) number of contact hours awarded; and

(V) a dated certifying signature of the approved provider.

(L) In-service education provided under the direct supervision of a pharmacist shall be
recognized as continuing education as follows:

(i) Pharmacy technicians shall receive credit for the number of hours provided by pharmacist(s)
at the pharmacy technician's place of employment.

(ii) Proof of completion of in-service education shall contain the following information:

(1) name of the participant;
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(1D title or description of the program;

(111) completion date of the program;

(1V) name of the pharmacist supervising the in-service education;

(V) number of hours; and

(V1) a dated signature of the pharmacist providing the in-service education.

(10) [¢6)] Pharmacy technicians who are certified by the Pharmacy Technician Certification
Board and maintain this certification shall be considered as having met the continuing education
requirements of this section and shall not be subject to audit by the board provided one hour of
continuing education is related to Texas pharmacy law or rules.
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