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TITLE 22 EXAMINING BOARDS 1 

PART 15 TEXAS STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY 2 

CHAPTER 295 PHARMACISTS 3 

§295.1 Change of Address and/or Name 4 

(a) Change of address. A pharmacist shall notify the board in writing within 10 days of a change 5 
of address, giving the old and new address and license number.  6 

(b) Change of name.  7 

(1) A pharmacist shall notify the board in writing within 10 days of a change of name by:  8 

(A) sending a copy of the official document reflecting the name change (e.g., marriage 9 
certificate, divorce decree, etc.); and  10 

(B) paying a fee of $20.  11 

(2) Pharmacists who change their name may retain the original license to practice pharmacy 12 
(wall certificate). However, if the pharmacist wants an amended certificate issued which reflects 13 
the pharmacist's name change, the pharmacist must:  14 

(A) return the original certificate; and  15 

(B) pay a fee of $35.  16 

(3) An amended license and/or certificate reflecting the new name of the pharmacist will be 17 
issued by the board.  18 

§295.2 Change of Employment 19 

A pharmacist shall report in writing to the board within 10 days of a change of employment and 20 
be responsible for seeing that his or her name is removed from the pharmacy license of last 21 
employment and added to the pharmacy license of new employment.  22 

§295.3 Responsibility of Pharmacist 23 

(a) The pharmacist-in-charge shall insure that a pharmacy is in compliance with all state and 24 
federal laws and rules governing the practice of pharmacy.  25 

(b) All pharmacists while on duty, shall be responsible for complying with all state and federal 26 
laws and rules governing the practice of pharmacy.  27 

§295.4 Sharing Money Received for Prescription 28 
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No pharmacist may share or offer to share the money received from a customer for filling a 29 
prescription with the practitioner.  30 

§295.5 Pharmacist License or Renewal Fees 31 

(a) Biennial Registration. The Texas State Board of Pharmacy shall require biennial renewal of 32 
all pharmacist licenses provided under the Pharmacy Act, §559.002.  33 

(b) Initial License Fee.  34 

(1) Prior to October 1, 2015, the fee for the initial license shall be $281 for a two year 35 
registration and for processing the application and issuance of the pharmacist license as 36 
authorized by the Act, §554.006. Effective October 1, 2015, the fee for an initial license shall be 37 
$235 for a two year registration and for processing the application and issuance of the pharmacist 38 
license as authorized by the Act, §554.006.  39 

(2) In addition, the following fees shall be collected:  40 

(A) $13 surcharge to fund a program to aid impaired pharmacists and pharmacy students as 41 
authorized by the Act, §564.051;  42 

(B) $5 surcharge to fund TexasOnline as authorized by Chapter 2054, Subchapter I, Government 43 
Code; and  44 

(C) $5 surcharge to fund the Office of Patient Protection as authorized by Chapter 101, 45 
Subchapter G, and Occupations Code.  46 

(3) New pharmacist licenses shall be assigned an expiration date and initial fee shall be prorated 47 
based on the assigned expiration date.  48 

(c) Renewal Fee.  49 

(1) Prior to October 1, 2015, the fee for biennial renewal of a pharmacist license shall be $281 50 
for processing the application and issuance of the pharmacist license as authorized by the Act, 51 
§554.006. Effective October 1, 2015, the fee for biennial renewal of a pharmacist license shall be 52 
$235 for processing the application and issuance of the pharmacist license as authorized by the 53 
Act, §554.006.  54 

(2) In addition, the following fees shall be collected:  55 

(A) $13 surcharge to fund a program to aid impaired pharmacists and pharmacy students as 56 
authorized by the Act, §564.051;  57 

(B) $5 surcharge to fund TexasOnline as authorized by Chapter 2054, Subchapter I, Government 58 
Code; and  59 
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(C) $2 surcharge to fund the Office of Patient Protection as authorized by Chapter 101, 60 
Subchapter G, Occupations Code.  61 

(d) Exemption from fee. The license of a pharmacist who has been licensed by the Texas State 62 
Board of Pharmacy for at least 50 years or who is at least 72 years old shall be renewed without 63 
payment of a fee provided such pharmacist is not actively practicing pharmacy. The renewal 64 
certificate of such pharmacist issued by the board shall reflect an inactive status. A person whose 65 
license is renewed pursuant to this subsection may not engage in the active practice of pharmacy 66 
without first paying the renewal fee as set out in subsection (b) of this section.  67 

(e) Duplicate or Amended Certificates.  68 

(1) The fee for issuance of an amended pharmacist's license renewal certificate shall be $20.  69 

(2) The fee for issuance of an amended license to practice pharmacy (wall certificate) only, or 70 
renewal certificate and wall certificate shall be $35.  71 

§295.6 Emergency Temporary Pharmacist License 72 

(a) Definitions. The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have the 73 
following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.  74 

(1) Emergency situation--an emergency caused by a natural or manmade disaster or any other 75 
exceptional situation that causes an extraordinary demand for pharmacist services.  76 

(2) Sponsoring pharmacy--a pharmacy licensed by the Board in which the emergency temporary 77 
pharmacist will practice.  78 

(3) State--One of the 50 United States of America, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico.  79 

(b) Emergency Temporary Pharmacist license. In an emergency situation, the board may grant a 80 
pharmacist who holds a license to practice pharmacy in another state an emergency temporary 81 
pharmacist license to practice in Texas. The following is applicable for the emergency temporary 82 
pharmacist license.  83 

(1) An applicant for an emergency temporary pharmacist license under this section must:  84 

(A) hold a current pharmacist license in another state and that license and other licenses held by 85 
the applicant in any other state may not be suspended, revoked, canceled, surrendered, or 86 
otherwise restricted for any reason; and  87 

(B) be sponsored by a pharmacy with an active license in Texas.  88 

(2) To qualify for an emergency temporary pharmacist license, the applicant must submit an 89 
application including the following information:  90 
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(A) name, address, and phone number of the applicant;  91 

(B) name and license number of the pharmacist-in-charge of the sponsoring pharmacy;  92 

(C) name and license number of the sponsoring pharmacy; and  93 

(D) any other information the required by the board.  94 

(3) An emergency temporary pharmacist license shall be valid for a period as determined by the 95 
board not to exceed six months. The executive director of the board, in his/her discretion, may 96 
renew the license for an additional six months, if the emergency situation still exists.  97 

(4) The board will notify the sponsoring pharmacy of the approval of an emergency temporary 98 
pharmacist license.  99 

(c) Limitations on practice. A holder of an emergency temporary pharmacist license:  100 

(1) may only practice in the sponsoring pharmacy; and  101 

(2) must notify the board in writing, prior to beginning employment in another sponsoring 102 
pharmacy.  103 

§295.7 Pharmacist License Renewal 104 

For the purposes of the Act, Chapter 559, Subchapter A.  105 

(1) A license to practice pharmacy expires on the last day of the assigned expiration month.  106 

(2) Before the expiration date of the license means the receipt in the board's office of a 107 
completed application and renewal fee on or before the last day of the assigned expiration month.  108 

(3) As specified in §559.003, if the completed application and renewal fee is not received on or 109 
before the last day of the assigned expiration month, the person's license to practice pharmacy 110 
shall expire. A person shall not practice pharmacy with an expired license. An expired license 111 
may be renewed according to the following schedule.  112 

(A) If license has been expired for 90 days or less, the person may become licensed by making 113 
application and paying to the board a renewal fee that is equal to one and one-half times the 114 
renewal fee for the license as specified in §295.5 of this title (relating to Pharmacist License or 115 
Renewal Fees).  116 

(B) If license has been expired for more than 90 days but less than one year, the person may 117 
become licensed by making application and paying to the board a renewal fee that is equal to two 118 
times the renewal fee for the license as specified in §295.5 of this title.  119 
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(C) If license has been expired for one year or more, the person shall apply for a new license as 120 
specified in §283.10 of this title (relating to Requirements for Application for a Pharmacist 121 
License Which Has Expired).  122 

§295.8 Continuing Education Requirements 123 

(a) Authority and purpose.  124 

(1) Authority. In accordance with §559.053 of the Texas Pharmacy Act, (Chapters 551 - 566, and 125 
568 - 569, Occupations Code), all pharmacists must complete and report 30 contact hours (3.0 126 
CEUs) of approved continuing education obtained during the previous license period in order to 127 
renew their license to practice pharmacy.  128 

(2) Purpose. The board recognizes that the fundamental purpose of continuing education is to 129 
maintain and enhance the professional competency of pharmacists licensed to practice in Texas, 130 
for the protection of the health and welfare of the citizens of Texas.  131 

(b) Definitions. The following words and terms, when used in this section, shall have the 132 
following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.  133 

(1) ACPE--Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education.  134 

(2) Act--The Texas Pharmacy Act, Chapters 551 - 566 and 568 - 569, Occupations Code.  135 

(3) Approved programs--Live programs, home study, and other mediated instruction delivered 136 
by an approved provider or a program specified by the board and listed as an approved program 137 
in subsection (e) of this section.  138 

(4) Approved provider--An individual, institution, organization, association, corporation, or 139 
agency that is approved by the board.  140 

(5) Board--The Texas State Board of Pharmacy.  141 

(6) Certificate of completion--A certificate or other official document presented to a participant 142 
upon the successful completion of an approved continuing education program.  143 

(7) Contact hour--A unit of measure of educational credit which is equivalent to approximately 144 
60 minutes of participation in an organized learning experience.  145 

(8) Continuing education unit (CEU)--A unit of measure of education credit which is equivalent 146 
to 10 contact hours (i.e., one CEU = 10 contact hours).  147 

(9) CPE Monitor--A collaborative service from the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy 148 
and ACPE that provides an electronic system for pharmacists to track their completed CPE 149 
credits.  150 
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(10) Credit hour--A unit of measurement for continuing education equal to 15 contact hours.  151 

(11) Enduring Materials (Home Study)--Activities that are printed, recorded or computer assisted 152 
instructional materials that do not provide for direct interaction between faculty and participants.  153 

(12) Initial license period--The time period between the date of issuance of a pharmacist's license 154 
and the next expiration date following the initial 30 day expiration date.  155 

(13) License period--The time period between consecutive expiration dates of a license.  156 

(14) Live programs--Activities that provide for direct interaction between faculty and 157 
participants and may include lectures, symposia, live teleconferences, workshops, etc.  158 

(15) Standardized pharmacy examination--The North American Pharmacy Licensing 159 
Examination (NAPLEX).  160 

(c) Methods for obtaining continuing education. A pharmacist may satisfy the continuing 161 
education requirements by either:  162 

(1) successfully completing the number of continuing education hours necessary to renew a 163 
license as specified in subsection (a)(1) of this section;  164 

(2) successfully completing during the preceding license period, one credit hour for each year of 165 
their license period, which is a part of the professional degree program in a college of pharmacy 166 
the professional degree program of which has been accredited by ACPE; or  167 

(3) taking and passing the standardized pharmacy examination (NAPLEX) during the preceding 168 
license period, which shall be equivalent to the number of continuing education hours necessary 169 
to renew a license as specified in subsection (a)(1) of this section.  170 

(d) Reporting Requirements.  171 

(1) Renewal of a pharmacist license. To renew a license to practice pharmacy, a pharmacist must 172 
report on the renewal application completion of at least thirty contact hours (3.0 CEUs) of 173 
continuing education. The following is applicable to the reporting of continuing education 174 
contact hours.  175 

(A) For renewals received after January 1, 2015, at least one contact hour (0.1 CEU) specified in 176 
paragraph (1) of this subsection shall be related to Texas pharmacy laws or rules.  177 

(B) Any continuing education requirements which are imposed upon a pharmacist as a part of a 178 
board order or agreed board order shall be in addition to the requirements of this section.  179 

(2) Failure to report completion of required continuing education. The following is applicable if 180 
a pharmacist fails to report completion of the required continuing education.  181 
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(A) The license of a pharmacist who fails to report completion of the required number of 182 
continuing education contact hours shall not be renewed and the pharmacist shall not be issued a 183 
renewal certificate for the license period until such time as the pharmacist successfully completes 184 
the required continuing education and reports the completion to the board.  185 

(B) A pharmacist who practices pharmacy without a current renewal certificate is subject to all 186 
penalties of practicing pharmacy without a license including the delinquent fees specified in the 187 
Act, §559.003.  188 

(3) Extension of time for reporting. A pharmacist who has had a physical disability, illness, or 189 
other extenuating circumstances which prohibits the pharmacist from obtaining continuing 190 
education credit during the preceding license period may be granted an extension of time to 191 
complete the continued education requirement. The following is applicable for this extension:  192 

(A) The pharmacist shall submit a petition to the board with his/her license renewal application 193 
which contains:  194 

(i) the name, address, and license number of the pharmacist;  195 

(ii) a statement of the reason for the request for extension;  196 

(iii) if the reason for the request for extension is health related, a statement from the attending 197 
physician(s) treating the pharmacist which includes the nature of the physical disability or illness 198 
and the dates the pharmacist was incapacitated; and  199 

(iv) if the reason for the request for the extension is for other extenuating circumstances, a 200 
detailed explanation of the extenuating circumstances and if because of military deployment, 201 
documentation of the dates of the deployment.  202 

(B) After review and approval of the petition, a pharmacist may be granted an extension of time 203 
to comply with the continuing education requirement which shall not exceed one license renewal 204 
period.  205 

(C) An extension of time to complete continuing education credit does not relieve a pharmacist 206 
from the continuing education requirement during the current license period.  207 

(D) If a petition for extension to the reporting period for continuing education is denied, the 208 
pharmacist shall:  209 

(i) have 60 days to complete and report completion of the required continuing education 210 
requirements; and  211 

(ii) be subject to the requirements of paragraph (2) of this subsection relating to failure to report 212 
completion of the required continuing education if the required continuing education is not 213 
completed and reported within the required 60-day time period.  214 
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(4) Exemptions from reporting requirements.  215 

(A) All pharmacists licensed in Texas shall be exempt from the continuing education 216 
requirements during their initial license period.  217 

(B) Pharmacists who are not actively practicing pharmacy shall be granted an exemption to the 218 
reporting requirements for continuing education provided the pharmacists submit a completed 219 
renewal application for each license period which states that they are not practicing pharmacy. 220 
Upon submission of the completed renewal application, the pharmacist shall be issued a renewal 221 
certificate which states that pharmacist is inactive. Pharmacists who wish to return to the practice 222 
of pharmacy after being exempted from the continuing education requirements as specified in 223 
this subparagraph must:  224 

(i) notify the board of their intent to actively practice pharmacy;  225 

(ii) pay the fee as specified in §295.9 of this title (relating to Inactive License); and  226 

(iii) provide copies of completion certificates from approved continuing education programs as 227 
specified in subsection (e) of this section for 30 contact hours (3.0 CEUs). Approved continuing 228 
education earned within two years prior to the licensee applying for the return to active status 229 
may be applied toward the continuing education requirement for reactivation of the license but 230 
may not be counted toward subsequent renewal of the license.  231 

(e) Approved Programs.  232 

(1) Any program presented by an ACPE approved provider subject to the following conditions.  233 

(A) Pharmacists may receive credit for the completion of the same ACPE course only once 234 
during a license period.  235 

(B) Pharmacists who present approved ACPE continuing education programs may receive credit 236 
for the time expended during the actual presentation of the program. Pharmacists may receive 237 
credit for the same presentation only once during a license period.  238 

(C) Proof of completion of an ACPE course shall contain the following information:  239 

(i) name of the participant;  240 

(ii) title and completion date of the program;  241 

(iii) name of the approved provider sponsoring or cosponsoring the program;  242 

(iv) number of contact hours and/or CEUs awarded;  243 

(v) the assigned ACPE universal program number and a "P" designation indicating that the CE is 244 
targeted to pharmacists; and  245 
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(vi) either:  246 

(I) a dated certifying signature of the approved provider and the official ACPE logo; or  247 

(II) the CPE Monitor logo.  248 

(2) Courses which are part of a professional degree program or an advanced pharmacy degree 249 
program offered by a college of pharmacy which has a professional degree program accredited 250 
by ACPE.  251 

(A) Pharmacists may receive credit for the completion of the same course only once during a 252 
license period.  253 

(B) Pharmacists who teach these courses may receive credit towards their continuing education, 254 
but such credit may be received only once for teaching the same course during a license period.  255 

(3) Basic cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) courses which lead to CPR certification by the 256 
American Red Cross or the American Heart Association or its equivalent shall be recognized as 257 
approved programs. Pharmacists may receive credit for one contact hour (0.1 CEU) towards their 258 
continuing education requirement for completion of a CPR course only once during a license 259 
period. Proof of completion of a CPR course shall be the certificate issued by the American Red 260 
Cross or the American Heart Association or its equivalent.  261 

(4) Advanced cardiovascular life support courses (ACLS) or pediatric advanced life support 262 
(PALS) courses which lead to initial ACLS or PALS certification by the American Heart 263 
Association or its equivalent shall be recognized as approved programs. Pharmacists may receive 264 
credit for twelve contact hours (1.2 CEUs) towards their continuing education requirement for 265 
completion of an ACLS or PALS course only once during a license period. Proof of completion 266 
of an ACLS or PALS course shall be the certificate issued by the American Heart Association or 267 
its equivalent.  268 

(5) Advanced cardiovascular life support courses (ACLS) or pediatric advanced life support 269 
(PALS) courses which lead to ACLS or PALS recertification by the American Heart Association 270 
or its equivalent shall be recognized as approved programs. Pharmacists may receive credit for 271 
four contact hours (0.4 CEUs) towards their continuing education requirement for completion of 272 
an ACLS or PALS recertification course only once during a license period. Proof of completion 273 
of an ACLS or PALS recertification course shall be the certificate issued by the American Heart 274 
Association or its equivalent.  275 

(6) Attendance at Texas State Board of Pharmacy Board Meetings shall be recognized for 276 
continuing education credit as follows.  277 

(A) Pharmacists shall receive credit for three contact hours (0.3 CEUs) towards their continuing 278 
education requirement for attending a full, public board business meeting in its entirety.  279 
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(B) A maximum of six contact hours (0.6 CEUs) are allowed for attendance at a board meeting 280 
during a license period.  281 

(C) Proof of attendance for a complete board meeting shall be a certificate issued by the Texas 282 
State Board of Pharmacy.  283 

(7) Participation in a Texas State Board of Pharmacy appointed Task Force shall be recognized 284 
for continuing education credit as follows.  285 

(A) Pharmacists shall receive credit for three contact hours (0.3 CEUs) towards their continuing 286 
education requirement for participating in a Texas State Board of Pharmacy appointed Task 287 
Force.  288 

(B) Proof of participation for a Task Force shall be a certificate issued by the Texas State Board 289 
of Pharmacy.  290 

(8) Attendance at programs presented by the Texas State Board of Pharmacy or courses offered 291 
by the Texas State Board of Pharmacy as follows:  292 

(A) Pharmacists shall receive credit for the number of hours for the program or course as stated 293 
by the Texas State Board of Pharmacy.  294 

(B) Proof of attendance at a program presented by the Texas State Board of Pharmacy or 295 
completion of a course offered by the Texas State Board of Pharmacy shall be a certificate issued 296 
by the Texas State Board of Pharmacy.  297 

(9) Pharmacists shall receive credit toward their continuing education requirements for programs 298 
or courses approved by other state boards of pharmacy as follows:  299 

(A) Pharmacists shall receive credit for the number of hours for the program or course as 300 
specified by the other state board of pharmacy.  301 

(B) Proof of attendance at a program or course approved by another state board of pharmacy 302 
shall be a certificate or other documentation that indicates:  303 

(i) name of the participant;  304 

(ii) title and completion date of the program;  305 

(iii) name of the approved provider sponsoring or cosponsoring the program;  306 

(iv) number of contact hours and/or CEUs awarded;  307 

(v) a dated certifying signature of the provider; and  308 

(vi) documentation that the program is approved by the other state board of pharmacy.  309 
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(10) Completion of an Institute for Safe Medication Practices' (ISMP) Medication Safety Self 310 
Assessment for hospital pharmacies or for community/ambulatory pharmacies shall be 311 
recognized for continuing education credit as follows.  312 

(A) Pharmacists shall receive credit for three contact hours (0.3 CEUs) towards their continuing 313 
education requirement for completion of an ISMP Medication Safety Self Assessment.  314 

(B) Proof of completion of an ISMP Medication Safety Self Assessment shall be:  315 

(i) a continuing education certificate provided by an ACPE approved provider for completion of 316 
an assessment; or  317 

(ii) a document from ISMP showing completion of an assessment.  318 

(11) Pharmacists shall receive credit for three contact hours (0.3 CEUs) toward their continuing 319 
education requirements for taking and successfully passing the initial Geriatric Pharmacy 320 
Practice certification examination administered by the Commission for Certification in Geriatric 321 
Pharmacy. Proof of successfully passing the examination shall be a certificate issued by the 322 
Commission for Certification in Geriatric Pharmacy.  323 

(12) Pharmacist shall receive credit for three contact hours (0.3 CEUs) toward their continuing 324 
education requirements for taking and successfully passing an initial Board of Pharmaceutical 325 
Specialties certification examination administered by the Board of Pharmaceutical Specialties. 326 
Proof of successfully passing the examination shall be a certificate issued by the Board of 327 
Pharmaceutical Specialties.  328 

(13) Programs approved by the American Medical Association (AMA) as Category 1 Continuing 329 
Medical Education (CME) and accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical 330 
Education subject to the following conditions.  331 

(A) Pharmacists may receive credit for the completion of the same CME course only once during 332 
a license period.  333 

(B) Pharmacists who present approved CME programs may receive credit for the time expended 334 
during the actual presentation of the program. Pharmacists may receive credit for the same 335 
presentation only once during a license period.  336 

(C) Proof of completion of a CME course shall contain the following information:  337 

(i) name of the participant;  338 

(ii) title and completion date of the program;  339 

(iii) name of the approved provider sponsoring or cosponsoring the program;  340 

(iv) number of contact hours and/or CEUs awarded; and  341 
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(v) a dated certifying signature of the approved provider.  342 

(f) Retention of continuing education records and audit of records by the board.  343 

(1) Retention of records. Pharmacists are required to maintain certificates of completion of 344 
approved continuing education for three years from the date of reporting the contact hours on a 345 
license renewal application. Such records may be maintained in hard copy or electronic format.  346 

(2) Audit of records by the board. The board shall audit the records of pharmacists for 347 
verification of reported continuing education credit. The following is applicable for such audits.  348 

(A) Upon written request, a pharmacist shall provide to the board documentation of proof for all 349 
continuing education contact hours reported during a specified license period(s). Failure to 350 
provide all requested records during the specified time period constitutes prima facie evidence of 351 
failure to keep and maintain records and shall subject the pharmacist to disciplinary action by the 352 
board.  353 

(B) Credit for continuing education contact hours shall only be allowed for approved programs 354 
for which the pharmacist submits documentation of proof reflecting that the hours were 355 
completed during the specified license period(s). Any other reported hours shall be disallowed. A 356 
pharmacist who has received credit for continuing education contact hours disallowed during an 357 
audit shall be subject to disciplinary action.  358 

(C) A pharmacist who submits false or fraudulent records to the board shall be subject to 359 
disciplinary action by the board.  360 

§295.9 Inactive License 361 

(a) Placing a license on inactive status. A person who is licensed by the board to practice 362 
pharmacy but who is not eligible to renew the license for failure to comply with the continuing 363 
education requirements of the Act, Chapter 559, Subchapter A, and who is not engaged in the 364 
practice of pharmacy in this state, may place the license on inactive status at the time of license 365 
renewal or during a license period as follows.  366 

(1) To place a license on inactive status at the time of renewal, the licensee shall:  367 

(A) complete and submit before the expiration date a pharmacist license renewal application 368 
provided by the board;  369 

(B) state on the renewal application that the license is to be placed on inactive status and that the 370 
licensee shall not practice pharmacy in Texas while the license is inactive; and  371 

(C) pay the fee for renewal of the license as specified in §295.5 of this title (relating to 372 
Pharmacist License or Renewal Fees).  373 
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(2) To place a license on inactive status at a time other than the time of license renewal, the 374 
licensee shall:  375 

(A) return the current renewal certificate to the board; and  376 

(B) submit a signed statement stating that the licensee shall not practice pharmacy in Texas while 377 
the license is inactive, and the date the license is to be placed on inactive status; and  378 

(C) pay the fee for issuance of an amended license as specified in §295.5(d) of this title (relating 379 
to Pharmacist License or Renewal Fees).  380 

(b) Prohibition against practicing pharmacy in Texas with an inactive license. A holder of a 381 
license that is on inactive status shall not practice pharmacy in this state. The practice of 382 
pharmacy by a holder of a license that is on inactive status constitutes the practice of pharmacy 383 
without a license.  384 

(c) Reactivation of an inactive license.  385 

(1) A holder of a license that is on inactive status may return the license to active status by:  386 

(A) applying for active status on a form prescribed by the board;  387 

(B) providing copies of completion certificates from approved continuing education programs as 388 
specified in §295.8(e) of this title (relating to Continuing Education Requirements) for 30 hours. 389 
Approved continuing education earned within two years prior to the licensee applying for the 390 
return to active status may be applied toward the continuing education requirement for 391 
reactivation of the license but may not be counted toward subsequent renewal of the license; and  392 

(C) paying the fee specified in paragraph (2) of this subsection.  393 

(2) If the application for reactivation of the license is made at the time of license renewal, the 394 
applicant shall pay the license renewal fee specified in §295.5 of this title (relating to Pharmacist 395 
License or Renewal Fees). If the application for reactivation of the license is made at a time other 396 
than the time of license renewal, the applicant shall pay the fee for issuance of an amended 397 
license to practice pharmacy as specified in §295.5(e) of this title (relating to Pharmacist License 398 
or Renewal Fees).  399 

(3) In an emergency caused by a natural or manmade disaster or any other exceptional situation 400 
that causes an extraordinary demand for pharmacist services, the executive director of the board, 401 
in his/her discretion, may allow pharmacists whose license has been inactive for no more than 402 
two years to reactivate their license prior to obtaining the required continuing education specified 403 
in paragraph (1)(B) of this subsection, provided the pharmacist completes the continuing 404 
education requirement within six months of reactivation of the license. If the required continuing 405 
education is not provided within six months, the license shall return to an inactive status.  406 

§295.11 Notification to Consumers 407 
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(a) Pharmacist. Every pharmacist who practices pharmacy other than in a licensed pharmacy 408 
shall provide notification to consumers of the name, mailing address, Internet Site address and 409 
telephone number of the board for the purpose of directing complaints concerning the practice of 410 
pharmacy to the board. Such notification shall be provided as follows.  411 

(1) If the pharmacist maintains an office and provides pharmacy services to patients who come to 412 
the office, the pharmacist shall either:  413 

(A) post in a prominent place that is in clear public view where pharmacy services are provided a 414 
sign furnished by the Texas State Board of Pharmacy which notifies the consumer that 415 
complaints concerning the practice of pharmacy may be filed with the board and list the mailing 416 
address, Internet site address, telephone number of the board, and if applicable a toll-free 417 
telephone number for filing complaints; or  418 

(B) provide to the patient each time pharmacy services are provided a written notification in type 419 
size no smaller than ten-point Times Roman which states the following: "Complaints concerning 420 
the practice of pharmacy may be filed with the Texas State Board of Pharmacy at: (list the 421 
mailing address, Internet site address, telephone number of the board, and if applicable a toll-free 422 
telephone number for filing complaints)."  423 

(2) If the pharmacist provides pharmacy services to patients not at the pharmacist's office, the 424 
pharmacist shall provide to the patient each time pharmacy services are provided, a written 425 
notification in type size no smaller than ten-point Times Roman which states the following: 426 
"Complaints concerning the practice of pharmacy may be filed with the Texas State Board of 427 
Pharmacy at: (list the mailing address, telephone number of the board, Internet site address, and 428 
if applicable a toll-free telephone number for filing complaints)." Such notification shall be 429 
included:  430 

(A) in each written contract for pharmacist services; or  431 

(B) on each bill for service provided by the pharmacist.  432 

(3) The provisions of this section do not apply to prescriptions for patients in facilities where 433 
drugs are administered to patients by a person required to do so by the laws of the state (i.e., 434 
nursing homes).  435 

(b) Texas State Board of Pharmacy. On or before January 1, 2005, the board shall establish a 436 
pharmacist profile system as specified in §2054.2606, Government Code.  437 

(1) The board shall make the pharmacist profiles available to the public on the agency's Internet 438 
site.  439 

(2) A pharmacist profile shall contain at least the following information:  440 

(A) pharmacist's name;  441 
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(B) pharmacist's license number, licensure status, and expiration date of the license;  442 

(C) name, address, telephone number, and license number of all Texas pharmacies where the 443 
pharmacist works;  444 

(D) the number of years the person has practiced in Texas;  445 

(E) professional pharmacy degree held by the licensee, the year it was received, and the name of 446 
the institution that awarded the degree;  447 

(F) whether the pharmacist is preceptor;  448 

(G) any speciality certification held by the pharmacist; and  449 

(H) whether the pharmacist has had prior disciplinary action by the board.  450 

(3) The board shall gather this information on initial licensing and update the information in 451 
conjunction with the license renewal for the pharmacist.  452 

§295.12 Pharmacist Certification Programs 453 

(a) Purpose. The purpose of this section is to provide standards for the recognition and approval 454 
of pharmacist certification programs as authorized by §554.0021, Occupations Code.  455 

(b) Definitions. The following words and terms, when used in this section, shall have the 456 
following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.  457 

(1) ACPE--The Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education.  458 

(2) Approved Provider of Pharmacist Certificate Programs--An individual, institution, 459 
organization, association, corporation, or agency that is approved by the board and recognized by 460 
ACPE in accordance with its policy and procedures, as having:  461 

(A) met criteria indicative of the ability to provide quality continuing education programs; and  462 

(B) met the procedures outlines in the ACPE "Guidance Document for Practice Based 463 
Activities."  464 

(3) Board--The Texas State Board of Pharmacy.  465 

(c) Recognized Certification Programs.  466 

(1) The board shall recognize as certified, any pharmacist that successfully completes:  467 

(A) any program offered by an approved provider of pharmacist certificate programs;  468 
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(B) any program that meets the requirements of §295.15 of this title (relating to Administration 469 
of Immunizations or Vaccinations by a Pharmacist under Written Protocol of a Physician);  470 

(C) any certification offered by the:  471 

(i) Board of Pharmaceutical Specialties;  472 

(ii) American Society of Consultant Pharmacists;  473 

(iii) American Board of Clinical Pharmacology;  474 

(iv) American Board of Applied Toxicology; and  475 

(v) American Academy of Pain Management; or  476 

(D) any additional certifications as published on the board's website.  477 

(2) Texas pharmacists may not identify themselves as certified unless they have completed one 478 
of the programs specified in paragraph (1) of this subsection.  479 

§295.13 Drug Therapy Management by a Pharmacist under Written Protocol of a 480 
Physician 481 

(a) Purpose. The purpose of this section is to provide standards for the maintenance of records of 482 
a pharmacist engaged in the provision of drug therapy management as authorized in Chapter 157 483 
of the Medical Practice Act and §554.005 of the Act.  484 

(b) Definitions. The following words and terms, when used in this section, shall have the 485 
following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.  486 

(1) Act--The Texas Pharmacy Act, Chapter 551 - 566 and 568 - 569, Occupations Code, as 487 
amended.  488 

(2) Board--The Texas State Board of Pharmacy.  489 

(3) Confidential record--Any health-related record maintained by a pharmacy or pharmacist, 490 
such as a patient medication record, prescription drug order, or medication order.  491 

(4) Drug therapy management--The performance of specific acts by pharmacists as authorized by 492 
a physician through written protocol. Drug therapy management does not include the selection of 493 
drug products not prescribed by the physician, unless the drug product is named in the physician 494 
initiated protocol or the physician initiated record of deviation from a standing protocol. Drug 495 
therapy management may include the following:  496 

(A) collecting and reviewing patient drug use histories;  497 
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(B) ordering or performing routine drug therapy related patient assessment procedures including 498 
temperature, pulse, and respiration;  499 

(C) ordering drug therapy related laboratory tests;  500 

(D) implementing or modifying drug therapy following diagnosis, initial patient assessment, and 501 
ordering of drug therapy by a physician as detailed in the protocol; or  502 

(E) any other drug therapy related act delegated by a physician.  503 

(5) Medical Practice Act--The Texas Medical Practice Act, Subtitle B, Occupations Code, as 504 
amended.  505 

(6) Written protocol--A physician's order, standing medical order, standing delegation order, or 506 
other order or protocol as defined by rule of the Texas Medical Board under the Medical Practice 507 
Act.  508 

(A) A written protocol must contain at a minimum the following:  509 

(i) a statement identifying the individual physician authorized to prescribe drugs and responsible 510 
for the delegation of drug therapy management;  511 

(ii) a statement identifying the individual pharmacist authorized to dispense drugs and to engage 512 
in drug therapy management as delegated by the physician;  513 

(iii) a statement identifying the types of drug therapy management decisions that the pharmacist 514 
is authorized to make which shall include:  515 

(I) a statement of the ailments or diseases involved, drugs, and types of drug therapy 516 
management authorized; and  517 

(II) a specific statement of the procedures, decision criteria, or plan the pharmacist shall follow 518 
when exercising drug therapy management authority;  519 

(iv) a statement of the activities the pharmacist shall follow in the course of exercising drug 520 
therapy management authority, including the method for documenting decisions made and a plan 521 
for communication or feedback to the authorizing physician concerning specific decisions made. 522 
Documentation shall be recorded within a reasonable time of each intervention and may be 523 
performed on the patient medication record, patient medical chart, or in a separate log book; and  524 

(v) a statement that describes appropriate mechanisms and time schedule for the pharmacist to 525 
report to the physician monitoring the pharmacist's exercise of delegated drug therapy 526 
management and the results of the drug therapy management.  527 
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(B) A standard protocol may be used or the attending physician may develop a drug therapy 528 
management protocol for the individual patient. If a standard protocol is used, the physician shall 529 
record what deviations, if any, from the standard protocol are ordered for that patient.  530 

(c) Physician delegation to a pharmacist.  531 

(1) As specified in Chapter 157 of the Texas Medical Practices Act, a physician may delegate to 532 
a properly qualified and trained pharmacist acting under adequate physician supervision the 533 
performance of specific acts of drug therapy management authorized by the physician through 534 
the physician's order, standing medical order, standing delegation order, or other order or 535 
protocol.  536 

(2) A delegation under paragraph (1) of this subsection may include the implementation or 537 
modification of a patient's drug therapy under a protocol, including the authority to sign a 538 
prescription drug order for dangerous drugs, if:  539 

(A) the delegation follows a diagnosis, initial patient assessment, and drug therapy order by the 540 
physician;  541 

(B) the pharmacist practices in a hospital, hospital-based clinic, or an academic health care 542 
institution; and  543 

(C) the hospital, hospital-based clinic, or academic health care institution in which the 544 
pharmacist practices has bylaws and a medical staff policy that permit a physician to delegate to 545 
a pharmacist the management of a patient's drug therapy.  546 

(3) A pharmacist who signs a prescription for a dangerous drug under authority granted under 547 
paragraph (2) of this subsection shall:  548 

(A) notify the board that a physician has delegated the authority to sign a prescription for 549 
dangerous drugs. Such notification shall:  550 

(i) be made on an application provided by the board;  551 

(ii) occur prior to signing any prescription for a dangerous drug;  552 

(iii) be updated annually; and  553 

(iv) include a copy of the written protocol.  554 

(B) include the pharmacist's name, address, and telephone number as well as the name, address, 555 
and telephone number of the delegating physician on each prescription for a dangerous drug 556 
signed by the pharmacist.  557 

(4) The board shall post the following information on its web-site:  558 
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(A) the name and license number of each pharmacist who has notified the board that a physician 559 
has delegated authority to sign a prescription for a dangerous drug;  560 

(B) the name and address of the physician who delegated the authority to the pharmacist; and  561 

(C) the expiration date of the protocol granting the authority to sign a prescription.  562 

(d) Pharmacist Training Requirements.  563 

(1) Initial requirements. A pharmacist shall maintain and provide to the Board within 24 hours of 564 
request a statement attesting to the fact that the pharmacist has within the last year:  565 

(A) completed at least six hours of continuing education related to drug therapy offered by a 566 
provider approved by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE); or  567 

(B) engaged in drug therapy management as allowed under previous laws or rules. A statement 568 
from the physician supervising the acts shall be sufficient documentation.  569 

(2) Continuing requirements. A pharmacist engaged in drug therapy management shall annually 570 
complete six hours of continuing education related to drug therapy offered by a provider 571 
approved by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE). (These hours may be 572 
applied towards the hours required for renewal of a license to practice pharmacy.)  573 

(e) Supervision. Physician supervision shall be as specified in the Medical Practice Act, Chapter 574 
157 and shall be considered adequate if the delegating physician:  575 

(1) is responsible for the formulation or approval of the written protocol and any patient-specific 576 
deviations from the protocol and review of the written protocol and any patient-specific 577 
deviations from the protocol at least annually and the services provided to a patient under the 578 
protocol on a schedule defined in the written protocol;  579 

(2) has established and maintains a physician-patient relationship with each patient provided 580 
drug therapy management by a delegated pharmacist and informs the patient that drug therapy 581 
will be managed by a pharmacist under written protocol;  582 

(3) is geographically located so as to be able to be physically present daily to provide medical 583 
care and supervision;  584 

(4) receives, on a schedule defined in the written protocol, a periodic status report on the patient, 585 
including any problem or complication encountered;  586 

(5) is available through direct telecommunication for consultation, assistance, and direction; and  587 

(6) determines that the pharmacist to whom the physician is delegating drug therapy 588 
management establishes and maintains a pharmacist-patient relationship with the patient.  589 
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(f) Records.  590 

(1) Maintenance of records.  591 

(A) Every record required to be kept under this section shall be kept by the pharmacist and be 592 
available, for at least two years from the date of such record, for inspecting and copying by the 593 
board or its representative and to other authorized local, state, or federal law enforcement or 594 
regulatory agencies.  595 

(B) Records may be maintained in an alternative data retention system, such as a data processing 596 
system or direct imaging system provided:  597 

(i) the records maintained in the alternative system contain all of the information required on the 598 
manual record; and  599 

(ii) the data processing system is capable of producing a hard copy of the record upon the request 600 
of the board, its representative, or other authorized local, state, or federal law enforcement or 601 
regulatory agencies.  602 

(2) Written protocol.  603 

(A) A copy of the written protocol and any patient-specific deviations from the protocol shall be 604 
maintained by the pharmacist.  605 

(B) A pharmacist shall document all interventions undertaken under the written protocol within a 606 
reasonable time of each intervention. Documentation may be maintained in the patient 607 
medication record, patient medical chart, or in a separate log.  608 

(C) A standard protocol may be used or the attending physician may develop a drug therapy 609 
management protocol for the individual patient. If a standard protocol is used, the physician shall 610 
record what deviations, if any, from the standard protocol are ordered for that patient. A 611 
pharmacist shall maintain a copy of any deviations from the standard protocol ordered by the 612 
physician.  613 

(D) Written protocols, including standard protocols, any patient-specific deviations from a 614 
standard protocol, and any individual patient protocol, shall be reviewed by the physician and 615 
pharmacist at least annually and revised if necessary. Such review shall be documented in the 616 
pharmacist's records. Documentation of all services provided to the patient by the pharmacist 617 
shall be reviewed by the physician on the schedule established in the protocol.  618 

(g) Confidentiality.  619 

(1) In addition to the confidentiality requirements specified in §291.27 of this title (relating to 620 
Confidentiality) a pharmacist shall comply with:  621 
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(A) the privacy provisions of the federal Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 622 
1996 (Pub. L. No. 104-191) and any rules adopted pursuant to this act;  623 

(B) the requirements of Medical Records Privacy contained in Chapter 181, Health and Safety 624 
Code;  625 

(C) the Privacy of Health Information requirements contained in Chapter 28B of the Insurance 626 
Code; and  627 

(D) any other confidentiality provisions of federal or state laws.  628 

(2) This section shall not affect or alter the provisions relating to the confidentiality of the 629 
physician-patient communication as specified in the Medical Practice Act, Chapter 159.  630 

(h) Construction and Interpretation.  631 

(1) As specified in the Medical Practice Act, Chapter 157, this section does not restrict the use of 632 
a pre-established health care program or restrict a physician from authorizing the provision of 633 
patient care by use of a pre-established health care program if the patient is institutionalized and 634 
the care is to be delivered in a licensed hospital with an organized medical staff that has 635 
authorized standing delegation orders, standing medical orders, or protocols.  636 

(2) As specified in the Medical Practice Act, Chapter 157, this section may not be construed to 637 
limit, expand, or change any provision of law concerning or relating to therapeutic drug 638 
substitution or administration of medication, including the Act, §554.004.  639 

§295.15 Administration of Immunizations or Vaccinations by a Pharmacist under Written 640 
Protocol of a Physician 641 

(a) Purpose. The purpose of this section is to provide standards for pharmacists engaged in the 642 
administration of immunizations or vaccinations as authorized in Chapter 554 of the Act.  643 

(b) Definitions. The following words and terms, when used in this section, shall have the 644 
following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.  645 

(1) ACPE--The Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education.  646 

(2) Act--The Texas Pharmacy Act, Chapter 551 - 566 and 568 - 569, Occupations Code, as 647 
amended.  648 

(3) Administer--The direct application of a prescription drug by injection, inhalation, ingestion, 649 
or any other means to the body of a patient by:  650 

(A) a practitioner, an authorized agent under his supervision, or other person authorized by law; 651 
or  652 
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(B) the patient at the direction of a practitioner.  653 

(4) Antibody--A protein in the blood that is produced in response to stimulation by a specific 654 
antigen. Antibodies help destroy the antigen that produced them. Antibodies against an antigen 655 
usually equate to immunity to that antigen.  656 

(5) Antigen--A substance "recognized" by the body as being foreign; it results in the production 657 
of specific antibodies directed against it.  658 

(6) Board--The Texas State Board of Pharmacy.  659 

(7) Confidential record--Any health-related record that contains information that identifies an 660 
individual and that is maintained by a pharmacy or pharmacist such as a patient medication 661 
record, prescription drug order, or medication order.  662 

(8) Data communication device--An electronic device that receives electronic information from 663 
one source and transmits or routes it to another (e.g., bridge, router, switch, or gateway).  664 

(9) Immunization--The act of inducing antibody formation, thus leading to immunity.  665 

(10) Medical Practice Act--The Texas Medical Practice Act, Subtitle B, Occupations Code, as 666 
amended.  667 

(11) Vaccination--Administration of any antigen in order to induce immunity; is not synonymous 668 
with immunization since vaccination does not imply success.  669 

(12) Vaccine--A specially prepared antigen, which upon administration to a person will result in 670 
immunity.  671 

(13) Written Protocol--A physician's order, standing medical order, standing delegation order, or 672 
other order or protocol as defined by rule of the Texas Medical Board under the Medical Practice 673 
Act.  674 

(A) A written protocol must contain, at a minimum, the following:  675 

(i) a statement identifying the individual physician authorized to prescribe drugs and responsible 676 
for the delegation of administration of immunizations or vaccinations;  677 

(ii) a statement identifying the individual pharmacist authorized to administer immunizations or 678 
vaccinations as delegated by the physician;  679 

(iii) a statement identifying the location(s) (i.e., address) at which the pharmacist may administer 680 
immunizations or vaccinations;  681 

(iv) a statement identifying the immunizations or vaccinations that may be administered by the 682 
pharmacist;  683 
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(v) a statement identifying the activities the pharmacist shall follow in the course of 684 
administering immunizations or vaccinations, including procedures to follow in the case of 685 
reactions following administration; and  686 

(vi) a statement that describes the content of, and the appropriate mechanisms for the pharmacist 687 
to report the administration of immunizations or vaccinations to the physician issuing the written 688 
protocol within the time frames specified in this section.  689 

(B) A standard protocol may be used or the physician may develop an immunization or 690 
vaccination protocol for the individual patient. If a standard protocol is used, the physician shall 691 
record what deviations, if any, from the standard protocol are ordered for the patient.  692 

(c) Pharmacist certification requirements. Pharmacist who enter into a written protocol with a 693 
physician to administer immunizations or vaccinations shall:  694 

(1) complete a course provided by an ACPE approved provider which:  695 

(A) requires documentation by the pharmacist of current certification in the American Heart 696 
Association's Basic Cardiac Life Support for Health-Care Providers or its equivalent;  697 

(B) is an evidence-based course which:  698 

(i) includes study material;  699 

(ii) includes hands-on training in techniques for administering immunizations or vaccines; and  700 

(iii) requires testing with a passing score; and  701 

(C) meets current Center for Disease Control training guidelines and provides a minimum of 20 702 
hours of instruction and experiential training in the following content areas:  703 

(i) standards for pediatric, adolescent, and adult immunization practices;  704 

(ii) basic immunology and vaccine protection;  705 

(iii) vaccine-preventable diseases;  706 

(iv) recommended immunization schedules (pediatric/adolescent/adult);  707 

(v) vaccine storage and management;  708 

(vi) informed consent;  709 

(vii) physiology and techniques for vaccine administration;  710 

(viii) pre and post-vaccine assessment and counseling;  711 
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(ix) immunization record management; and  712 

(x) adverse events:  713 

(I) identification and appropriate response; and  714 

(II) documentation and reporting; and  715 

(2) maintain documentation of:  716 

(A) completion of the initial course specified in paragraph (1) of this subsection;  717 

(B) 3 hours of continuing education every 2 years which are designed to maintain competency in 718 
the disease states, drugs, and administration of immunizations or vaccinations; and  719 

(C) current certification in the American Heart Association's Basic Cardiac Life Support for 720 
Health-Care Providers or its equivalent.  721 

(d) Supervision. Pharmacists involved in the administration of immunizations or vaccinations 722 
shall be under the supervision of a physician. Physician supervision shall be considered adequate 723 
if the delegating physician:  724 

(1) is responsible for the formulation or approval of the physician's order, standing medical 725 
order, standing delegation order, or other order or protocol and periodically reviews the order or 726 
protocol and the services provided to a patient under the order or protocol;  727 

(2) has established a physician-patient relationship with each patient under 14 years of age and 728 
referred the patient to the pharmacist; except a pharmacist may administer an influenza 729 
vaccination to a patient over seven years of age without an established physician-patient 730 
relationship;  731 

(3) is geographically located so as to be easily accessible to the pharmacist administering the 732 
immunization or vaccination;  733 

(4) receives, as appropriate, a periodic status report on the patient, including any problem or 734 
complication encountered; and  735 

(5) is available through direct telecommunication for consultation, assistance, and direction.  736 

(e) Special Provisions. Pharmacists involved in the administration of immunizations or 737 
vaccinations under their license to practice pharmacy shall meet the following restrictions and 738 
requirements.  739 

(1) Pharmacists may only administer immunizations or vaccinations pursuant to a written 740 
protocol from a physician authorizing the administration.  741 
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(2) Pharmacists may administer immunizations or vaccinations to a patient under 14 years of age 742 
only upon a referral from a physician who has an established physician-patient relationship with 743 
each patient. However, a pharmacist may administer an influenza vaccination to a patient over 744 
seven years of age without an established physician-patient relationship.  745 

(3) Pharmacists may administer immunizations or vaccinations under written protocol of a 746 
physician within a pharmacy or at any other location specifically identified in the written 747 
protocol. Such other location may not include where the patient resides, except for a licensed 748 
nursing home or hospital.  749 

(4) The authority of a pharmacist to administer immunizations or vaccinations may not be 750 
delegated.  751 

(5) Pharmacists may administer immunizations and vaccinations only when a licensed health-752 
care provider authorized to administer the medication is not reasonably available to administer 753 
the medication. For the purpose of this section, "reasonably available" means those times when 754 
the licensed health-care provider is immediately available to administer the immunization or 755 
vaccine and is specifically tasked to do so.  756 

(6) Under the provisions of the National Vaccine Injury Compensation Program (NVICP), the 757 
health-care provider under whose authority a covered vaccine is administered (i.e., the physician 758 
issuing the written protocol) must maintain certain information in the patient's permanent record. 759 
In order for the physician to comply with the provisions of the NVICP, the pharmacist shall 760 
provide the physician with the information specified in subsection (g) of this section.  761 

(7) The pharmacist shall comply with all other state and federal requirements regarding 762 
immunizations or vaccinations.  763 

(f) Drugs.  764 

(1) Drugs administered by a pharmacist under the provisions of this section shall be in the legal 765 
possession of:  766 

(A) a pharmacy, which shall be the pharmacy responsible for drug accountability, including the 767 
maintenance of records of administration of the immunization or vaccination; or  768 

(B) a physician who shall be responsible for drug accountability, including the maintenance of 769 
records of administration of the immunization or vaccination.  770 

(2) Drugs shall be transported and stored at the proper temperatures indicated for each drug.  771 

(3) Pharmacists while actively engaged in the administration of immunizations or vaccinations 772 
under written protocol, may have in their custody and control the drugs for immunization or 773 
vaccination that are identified in the written protocol and any other dangerous drugs listed in the 774 
written protocol to treat adverse reactions.  775 
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(4) After administering immunizations or vaccinations at a location other than a pharmacy, the 776 
pharmacist shall return all unused prescription medications to the pharmacy or physician 777 
responsible for the drugs.  778 

(g) Notifications.  779 

(1) A pharmacist engaged in the administration of immunizations or vaccinations shall provide 780 
notification of the administration to:  781 

(A) the physician who issued the written protocol within 24 hours of administering the 782 
immunization or vaccination; and  783 

(B) the primary care physician of the patient, as provided by the patient or patient's agent, within 784 
14 days of administering the immunization or vaccination.  785 

(2) The notifications required in paragraph (1) of this subsection shall include the:  786 

(A) name and address of the patient;  787 

(B) age of the patient if under 14 years of age;  788 

(C) name of the patient's primary care physician as provided by the patient or patient's agent;  789 

(D) name, manufacturer, and lot number of the vaccine administered;  790 

(E) amount administered;  791 

(F) date the vaccine was administered;  792 

(G) site of the immunization or vaccination (e.g., right arm, left leg, right upper arm);  793 

(H) route of administration of the immunization or vaccination (e.g., intramuscular, 794 
subcutaneous, by mouth); and  795 

(I) name, address, and title of the person administering the immunization or vaccination.  796 

(h) Records.  797 

(1) Maintenance of records.  798 

(A) Every record, including notifications, required to be made under this section shall be kept by 799 
the pharmacist administering the immunization or vaccination and by the pharmacy when in 800 
legal possession of the drugs administered. Such records shall be available for at least two years 801 
from the date of such record, for inspecting and copying by the board or its representative and to 802 
other authorized local, state, or federal law enforcement or regulatory agencies.  803 
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(B) Records, including notifications, may be maintained in an alternative data retention system, 804 
such as a data processing system or direct imaging system provided:  805 

(i) the records maintained in the alternative system contain all of the information required on the 806 
manual record; and  807 

(ii) the data processing system is capable of producing a hard copy of the record upon request of 808 
the board, its representative, or other authorized local, state, or federal law enforcement or 809 
regulatory agencies.  810 

(2) Records of administration under written protocol.  811 

(A) Records of administration shall be maintained by the pharmacist administering 812 
immunizations or vaccinations. Such records shall include:  813 

(i) all of the administration record requirements of subparagraph (B) of this paragraph; and  814 

(ii) include the name and address of the pharmacy or physician in legal possession of the 815 
immunization or vaccination administered.  816 

(B) A pharmacy, when responsible for drug accountability, shall maintain a record of 817 
administration of immunizations or vaccinations by a pharmacist. The records shall be kept and 818 
maintained by patient name. This record shall include:  819 

(i) a copy of the written protocol under which the immunization or vaccination was administered 820 
and any patient-specific deviations from the protocol;  821 

(ii) name and address of the patient;  822 

(iii) age of the patient if under 14 years of age;  823 

(iv) name of the patient's primary care physician as provided by the patient or patient's agent;  824 

(v) name, manufacturer, and lot number of the vaccine administered;  825 

(vi) amount administered;  826 

(vii) date the vaccine was administered;  827 

(viii) site of the immunization or vaccination (e.g., right arm, left leg, right upper arm);  828 

(ix) route of administration of the immunization or vaccination (e.g., intramuscular, 829 
subcutaneous, by mouth); and  830 

(x) name, address, and title of the person administering the immunization or vaccination.  831 
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(3) Written protocol.  832 

(A) A copy of the written protocol and any patient-specific deviations from the protocol shall be 833 
maintained in accordance with paragraph (2) of this subsection.  834 

(B) A standard protocol may be used or the attending physician may develop an 835 
immunization/vaccination protocol for the individual patient. If a standard protocol is used, the 836 
physician shall record what deviations, if any, from the standard protocol are ordered for the 837 
patient. The pharmacy that is in possession of the vaccines administered shall maintain a copy of 838 
any deviations from the standard protocol ordered by the physician.  839 

(C) Written protocols, including standard protocols, any patient-specific deviations from a 840 
standard protocol, and any individual patient protocol, shall be reviewed by the physician and 841 
pharmacist at least annually and revised if necessary. Such review shall be documented in the 842 
records of the pharmacy that is in possession of the vaccines administered.  843 

(i) Confidentiality.  844 

(1) In addition to the confidentiality requirements specified in §291.27 of this title (relating to 845 
Confidentiality) a pharmacist shall comply with:  846 

(A) the privacy provisions of the federal Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 847 
1996 (Pub. L. No. 104-191) and any rules adopted pursuant to this act;  848 

(B) the requirements of Medical Records Privacy contained in Chapter 181, Health and Safety 849 
Code;  850 

(C) the Privacy of Health Information requirements contained in Chapter 28B of the Insurance 851 
Code; and  852 

(D) any other confidentiality provisions of federal or state laws.  853 

(2) This section shall not affect or alter the provisions relating to the confidentiality of the 854 
physician-patient communication as specified in the Medical Practice Act, Chapter 159.  855 

 856 
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