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RULE ANALYSIS 
   
 Introduction: THESE AMENDMENTS ARE SUBMITTED TO THE BOARD FOR 

CONSIDERATION AS PROPOSED RULES 
  
 Short Title: Fees 
 
 Rule Numbers: §§291.6, 295.5, and 297.4 
 

 Statutory Authority: Texas Pharmacy Act, Chapter 551-566 and 568-569, Occupations 
Code: 

  (1) Section 551.002 specifies that the purpose of the Act is to 
protect the public through the effective control and regulation 
of the practice of pharmacy; and  

  (2) Section 554.051 gives the Board the authority to adopt rules 
for the proper administration and enforcement of the Act.  

   
 Purpose: The amendments, if adopted, will decrease pharmacy and 

pharmacist license fees and pharmacy technician registration fees 
based on expected expenses.   
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TITLE 22 EXAMINING BOARDS  1 
PART 15 TEXAS STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY  2 
CHAPTER 291 PHARMACIES  3 
SUBCHAPTER A ALL CLASSES OF PHARMACIES  4 
 5 
§291.6 Pharmacy License Fees  6 
 7 
 8 
(a) Initial License Fee.  9 
 10 
  (1) The fee for an initial license shall be $401 [$500] for the initial registration period and for 11 
processing the application and issuance of the pharmacy license as authorized by the Act 12 
§554.006.  13 
 14 
  (2) In addition, the following fees shall be collected:  15 
 16 
    (A) $15 surcharge to fund a program to aid impaired pharmacists and pharmacy students as 17 
authorized by the Act §564.051;  18 
 19 
    (B) $12 [$15] surcharge to fund TexasOnline as authorized by Chapter 2054, Subchapter I, 20 
Government Code; and  21 
 22 
    (C) $5 surcharge to fund the Office of Patient Protection as authorized by Chapter 101, 23 
Subchapter G, Occupations Code.  24 
 25 
(b) Biennial License Renewal. The Texas State Board of Pharmacy shall require biennial 26 
renewal of all pharmacy licenses provided under the Act §561.002.  27 
 28 
(c) Renewal Fee.  29 
 30 
  (1) The fee for biennial renewal of a pharmacy license shall be $401 [$500] for processing the 31 
application and issuance of the pharmacy license as authorized by the Act §554.006.  32 
 33 
  (2) In addition, the following fees shall be collected:  34 
 35 
    (A) $15 surcharge to fund a program to aid impaired pharmacists and pharmacy students as 36 
authorized by the Act §564.051;  37 
 38 
    (B) $12 [$15] surcharge to fund TexasOnline as authorized by Chapter 2054, Subchapter I, 39 
Government Code; and  40 
 41 
    (C) $2 surcharge to fund the Office of Patient Protection as authorized by Chapter 101, 42 
Subchapter G, Occupations Code.  43 
 44 
(d) Duplicate or Amended Certificates. The fee for issuance of an amended pharmacy license 45 
renewal certificate shall be $20.   46 
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TITLE 22 EXAMINING BOARDS  1 
PART 15 TEXAS STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY  2 
CHAPTER 295 PHARMACISTS  3 
 4 
§295.5 Pharmacist License or Renewal Fees  5 
 6 
 (a) Biennial Registration. The Texas State Board of Pharmacy shall require biennial renewal of 7 
all pharmacist licenses provided under the Pharmacy Act, §559.002.  8 
 9 
(b) Initial License Fee.  10 
 11 
  (1) The fee for the initial license shall be $235 [$281] for a two year registration and for 12 
processing the application and issuance of the pharmacist license as authorized by the Act, 13 
§554.006.  14 
 15 
  (2) In addition, the following fees shall be collected:  16 
 17 
    (A) $13 surcharge to fund a program to aid impaired pharmacists and pharmacy students as 18 
authorized by the Act, §564.051;  19 
 20 
    (B) $5 surcharge to fund TexasOnline as authorized by Chapter 2054, Subchapter I, 21 
Government Code; and  22 
 23 
    (C) $5 surcharge to fund the Office of Patient Protection as authorized by Chapter 101, 24 
Subchapter G, and Occupations Code.  25 
 26 
  (3) New pharmacist licenses shall be assigned an expiration date and initial fee shall be 27 
prorated based on the assigned expiration date.  28 
 29 
(c) Renewal Fee.  30 
 31 
  (1) The fee for biennial renewal of a pharmacist license shall be $235 [$281] for processing the 32 
application and issuance of the pharmacist license as authorized by the Act, §554.006.  33 
 34 
  (2) In addition, the following fees shall be collected:  35 
 36 
    (A) $13 surcharge to fund a program to aid impaired pharmacists and pharmacy students as 37 
authorized by the Act, §564.051;  38 
 39 
    (B) $5 surcharge to fund TexasOnline as authorized by Chapter 2054, Subchapter I, 40 
Government Code; and  41 
 42 
    (C) $2 surcharge to fund the Office of Patient Protection as authorized by Chapter 101, 43 
Subchapter G, Occupations Code.  44 
 45 
(d) Exemption from fee. The license of a pharmacist who has been licensed by the Texas State 46 
Board of Pharmacy for at least 50 years or who is at least 72 years old shall be renewed without 47 
payment of a fee provided such pharmacist is not actively practicing pharmacy. The renewal 48 
certificate of such pharmacist issued by the board shall reflect an inactive status. A person 49 
whose license is renewed pursuant to this subsection may not engage in the active practice of 50 
pharmacy without first paying the renewal fee as set out in subsection (b) of this section.  51 
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 52 
(e) Duplicate or Amended Certificates.  53 
 54 
  (1) The fee for issuance of an amended pharmacist's license renewal certificate shall be $20.  55 
 56 
  (2) The fee for issuance of an amended license to practice pharmacy (wall certificate) only, or 57 
renewal certificate and wall certificate shall be $35.   58 
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TITLE 22 EXAMINING BOARDS  1 
PART 15 TEXAS STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY  2 
CHAPTER 297 PHARMACY TECHNICIANS AND PHARMACY TECHNICIAN TRAINEES  3 
 4 
§297.4 Fees  5 
 6 
(a) Pharmacy technician trainee. The fee for registration shall be $52 [$62] and is composed of 7 
the following fees:  8 
 9 
  (1) $45 [$55] for processing the application and issuance of the pharmacy technician trainee 10 
registration as authorized by the Act, §568.005;  11 
 12 
  (2) $2 surcharge to fund TexasOnline as authorized by Chapter 2054, Subchapter I, 13 
Government Code; and  14 
 15 
  (3) $5 surcharge to fund the Office of Patient Protection as authorized by Chapter 101, 16 
Subchapter G, Occupations Code.  17 
 18 
(b) Pharmacy technician.  19 
 20 
  (1) Biennial Registration. The board shall require biennial renewal of all pharmacy technician 21 
registrations provided under Chapter 568 of the Act.  22 
 23 
  (2) Initial Registration Fee. The fee for initial registration shall be $80 [$99] for a two year 24 
registration and is composed of the following fees:  25 
 26 
    (A) $72 [$91] for processing the application and issuance of the pharmacy technician 27 
registration as authorized by the Act, §568.005;  28 
 29 
    (B) $3 surcharge to fund TexasOnline as authorized by Chapter 2054, Subchapter I, 30 
Government Code; and  31 
 32 
    (C) $5 surcharge to fund the Office of Patient Protection as authorized by Chapter 101, 33 
Subchapter G, Occupations Code.  34 
 35 
  (3) Renewal Fee. The fee for biennial renewal of a pharmacy technician registration shall be 36 
$77 [$96] and is composed of the following:  37 
 38 
    (A) $72 [$91] for processing the application and issuance of the pharmacy technician 39 
registration as authorized by the Act, §568.005;  40 
 41 
    (B) $3 surcharge to fund TexasOnline as authorized by Chapter 2054, Subchapter I, 42 
Government Code; and  43 
 44 
    (C) $2 surcharge to fund the Office of Patient Protection as authorized by Chapter 101, 45 
Subchapter G, Occupations Code.  46 
 47 
(c) Duplicate or Amended Certificates. The fee for issuance of a duplicate or amended 48 
pharmacy technician trainee registration certificate or pharmacy technician registration renewal 49 
certificate shall be $20.   50 
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