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RULE ANALYSIS

THESE AMENDMENTS ARE SUBMITTED TO THE BOARD FOR
CONSIDERATION AS PROPOSED RULES

Continuing Education Requirements
§295.8

Texas Pharmacy Act, Chapter 551-566 and 568-569, Occupations

Code:

(1) Section 551.002 specifies that the purpose of the Act is to
protect the public through the effective control and regulation
of the practice of pharmacy; and

(2) Section 554.051 gives the Board the authority to adopt rules
for the proper administration and enforcement of the Act.

The amendments, if adopted, clarify the procedures for
pharmacists who have been licensed for 50 years wanting to return
to the practice of pharmacy.

Staff presents these amendments to make the rules conform to
other sections relating to pharmacist continuing education.
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TITLE 22 EXAMINING BOARDS
PART 15 TEXAS STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY
CHAPTER 295 PHARMACISTS

§295.8 Continuing Education Requirements
(@) — (c) (No change.)
(d) Reporting Requirements.
(1) = (2) (No change.)
(3) Extension of time for reporting. A pharmacist who has had a physical disability,
illness, or other extenuating circumstances which prohibits the pharmacist from

obtaining continuing education credit during the preceding license period may be
granted an extension of time to complete the continued education requirement. The

foIIowmq is appllcable for this extenS|on [Ihe—be&rd—wmygr&n%anexten&en%qqeﬁfepa

(A) K5} The pharmacist shall submit a petition to the board with his/her license renewal
application which contains:

() fH} the name, address, and license number of the pharmacist;

(ii) {4} statement of the reason for the request for extension which includes the dates
the pharmacist was incapacitated; and

(iii) HHB] if the reason for the request for extension is health related, a statement from
the attending physician(s) treating the pharmacist which includes the nature of the physical
disability or iliness and the dates the pharmacist was incapacitated.

(B) [} After review and approval of the petition, a pharmacist may be granted an
extension of time to comply with the continuing education requirement which shall not
exceed one license renewal period.

(C) Ky} An extension of time to complete continuing education credit does not relieve a
pharmacist from the continuing education requirement during the current license period.

(D) ] If a petition for extension to the reporting period for continuing education is
denied, the pharmacist shall:

(i) B} have 60 days to complete and report completion of the required continuing
education requirements; and
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(ii) {1 be subject to the requirements of paragraph (2) of this subsection relating to
failure to report completion of the required continuing education if the required continuing
education is not completed and reported within the required 60-day time period.

(4) Exemptions from reporting requirements.

(A) All pharmacists licensed in Texas shall be exempt from the continuing
education requirements during their initial license period.

(B) Pharmacists who have been licensed for 50 years are subject to the following.

(i) Pharmacists who are actively practicing pharmacy shall complete the
continuing education requirements in order to renew their license.

(ii) Pharmacists who are not actively practicing pharmacy shall be granted an
exemption to the reporting requirements for continuing education provided the
pharmacists submit a completed renewal application for each license period which
states that they are not practicing pharmacy. Upon submission of the completed
renewal application, the pharmacist shall be issued a renewal certificate which states
that pharmacist is inactive.

(iii) Pharmacists who wish to return to the practice of pharmacy after being
exempted from the continuing education requirements as specified in clause (ii) of
this subparagraph must:

() notify the board of their intent to actively practice pharmacy:;
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(1N pay the licensing fee as specified in §295.5 of this title (relating to Pharmacist

License or Renewal Fees); and

(11N provide copies of completion certificates from approved continuing

education programs as specified in §295.8(e) of this title (relating to Continuing
Education Requirements) for 30 hours. Approved continuing education earned within
two years prior to the licensee applying for the return to active status may be applied
toward the continuing education reqguirement for reactivation of the license but may
not be counted toward subsequent renewal of the license.

(e) — (g) (No change.)
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