
Class A – 9/15 

Texas State Board of Pharmacy License Application Instructions 
Community Pharmacy (Class A) 

 
• Submit this checklist as a cover sheet with each and every item listed below.  Documents 

submitted with a separate or similar application previously will not be retrieved for completion of this 
application.  Official review does not begin until all required items are received.   

• Applicants will be notified of any items missing from the application within 4 to 6 weeks.  Allow a 
minimum of 90 days from the time your application packet is complete (all missing items received), for 
review and final license issuance.  

• Applications are considered withdrawn if missing items are not submitted to complete an application 
within a year of the date initially received at TSBP.   

• NOTICE: the application will be cancelled and a new application packet, including application 
fee, must be submitted, if a change in officer, owner, or location occurs while the application is 
under review by TSBP. 

 
 1. Pharmacy License Application – Submit Form LIC-Class A 

The name of the pharmacy in Box 1 of this form should match the name on the prescription label. 
 

 2. Ownership Information: 
• If owned by Partnership or Individual – Submit Form LIC-006; or 
• If owned by Corporation or Limited Liability Company – Submit Form LIC-007  

and attach the following documents: 
 Articles of Incorporation (for Corporation); or Articles of Organization (for LLC) or Certificate of Formation. 
 Current Texas Franchise Tax Status. (If the Corp/LLC is registered w/TX Secretary of State) 

• If owned by Government – Submit Form LIC-008. 
• If a closely-held corporation, a list of all owners. 
• If a publicly-held corporation, a copy of the corporation’s 10K Filing with the Security and Exchange 

Commission. 
 

 3. Managing Officer – Submit Form LIC-021 which provides information and questions regarding the 
“background” to be submitted by each of the top four Managing Officers. Attach a copy of a current driver’s 
license or state issued identification card and a copy of the social security card for each individual owner(s), 
managing officer(s) or partners that are not a Texas licensed pharmacist. 

 
 4. Lease Agreement/Property Ownership - Attach a copy of lease agreement between the owner of the pharmacy 

and the owner of the building in which the pharmacy is located.  The pharmacy address listed on the lease 
agreement must match the pharmacy address listed on all required forms.  The tenant listed on the lease 
agreement must match the name of the pharmacy owner listed on all required forms. If you are subleasing the 
space, submit a copy of the sublease agreement along with the master lease agreement. 

 
 5. New Pharmacy Checklist – Submit Form LIC-018  lists the minimum infrastructure requirements needed to 

apply for a new pharmacy license and must be submitted with a New Pharmacy Application. 
 

 6. Credit Worthiness Document:  Provide a letter from a primary wholesaler with proof of credit worthiness. 
 
Prior to the issuance of a license for a pharmacy located in Texas, the board shall conduct an on-site inspection 
of the pharmacy in the presence of the pharmacist-in-charge and owner or representative of the owner, to ensure 
that the pharmacist-in-charge and owner can meet the requirements of the Texas Pharmacy Act and Board Rules 
 

 7. Pre-Inspection Checklist Submit Form LIC-000A. This form must be completed and submitted to indicate the 
pharmacy is ready for an on-site inspection. Note: The on-site pre-inspection may not be required if the 
prospective owner has an ownership interest in any other pharmacy in Texas at the time of application. This 
exemption applies only to the pre-inspection requirement. 

 
 
 
 
SUBMIT THIS CHECKLIST AS A COVER SHEET WITH ALL ITEMS LISTED – KEEP COPIES FOR YOUR RECORDS 

http://www.tsbp.state.tx.us/files_pdf/CLASSA.pdf
http://www.tsbp.state.tx.us/files_pdf/LIC-006.pdf
http://www.tsbp.state.tx.us/files_pdf/LIC-007.pdf
http://www.tsbp.state.tx.us/files_pdf/LIC-008.pdf
http://www.tsbp.state.tx.us/files_pdf/LIC-021.pdf
http://www.tsbp.state.tx.us/files_pdf/LIC-018.pdf
http://www.tsbp.state.tx.us/files_pdf/LIC-000A.pdf
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