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TEXAS STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY 
333 Guadalupe Street, Ste. 3-600      Austin, Texas 78701 

512-305-8021      512-305-8082 (fax)       www.tsbp.state.tx.us 
 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR FILING CLASS A PHARMACY APPLICATION 
IMPORTANT:   Read and follow these instructions completely.  Failure to submit the necessary items will delay the 
processing of your application.  You will be notified of any deficiencies in your application within 2 to 4 weeks of receipt.   
 
Allow a minimum of 90 days from the time your application packet is complete, to process your application.  Any forms 
that have been previously submitted with another application will not be pulled from the file.  You must complete and 
submit all of the requested information.  If the application process is not completed within one year from the application 
receipt date, the application will be withdrawn. NOTE: if a change in officer, owner, or location occurs while the 
completed application is under review by TSBP, the application will be cancelled and a new application packet, 
including application fee, must be submitted. 

 
CHECKLIST FOR FILING A PHARMACY LICENSE APPLICATION 

 
ALL APPLICANTS 
  

 1. Application Form (LIC-001 form attached below) 
 

 2. Ownership Form 
• Partnership or individual (form # LIC-006), OR 
• Corporation or Limited Liability Company (form # LIC-007), OR 
• Government owned (form # LIC-008) 

 
 3. Lease Agreement/Property Ownership 

  Copy of lease agreement between the owner of the pharmacy and the owner of the building in which the 
pharmacy is located.   

 
  In cases where the real property is owned by the pharmacy license holder, a notarized statement to that effect 

signed by the owner, must be submitted (form # LIC-004).(Form LIC-004  is NOT considered a lease agreement 
 

 4. New Pharmacy Checklist, (form # LIC-018).  The form lists the minimum infrastructure requirements needed to 
apply for a new pharmacy license and must be submitted with a New Pharmacy Application. 
 

Additional Requirements for prospective owner who does not own a pharmacy in Texas at the time of 
application 
 

 Copy of birth certificate or passport if the individual owner, managing officer(s) or partners are not Texas licensed 
pharmacist. 

 
 Copy of current driver’s license or state issued photo identification card if the individual owner, managing officer(s), 

or partners are not Texas licensed pharmacists. 
 

 Approved credit application or other proof of credit worthiness from a primary wholesaler (i.e., contingent approval 
letter). 

 
 If a closely-held corporation, a list of all owners. 

 
 If a publicly-held corporation, a copy of the corporation’s 10K Filing with the Security and Exchange Commission. 

 
Prior to the issuance of a license for a pharmacy located in Texas, the board shall conduct an on-site 
inspection of the pharmacy in the presence of the pharmacist-in-charge and owner or representative of 
the owner, to ensure that the pharmacist-in-charge and owner can meet the requirements of the Texas 
Pharmacy Act and Board Rules.   
 

 1. Indicate the pharmacy is ready for an on-site inspection by COMPLETING AND RETURNING the Pre-
Inspection Checklist (form # LIC-000A). 

 
Note:  The on-site pre-inspection may not be required if the prospective owner has an ownership interest in any other pharmacy in 
Texas at the time of application.  This exemption applies only to the pre-inspection requirement. 

http://www.tsbp.state.tx.us/
http://www.tsbp.state.tx.us/files_pdf/LIC-006.pdf
http://www.tsbp.state.tx.us/files_pdf/LIC-007.pdf
http://www.tsbp.state.tx.us/files_pdf/LIC-008.pdf
http://www.tsbp.state.tx.us/files_pdf/LIC-004.pdf
http://www.tsbp.state.tx.us/files_pdf/LIC-018.pdf
http://www.tsbp.state.tx.us/files_pdf/LIC-000A.pdf
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TEXAS PHARMACY LICENSE APPLICATION (Class A, B, C, D) 
 

1 Pharmacy Name & Location Address (Street, City, ZIP)  FOR TSBP USE ONLY 
        License No. Amount Receipt No. Applicant No. 
            

         
   3  Check here if for a NEW PHARMACY 

2 Pharmacy Telephone Number (Area Code / Number)    Check here if a CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP.  
          If change of ownership, indicate previous name,  
     address and license number of pharmacy: 

 Pharmacy Fax Number (Area Code / Number)         
               
     

4 Class of Pharmacy (check one) 5 Type of Ownership (check one)  6 Pharmacy License Fee—  $  535.00 
    A Community 

   B Nuclear 
   C Institutional (Hospital) 
   D Clinic 

 
 1 Corporation   4 Partnership 
 2 Government   5 Other (specify) 
 3 Individual        

  
# of Pharmacy Balances       x $25.00 $      

TOTAL DUE $      

     8 Type of Pharmacy (check one) 

 6 Ambulatory Surgical 
  Center 

 7 Public Health 
 8 Mail Service 
 9 Internet Pharmacy 
 10 Other (Specify) 

        

7 Services (check ALL that apply)     
 1 Community (Independent) 
 2 Community (Multiple/Chain > 5) 
 3 Hospital (Independent) 

  # licensed beds         
 4 Hospital (Multiple/Chain > 5) 

  # licensed beds         
 5 HMO 

 

   1  Nuclear 
   2  Out-Patient Sterile Products (Hospital) 
   3  Out-Patient/Discharge Prescriptions 
   4  Mail Service 
 5 Long Term Care 
 6 Class D (Expanded Formulary) 

 7 Class D (Alternative Visit Schedule) 
 8 Compounding Sterile, Risk Level LOW 
 9 Compounding Sterile, Risk Level MED. 
    10  Compounding Sterile, Risk Level HIGH 
    11 Compounding, Non-Sterile 

 

 

         
9 Pharmacist-in-Charge  License #  11 Anticipated Date of Opening and Hours of Operation: 

                 
            

 (Print or type)      
10 By my signature, I acknowledge I am the pharmacist-in-charge of this 

pharmacy and attest that I have read and understand the laws and rules 
relating to this class of pharmacy. 

 12 
 
Description of Services Offered (or attach a copy of your 
business plan): 

         

 THIS SIGNATURE MUST BE NOTARIZED   
    
    
 Signature of Pharmacist-in-Charge    Date      

      13 
Other Pharmacists and 
Registered Technicians 

License # or 
Registration # 

 Subscribed and sworn to before me this                 
 day of  , 20                 
                    
                 
                 
 Notary Public                  
          

TEXAS STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY 

333 Guadalupe Street, Suite 3-600     Austin, Texas 78701 
512-305-8021      512-305-8082 (fax)       www.tsbp.state.tx.us 
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CLASS B, CLASS C, OR CLASS D PHARMACY LICENSE 
14 Complete the following, if applicable. 
 Nuclear (Class B) Pharmacy 
 (a) Texas Department of Health Radiation Control No.         
 (b) Attach: (1) Detailed copy of the floor plan for the Class B Pharmacy; and 
   (2) Qualifications of the authorized nuclear pharmacist who is the pharmacist-in-charge. 
 Institutional (Class C) Pharmacy 
 (a) Enter the Applicable Texas License Number in the space provided: 
  DSHS Hospital License No#       DSHS Ambulatory Surgical Center License No#       
  DSHS Inpatient Hospice License No#             
 (b) Is the facility an inpatient hospital maintained/operated by the State of Texas?        
 (c) Is the pharmacy owned/operated by a hospital management or hospital pharmacy management firm?        
  If YES, provide the name of the firm here:       and attach a copy of the service agreement. 
 Clinic (Class D) Pharmacy 
 (a) Name and Texas License of the staff physician:       

 
(b) 

 
Attach a copy of the Pharmacy’s Policy and Procedure Manual, which must include the clinic drug formulary.  (Note: If you are applying for permission to 
maintain an expanded formulary or to use an alternative visitation schedule, see Board Rule 291.93.) 

15 ALL APPLICANTS MUST ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS: 
1. 
 

Has the pharmacy, the pharmacy’s owner or any officer or partner (if the pharmacy is owned by a corporation or partnership) been the subject of any professional 
disciplinary action or are any such actions pending against you by a regulatory authority?  (Examples: surrender, revocation, reinstatement,  

 suspension, fine, probation, restriction). Include such information for all states, including Texas, and for all regulated professions.    YES*  NO 

 

*If you answered “yes” to Question #1, include the name of the Board, licensing or disciplinary authority and the date of the Order, and, if applicable, 
the date of the termination of the condition and/or probation.  Response must include the name of the person who was the subject of the disciplinary 
action. 

2. For any criminal offense, including those pending appeal, has the pharmacy, the pharmacy’s owner or any officer or partner (if the pharmacy is owned by a 
corporation or partnership): 

 A. been arrested?    YES*   NO 
 B. been charged with a crime but not arrested?    YES*   NO 
 C. pled nolo contendere?    YES*   NO 
 D. pled guilty?    YES*   NO 
 E. received deferred adjudication for a misdemeanor?    YES*   NO 
 F. received deferred adjudication for a felony?    YES*   NO 
 G. been convicted of a misdemeanor?    YES*   NO 
 H been convicted of a felony?    YES*   NO 

 

In answering Questions #2A-H, include all offenses even those for which you were subject to deferred adjudication. (Examples: assault, theft, 
possession of controlled substances, public intoxication, DWI, driving under the influence of drugs.)  Response must include the name of the person 
who was the subject of the disciplinary action. 

3. Has the pharmacy, the pharmacy’s owner or any officer or partner (if the pharmacy is owned by a corporation or partnership) been 
subject to a court ordered probation or confinement as related to any offense?    YES*   NO 

4. Has the pharmacy, the pharmacy’s owner or any officer or partner (if the pharmacy is owned by a corporation or partnership) served 
time in prison for any offense?    YES*   NO 

5. Has the pharmacy, the pharmacy’s owner or any officer or partner (if the pharmacy is owned by a corporation or partnership) been 
convicted of a drug or alcohol related offense, or been subject to a deferred adjudication for this offense? (Examples: possession of 
controlled substances, public intoxication, DWI, driving under the influence of drugs.) 

   YES*   NO 

 
*If you answered “yes” to Questions #3-5, include the name and location of the court, the offense charged, a brief explanation of the offense, the date 
of action, and, if applicable, the date that probation or confinement ended.  Response must include the name of the person who was the subject of the 
disciplinary action. 

6. Is the pharmacy’s owner or any other officer or partner a registered sex offender in Texas or in any other State?     YES*   NO 
 If you answered “yes”, include the name of the person who is registered.    

7. Are the customer service areas of the Pharmacy accessible to disabled persons, as defined by federal law?    YES   NO 

8. 
Does the pharmacy provide translating services for customers, including translating services for a person with impairment of hearing?  
If yes, what type of translating services does the pharmacy provide? (check all that apply): 

   1 Spanish    3 Telecommunication Device for the Deaf (TDD)    5 AT&T Translating Service 
   2 Vietnamese    4 American Sign Language    6 Other        

  YES   NO 

9. Does this pharmacy participate in the Texas Medicaid program?    YES   NO 
10. Does this pharmacy participate in the Texas State Kids Insurance Program (SKIP)?    YES   NO 

11. Does this pharmacy dispense a prescription drug or device under a prescription drug order in response to a request received by the 
way of the internet to dispense the drug or device?    YES   NO 

12. If the response to the previous question was “yes”, does your pharmacy deliver the drug or device to a patient in this state by US mail, 
common carrier, or delivery services?    YES  NO 
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16 ATTEST:  I hereby attest that the foregoing statements, on this form or those on any attachment(s) to this form are to the best of my knowledge true and correct 
and that they are all given of my free will.  I agree that any misstatement(s) or omission(s) as to material facts will constitute violation of and subject me to the 
penalties set forth in the Texas Pharmacy Act.  I agree to comply with the Texas Pharmacy Act and Rules. 

 THIS SIGNATURE MUST BE NOTARIZED:        
         
        
     Subscribed and sworn to before me this   day 
 Signature of Owner / Managing Officer  Date  of  , 20   
          
       
       
 Owner / Managing Officer’s Name (Type or Print)    Notary Public   
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