
REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION 
 
To be eligible to be licensed as a pharmacist in Texas, an individual must: 
 
(1) be at least 18 years of age; 
 
(2) have obtained a B.S. in Pharmacy or a Pharm.D. degree from a Board approved, ACPE accredited 

college of pharmacy program, or have graduated from a college of pharmacy program outside the U.S. 
and have obtained full certification from the Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Equivalency Committee 
(FPGEC); 

 
(3) take and pass the NAPLEX and Texas Pharmacy Jurisprudence examination; and 
 
(4) complete 1500 hours of Board approved internship. 
 
  
EXAMINATION REQUIREMENTS 
 
In order for an applicant to be licensed in Texas by examination, you must register and pass the NAPLEX 
(North American Pharmacist Examination) and the Texas Pharmacy Jurisprudence Examination, more 
commonly known as the MultiState Pharmacy Jurisprudence Examination (MPJE).  These examinations are 
administered by the National Association of Board's of Pharmacy (NABP). 
 

  The two examinations are scored independently.  If the applicant fails one exam and passes the other, 
the applicant must contact the Board office and pay the necessary fees by the deadlines in order to 
retake any exam. 

 
  The minimum passing score on each exam is 75.  You must obtain the required forms from the 

following websites: 
 
(1) Texas Application for Licensing by Examination (www.tsbp.state.tx.us); 

(2) Candidates Guide to the Texas Pharmacy Jurisprudence Examination (www.tsbp.state.tx.us); 

(3) NAPLEX/MPJE Registration Bulletin (www.nabp.net); 
(4) Registration forms for the NAPLEX and MPJE exams must be completed online through NABP 

(www.nabp.net). 
 
The Texas application, the NAPLEX registration form, and the MPJE registration form, will suffice for one 
administration of the Texas Pharmacy Jurisprudence and NAPLEX examinations.  Please allow 6 weeks for 
the processing of your application and registration forms.  After the Board processes your application and 
forwards this information to NABP, you will receive an Authorization to Test (ATT).  The ATT will be issued and 
mailed to you by The Chauncey Group International, contracted by NABP.  The ATT will contain the dates you 
will be eligible to take the MPJE and NAPLEX, as well as other information.  Please refer to the 
NAPLEX/MPJE Registration Bulletin for additional important information. 
 
 
PHARMACY RULES & LAWS 
 
Information regarding Texas Pharmacy Rules & Laws can be obtained from the Texas State Board of 
Pharmacy web site at www.tsbp.state.tx.us/rules/
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INSTRUCTIONS 
 
(1) Carefully review both the NAPLEX/MPJE registration bulletin and complete the registration forms as 

directed in the bulletin.  You must fill out both registration forms in order to take both examinations! 
 
(2) Complete the Texas application. 
 
(3) Mail the following items to the Texas State Board of Pharmacy: 
 
 (a) Completed Texas application; 
 (b) Money order (personal check will not be accepted) in the amount of $52, payable to the 

Texas State Board of Pharmacy.   
(c) A copy of an official identification (driver’s license or state issued ID) containing a photograph 
 and signature; 
(d) A copy of your social security card; and 
(e) A copy of your birth certificate.  If you are a foreign citizen and your birth certificate is not 

available, send copies of two of the following:  green card, passport, American driver's license.  
If you go by a name that is different from the name on your birth certificate, you must provide 
documentation of a legal name change. 

 
(4) Mail the following items to NABP:  

 
 (a) Completed NAPLEX and MPJE registrations forms.  You must fill out both registration forms in 

order to take both examinations! 
 (b) Fee of $430, payable to NABP for the NAPLEX administration; and 
 (c) Fee of $170, payable to NABP for the MPJE administration.  You may choose to include both 

fees in one money order. 
 
All fees must be paid by money order (personal checks will not be accepted). Please include your 
name, address and social security number on the money orders!    
 
Send money orders to: 

 
  NABP 
  PO BOX 1057 
  PARK RIDGE IL 60068 
 
 
 
INTERNSHIP REQUIREMENTS 
 
Internship requirements for Texas licensure are as follows: 
 
I.  OUT OF STATE GRADUATES WHO ARE LICENSED IN ANOTHER STATE 
 
Out of state graduates who hold a current pharmacist license in another U.S. state, such license has not been 
suspended, revoked, canceled, surrendered, or otherwise restricted for any reason, will have met the 
internship requirements in that state and will not be required to complete additional internship hours.   
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II. OUT OF STATE GRADUATES WHO ARE NOT LICENSED IN ANOTHER STATE 
 
Applicants must fulfill the Texas Board-approved internship requirement of 1500 hours.  The applicant may 
take the examinations before the hours are fulfilled.  Applicants may apply any of their internship hours gained 
in another U.S. state toward the Texas internship requirement, if the hours are certified to the Texas State 
Board of Pharmacy in writing by the other Board.  Internship hours earned outside Texas will not be accepted 
from foreign boards of pharmacy, from any college of pharmacy, or from any preceptor or employer.  It is the 
responsibility of the applicant to get the hours certified and transferred to the Texas State Board of Pharmacy.   
 
The following conditions apply to non-licensed, out of state graduates who have not obtained the required 
number of Texas Board-approved internship hours: 
 

  The applicant must be designated as an Extended Pharmacist Intern by the Texas State Board of 
Pharmacy before beginning work as an intern in Texas.  Any hours worked before the applicant is 
designated as an Extended Pharmacist Intern will not be credited toward the internship requirement.  If 
the applicant wishes to apply for Extended Pharmacist Internship, he/she must request from the Board 
office, complete, and return to the Board office an "Agreement for Designation as an Extended 
Pharmacist Intern."   Note:  Proof of graduation or completion of coursework, or full FPGEC 
certification, and a completed exam application must be on file with the Board office at the time 
the internship application is submitted. 

 
  An Extended Pharmacist Intern may perform the same functions as a Texas licensed pharmacist (with 

certain exceptions), provided the individual is in the presence of and under the direct supervision of 
Board-approved preceptor. A preceptor application will be sent with each application for Extended 
Pharmacist Intern.  If the supervising pharmacist is not currently certified as a preceptor, the applicant 
must have the pharmacist complete the form, and return it to the Board office.  Upon receipt of the 
completed form, and Board approval of the preceptor, the Board will send notification of approval to the 
preceptor in the form of a certificate. 

 
  An Extended Pharmacist Intern must obtain internship hours in a pharmacy licensed by and in good 

standing with the Texas State Board of Pharmacy.  A federally-operated facility must have signed a 
written agreement on file with the Texas Board, to serve as an extended internship site. 

 
  The Board will mail a letter designating the applicant an Extended Pharmacist Intern only AFTER all of 

the fore-mentioned requirements have been met. 
 
 
III.  CONDITIONS OF THE EXTENDED PHARMACIST INTERNSHIP 
 
The designation as an Extended Pharmacist Intern remains in effect until the earlier of the following occurs: 
 

  Failure of the Extended Pharmacist Intern to take the NAPLEX and the MPJE within three calendar 
months after graduation or FPGEC certification; or 

 
  Failure to pass the NAPLEX and MPJE; or 

 
 Failure to complete the requirements for licensure within two years after passing the required 

examination(s). 
   
The Board will provide an "Internship Hours Completion Notice" on which internship hours worked in this 
program are to be reported.  After completion of the required internship hours, the applicant must return the 
completed form to the Board office before the licensure process can be completed.  Once the notice of 
completion for all required internship hours are received, a license will be issued within two weeks. 
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NAPLEX SCORE TRANSFER PROGRAM 
 
The NAPLEX Score Transfer Program is administered by the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy 
(NABP), and is available to you when you register to take the NAPLEX in a participating and some non-
participating jurisdictions.  Further information on the NAPLEX Score Transfer Program can be found in the 
NAPLEX/MPJE Registration Bulletin, or by calling NABP at (847) 391-4406. 
 
 
TESTING ACCOMMODATIONS FOR PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES 
 
The Texas State Board of Pharmacy will abide by all applicable federal, state, and local statutes relating to the 
accommodation of disabled individuals.  If you have a disability and may require special accommodation in 
taking this examination, you may request that the Texas State Board of Pharmacy make special testing 
arrangements for you.   To ensure that the security and integrity of this examination is not compromised, the 
Texas State Board will evaluate special accommodation requests on a case by case basis. You are advised to 
contact the Texas State Board of Pharmacy to receive an Application for Disability Accommodation.  This 
Application must be received by the Board at least 6 weeks prior to the scheduled examination date. If 
accommodation is not requested by this date, we cannot guarantee the availability of accommodation on-site.  
 
 
EXAMINATION RESULTS 
 
Examination results WILL NOT BE DISCLOSED OVER THE TELEPHONE OR FAXED UNDER ANY 
CIRCUMSTANCES.  Examination results are processed by computer and the standard processing time for 
NAPLEX and MPJE results is approximately 3 WEEKS. 
 
Every effort is made to process and mail results as soon as possible.  DO NOT CALL THE BOARD OFFICE, 
OR HAVE SOMEONE ELSE CALL THE BOARD OFFICE, FOR EXAMINATION RESULTS.  DO keep us 
informed at all times of your correct mailing address.  An incorrect address will delay your receipt of 
examination results. 
 
Your cooperation will ensure that the Board staff can devote their time to the task of accurately processing the 
results for everyone. 
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APPLICATION FOR PHARMACIST LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION 
OFFICE USE ONLY 

Date Received:__________ 

Amount:________________ 

I do hereby submit the following information to establish my eligibility for 
examination and licensure as a pharmacist under the Texas Pharmacy Act and 
Rules: 

 Receipt NO.:_____________ 

FIRST NAME MIDDLE LAST 

                  

OTHER NAMES USED DRIVER’S LICENSE NO. & STATE 

            

HOME/RESIDENT ADDRESS (Required) CITY STATE ZIP 
      

                      

(AREA CODE)  HOME TELEPHONE (AREA CODE) BUSINESS TELEPHONE 

            

Providing Address of Record Indicates You Wish the Address and Home Telephone Listed Above Maintained Confidential 

ADDRESS OF RECORD CITY STATE ZIP (AREA CODE)  ALTERNATE TELEPHONE 

    

PLACE OF BIRTH DATE OF BIRTH RACE/ETHNICITY GENDER 

                        

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 

      
Note:  Disclosure of Social Security Numbers (SSN) is mandatory under Tex. Fam. Code Ann. §231.302 (Vernon 1999). 
The SSN is provided to identify persons relative to enforcement of child support payments. 

COLLEGE OF PHARMACY EDUCATION 

NAME OF COLLEGE DATE ENTERED  

            

CITY STATE DATE OF GRADUATION (MM/DD/YY) 

                  

COUNTRY DEGREE OBTAINED 

            
 

CERIFICATIONS, LICENSES, AND REGISTRATIONS 
Have you ever been or are you currently certified as a pharmacist intern, registered as a pharmacy technician or 
licensed as a Texas pharmacist.   If yes, please list details below. 

INTERN # PHARMACIST LICENSE # TECHNICIAN RGISTRATION # DATE ISSUED 

    
    

TEXAS STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY 

333 Guadalupe Street, Suite 3-600      Austin, Texas 78701-3942 
512-305-8000      www.tsbp.state.tx.us 
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PREVIOUS EXAMINATION AND LICENSURE RECORD 

If you have previously taken an examination for pharmacist licensure in Texas, or in any other state, please provide the following information. If 
you are, or have been, licensed in another state as a pharmacist, you must contact that state board of pharmacy to certify in writing, to 
the Texas State Board of Pharmacy, the dates and disciplinary standing of your licensure. If needed, attach additional sheets. 
                        

State Date of Exam Passed or Failed License Number 

                        
State Date of Exam Passed or Failed License Number 

                        
State Date of Exam Passed or Failed License Number 

 

ALL APPLICANTS MUST ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS: 

1 Are you licensed in any other state(s)? If so, please list the state(s) of licensure and your license number in 
that state.      State(s) Licensed and License No.                YES*    NO 

2 
Have you been the subject of any professional disciplinary action or are any such actions pending against you 
by a regulatory authority? (Examples: surrender, revocation, reinstatement, suspension, fine, probation, 
restriction) Include such information for all states, including Texas, and for all regulated professions. 

   YES*    NO 

If you answered “yes” to Question #2, include the name of the Board, licensing or disciplinary authority and the date of the Order, and, if applicable, 
the date of the termination of the condition and/or probation. 
3 For any criminal offense, including those pending appeal, have you ever: 

 A. been arrested? 
 B. pled nolo contendere or guilty? 
 C. received deferred adjudication? 
 D. been convicted of a misdemeanor? 
 E. been convicted of a felony? 

 
   YES* 
   YES* 
   YES* 
   YES* 
   YES* 

 
   NO 
   NO 
   NO 
   NO 
   NO 

In answering Questions #3A-E, include all offenses – even those for which you were subject to deferred adjudication.  (Examples: assault, theft, 
possession of controlled substances, public intoxication, DWI, driving under the influence of drugs.) 
4 Have you been subject to a court ordered probation or confinement as related to any offense?    YES*    NO 

5 
Have you been convicted of a drug or alcohol related offense, or been subject to a deferred adjudication for 
this offense? (Examples: possession of controlled substances, public intoxication, DWI, driving under the 
influence of drugs.) 

   YES*    NO 

If you answered “yes” to Questions #3-5, include the name and location of the court, the offense charged, a brief explanation of the offense, the 
date of action, and, if applicable, the date that probation or confinement ended.  
    

NOTARIZED APPLICANT AFFIDAVIT 

I,       ,  hereby attest to the fact that I am the applicant whose 
signature appears below, and that the information on this form, as well as the information on this form, as well as the information on any 
attachment(s) to this form, is to the best of my knowledge true and correct and that the information is given of my own free will.  I agree that any 
misstatement(s) or omission(s) as to material facts will constitute violation of the Texas Pharmacy Act and subject me to the penalties set forth 
in the Act. 

   
Signature of Applicant  Date 

Signature of Notary:   

Subscribed and sworn to before me this       day of       A.D. 20        

Notary Public in and for       County,       State. My certificate expires       
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TEXAS STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY 

333 Guadalupe Street, Suite 3-600      Austin, Texas 78701-3942 
512-305-8000      www.tsbp.state.tx.us 

 
 

** DO NOT CERTIFY THIS PAGE UNTIL AFTER GRADUATION HAS OCCURRED ** 
 

AFFIDAVIT OF COMPLETION OF COURSEWORK AND GRADUATION 
FROM ACPE-ACCREDITED COLLEGE OF PHARMACY 

 

This is to certify that       attended the

      College of Pharmacy, from       until

      , and on       , completed all requirements for

graduation from the       year program.  The degree of       was

conferred on him/her on       .  
     

     
Signed   Date        
 (Dean or Registrar)    
     
     
     

(AFFIX SEAL HERE)  Address:        

          

          
     
     
     
     
     
I. NON-TEXAS GRADUATES 

If you are a graduate of a non-Texas College of Pharmacy, or have graduated from a Texas College more than one 
semester ago, detach this page and have the Dean or Registrar complete and return it to the Texas State Board of 
Pharmacy. 

  
II. TEXAS GRADUATES 

If you are a recent graduate from a Texas College of Pharmacy, your graduation will be certified automatically to the 
Board by your Texas College, and this affidavit is not required. 

  
III. FOREIGN COLLEGE OF PHARMACY GRADUATE 

If you are a graduate of a foreign College of Pharmacy, please attach a copy of your FPGEC certification in place of 
this affidavit. 
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