
INSTRUCTIONS AND REQUIREMENTS FOR LICENSURE BY RECIPROCITY 
(LICENSURE TRANSFER) 

 
 
QUALIFICATIONS FOR LICENSING BY RECIPROCITY 
 
 (1) An applicant for licensure by reciprocity (licensure transfer) shall be of good moral character, provide 

satisfactory evidence that the age of 18 years has been obtained, and shall meet the following 
requirements: 

 
 (a) have graduated and received a professional practice degree, as defined by board rule, from an 

accredited pharmacy degree program approved by the board; or 
  
 (b) have graduated from a foreign college of pharmacy and obtained full official certification from the 

FPGEC (Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Equivalency Committee). 
  
 (c) have presented to the board, proof of current or intitial licensing by examination; and proof that 

the current license and any other license granted to the applicat by another state has not been 
restricted, suspended, revoked, or surrendered for any reason; and 

 
 (e) passed the Texas Pharmacy Jurisprudence examination with a minimum grade of 75. 

 
 (2) A person who falsely makes the affidavit prescribed by the above section is guilty of fraudulent and 

dishonorable conduct and malpractice and is subject to all penalties that may be prescribed for making 
false affidavit. 

 
 (3) An applicant is not eligible for licensing by reciprocity unless the state in which the applicant is currently or  

was initially licensed as a pharmacist grants reciprocal licensing to pharmacists licensed by examination 
in this state, under like circumstances and conditions. 

 
 
GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS 
 
The Texas Pharmacy Jurisprudence Examination, more commonly known as the MultiState Pharmacy Jurisprudence 
Examination (MPJE), is administered by the National Association of Board’s of Pharmacy (NABP).  The MPJE is 
administered daily, Monday through Friday, excluding holidays, through the Sylvan Technology Centers.   The minimum 
passing score on this exam is 75.  Testing appointment information, fee information, participating jurisdictions, and other 
important procedures are contained in the NAPLEX/MPJE Registration Bulletin. 
 
You must obtain the required forms from the following websites: 

 
(1) Texas Application for Licensing by Reciprocity (www.tsbp.state.tx.us); 

(2) Preliminary NABP Application (www.nabp.net); 

(3) Candidates Guide to the Texas Pharmacy Jurisprudence Examination (www.tsbp.state.tx.us); 

(4) NAPLEX/MPJE Registration Bulletin (www.nabp.net); 

(5) Registration forms for the MPJE exam may be obtained by contacting Lisa Ake at (512) 305-8011, or 
lisa.ake@tsbp.state.tx.us. 

 
The NABP Preliminary Application should be completed first and submitted to the NABP offices in Illinois, along with the 
fee indicated.  The NABP Preliminary Application takes about four to six weeks to process.  We suggest you plan 
ahead and start your application process well in advance of the time you plan to take the MPJE exam.    
 
**The Texas Application can be mailed in while you are waiting for the official NABP Application to be returned to 
you.** 
 
The Texas application and the MPJE registration form, will suffice for one administration of the Texas Pharmacy 
Jurisprudence examination. Please allow 6 weeks for the processing of your Texas application.    After the Board 
processes your application and forwards this information to NABP, you will receive an Authorization to Test (ATT).  The 
ATT will be issued and mailed to you by The Chauncey Group International, contracted by NABP.  The ATT will contain 



the dates you will be eligible to take the MPJE, as well as other information.  Please refer to the MPJE Registration 
Bulletin for additional important information. 
 
 
PHARMACY RULES & LAWS 
 
Information regarding Texas Pharmacy Rules & Laws can be obtained from the Texas State Board of Pharmacy web site 
at www.tsbp.state.tx.us/rules/  
 
 
INSTRUCTIONS 
 
 (1) Carefully review the NABP Preliminary Application and complete the application as directed. 
 

(2) Carefully review the NAPLEX/MPJE registration bulletin and complete the registration form as directed in 
the bulletin. 

 
 (3) Complete the Texas application. 
 

 (4) Mail the following items to the Texas State Board of Pharmacy: 
 
  (a) Completed Texas application; 
  
  (b) Money order (personal checks will not be accepted) in the amount of $255, payable to the 

Texas State Board of Pharmacy.   
 
 (c) A copy of an official identificatin (driver’s license or state issued ID) containing a photograph and 

signature; 
 
 (d) A copy of your social security card; and 
 
 (e) A copy of your birth certificate.  If you are a foreign citizen and your birth certificate is not 

available, send copies of two of the following:  green card, passport, American driver's license.  If 
you go by a name that is different from the name on your birth certificate, you must provide 
documentation of a legal name change. 

 

 (5) Mail the following items to NABP: 
  
  (a) Completed NABP Preliminary Application and fee of $300.00. 
  
  (b) Completed MPJE registration form; and 
  
  (c) Fee of $170, payable to NABP for the MPJE administration.  You may choose to include both 

fees in one money order. 
 

All fees must be paid by money order (personal checks will not be accepted). Please include your 
name, address and social security number on the money order!    
  
Send money order to: 
 

 NABP 
 1600 FEEHANVILLE DRIVE 
 MT. PROSPECT, IL 60056 

 
 
 
 
 
TESTING ACCOMMODATIONS FOR PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES 

 



The Texas State Board of Pharmacy will abide by all applicable federal, state, and local statutes relating to the 
accommodation of disabled individuals.  If you have a disability and may require special accommodation in taking this 
examination, you may request that the Texas State Board of Pharmacy make special testing arrangements for you.  
To ensure that the security and integrity of this examination is not compromised, the Texas State Board will evaluate 
special accommodation requests on a case by case basis. You are advised to contact the Texas State Board of 
Pharmacy to receive an Application for Disability Accommodation.   This Application must be received by the Board at 
least 6 weeks prior to the scheduled examination date. If accommodation is not requested by this date, we cannot 
guarantee the availability of accommodation on-site.  
 
 
EXAMINATION RESULTS 
 
Examination results WILL NOT BE DISCLOSED OVER THE TELEPHONE OR FAXED UNDER ANY 
CIRCUMSTANCES.  Examination results are processed by computer and the standard processing time for Jurisprudence 
results is 3 WEEKS. 
 
Every effort is made to process and mail results as soon as possible.  DO NOT CALL THE BOARD OFFICE, OR HAVE 
SOMEONE ELSE CALL THE BOARD OFFICE, FOR EXAMINATION RESULTS.  DO keep us informed at all times of 
your correct mailing address.  An incorrect address will delay your receipt of examination results. 
 



 

 
 

APPLICATION FOR PHARMACIST LICENSURE BY RECIPROCITY 

(Licensure Transfer) 
 

I do hereby submit the following information to establish my eligibility for 
examination and licensure as a pharmacist under the Texas Pharmacy Act and 
Rules: 

OFFICE USE ONLY 
 

Date Received: __________ 
 

Amount:________________ 
 

Receipt NO: ____________ 
FIRST NAME MIDDLE LAST 

                  

OTHER NAMES USED DRIVER’S LICENSE NO. & STATE 

            

HOME/RESIDENT ADDRESS (Required)  CITY STATE ZIP 

                           

(AREA CODE)  HOME TELEPHONE (AREA CODE) BUSINESS TELEPHONE 

            

Providing Address of Record Indicates You Wish the Address and Home Telephone Listed Above Maintained Confidential 

ADDRESS OF RECORD CITY STATE ZIP (AREA CODE)  ALTERNATE TELEPHONE 

    

PLACE OF BIRTH DATE OF BIRTH RACE/ETHNICITY GENDER 

                        

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 

      

Note:  Disclosure of Social Security Numbers (SSN) is mandatory under Tex. Fam. Code Ann. §231.302 (Vernon 1999). 
The SSN is provided to identify persons relative to enforcement of child support payments. 

COLLEGE OF PHARMACY EDUCATION 

COLLEGE OF PHARMACY GRADUATION DATE (MM/DD/YY) DEGREE 

                  

RECIPROCATING FROM THE STATE OF:  LICENSE NO. LIST OTHER STATES IN WHICH YOU ARE LICENSED 

                  

 
If you have ever been discharged from any position, state specific information including dates: 

 
 
 
 

TEXAS STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY 

333 Guadalupe Street, Suite 3-600   ó   Austin, Texas 78701-3942 
512-305-8000   ó   www.tsbp.state.tx.us 



ALL APPLICANTS MUST ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS: 

1 
Have you been the subject of any professional disciplinary action or are any such actions pending against you by a 
regulatory authority? (Examples: surrender, revocation, reinstatement, suspension, fine, probation, restriction).  
Include such information for all states, including Texas, and for all regulated professions. 

 YES*  NO 

 
*If you answered “yes” to Question #1, include the name of the Board, licensing or disciplinary authority and the date of the Order, 
and, if applicable, the date of the termination of the condition and/or probation. 

2 For any criminal offense, including those pending appeal, have you ever:   
 A.  been arrested?  YES*  NO 
 B. pled nolo contendere or guilty?  YES*  NO 
 C. received deferred adjudication?  YES*  NO 
 D. been convicted of a misdemeanor?  YES*  NO 
 E. been convicted of a felony?  YES*  NO 

 
In answering Questions #2A-E, include all offenses, even those for which you were subject to deferred adjudication.  (Examples: 
assault, theft, possession of controlled substances, public intoxication, DWI, driving under the influence of drugs.)  

3 Have you been subject to a court ordered probation or confinement as related to any offense?  YES*  NO 

4 
Have you been convicted of a drug or alcohol related offense, or been subject to a deferred adjudication for this 
offense?  (Examples: possession of controlled substances, public intoxication, DWI, driving under the influence of drugs.)  YES*  NO 

 
*If you answered “yes” to Questions #2-4, include the name and location of the court, the offense charged, a brief explanation of the 
offense, the date of action, and, if applicable, the date that probation or confinement ended. 

    
Fill out the following carefully.  Begin with your most recent employment and list every job you have had in the last five years regardless of length of 
time worked.  If you were out of work, sick, or attending school, so state, giving the dates that you were out of work.  Do not skip any dates.  Knowingly 
providing misleading or false information will constitute grounds for licensure being denied.  Attach additional sheets if necessary. 

Dates: 
(From/To)       

Name and Address 
of Employer:       

Explain briefly why you left.   
If discharged, state why.       

      

      

Dates: 
(From/To)       

Name and Address 
of Employer:       

Explain briefly why you left.   
If discharged, state why.       

      

      

Dates: 
(From/To)       

Name and Address 
of Employer:       

Explain briefly why you left.   
If discharged, state why.       

      

      

Dates: 
(From/To)       

Name and Address 
of Employer:       

Explain briefly why you left.   
If discharged, state why.       

      

      



Dates: 
(From/To)       

Name and Address 
of Employer:       

Explain briefly why you left.   
If discharged, state why.       

      

      

      

Dates: 
(From/To)       

Name and Address 
of Employer:       

Explain briefly why you left.   
If discharged, state why.       

      

      

      

   

Are you now employed in Texas?   YES             NO   If employed, by whom and in what capacity?       

      

May we contact your present employer for reference?             YES             NO 

 
I authorize any of the persons or organizations referenced in this application to give you any and all information they might have, personal or 
otherwise, with regard to any of the subjects covered by this application, and I release all such parties from all liability from any damages which 
may result from furnishing such information to you. 
 
In consideration of licensure granted by the Texas State Board of Pharmacy, I agree to be governed and to abide by all the Pharmacy laws of 
Texas and rules and regulations of the Board. 

 
NOTARIZED APPLICANT AFFIDAVIT 

I,       hereby attest to the fact  that  
the information on this form, as well as the information on any attachment(s) to this form, is to the best of my knowledge true and correct and that 
the information is given of my own free will.  I agree that any misstatement(s) or omission(s) as to material facts will constitute violation of the Texas 
Pharmacy Act and subject me to the penalties set forth in the Act.  
     
   

Signature of Applicant  Date 

   

Signature of Notary   
     

Subscribed and sworn to before me this   day of  , A.D. 20  

Notary Public in and for  County,  State. My certificate expires  
 


