Texas State Board of Pharmacy
Laws and Rules Update
Webinar FAQs and Troubleshooting Tips

 Test your sound — We will be doing periodic sound checks before the presentation begins.
— If you do not have sound:
e Click the Quick Start tab
e Click “Communicate”
* Then click “Audio Conference”
» Select “Use Phone” to call in by telephone
Still having trouble? Call the helpdesk at any time during the presentation:
1-866-569-3239
 Receiving Credit
— Look for the quiz and evaluation to be posted in your Lifelong Learning Account 5-7 days from
now
* An email notification will be sent to you when these are available

— Complete these items to generate your certificate, which can be accessed at any time
through your Lifelong Learning Account

» Please note: This course is accepted by the Texas State Board of Pharmacy for both
general credit and as fulfilling the law requirement. However, it is NOT ACPE certified
and will not appear in your CPE Monitor account.
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Goals

& Review recent changes to pharmacy rules;

¢ Review the most common Warning Notices
ssued to Class A and Class C Pharmacies;
and

@ Review pharmacy related legislation passed by
the 2015 Legislature.
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Class A Pharmacies
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Patient Counseling Regulations

& Effective Date: December 7, 2014.

¢ Patient counseling must be provided to new
and existing patients of a pharmacy with
each new prescription drug order.

@ A new prescription drug order Iis one that
has not been dispensed by the pharmacy
to the patient in the same dosage and
strength within the last year.
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Patient Counseling Regulations (cont).

¢ Written information may now be

provided to the patient in an electronic
format, such as by e-maill, If:

- The patient or patient's agent requests the
Information in an electronic format; and

- The pharmacy documents the request.
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Patient Counseling Regulations (cont).

¢ Eliminated the requirement for a
pharmacy to:
— Offer counseling on a refill prescription; and

- Post a sign that said "Do you have questions
about your prescription? Ask the pharmacist.”
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Transfer of Prescription Information

& Effective Date: December 7, 2014.

¢« Updated the transfer regulations to allow
for the:
- Electronic transfer of records;

— Electronic transfer of multiple or bulk
prescription records between two pharmacies;

and
- Match DEA's regulations.
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Class C Pharmacy
Regulations
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Number of Beds in a Hospital

& Effective Date: December 7, 2014

@ Number of Beds — The total number of
beds Is determined by the number of:
- Beds that the hospital is licensed for by the
Texas Department of State Health Services;
or

- Inpatients admitted during the previous
calendar year divided by 365 (or 366 If the
previous calendar year is a leap year
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Pharmacists and Pharmacy
Techniclans
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Pharmacist’s Continuing Education

& Effective Date: March 17, 2013.

& Pharmacists can receive credit for
programs approved by AMA as Category
1 CME.

¢ Pharmacists must report 1-hour of CE
related to Texas Pharmacy Laws or
Regulations on renewals received after
1/1/15.
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Pharmacy Technician’s Continuing Education

& Effective Date: June 12, 2013.

¢ Pharmacy Technicians must report 1-hour
of CE related to Texas Pharmacy Laws or
Regulations on renewals received after
1/1/15.
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Conditions Recelving
"Warning Notices" FY2014
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Number of Inspections

0)
Class £Y2014 % of FY2014
Inspections

Class A Pharmacies 1,181 69%
Class A-S 4 <1%
Class B Pharmacies 3 <1%
Class C Pharmacies 447 26%
Class C-S 4 <1%

Class D Pharmacies 57 3%
Class F Pharmacies 5 <1%
Class G Pharmacies 5 <1%
Totals 1,706 100%
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Warning Notices

# Phcys Receiving WN | % Receiving WN

Class A 537 61%
Class A-S 3 <1%
Class B 0 N/A
Class C 316 36%
Class C-S 4 <1%

Class D 18 2%
Class F 2 <1%
Class G 0 N/A
Totals 880 100%
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Most Common Warning Notices
(All Classes of Pharmacy)

Violation Number of WN | % of Total
Issued* WN

Sterile Product 855 29%
Pharmacy Technician 398 14%
Records 273 9%

Drug Stock/Environment 272 9%
Prescriptions 160 5%
Inventory 156 9%

OBRA 152 5%

* One pharmacy may receive multiple Warning Notice violations.
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Most Common Warning Notices
(All Classes of Pharmacy) cont.

Condition Number of WN Total
Issued

Sterile Product 855
No/Incomplete QA/QC 140
No/Incomplete P&P Manual 128
No/Inadequate Preparation Area 370
IV Preparation 196
No DUR 14
Cytoxic/Bio Procedures 7
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Most Common Warning Notices
(All Classes of Pharmacy) cont.

Number of WN

Condition Issued
Pharmacy Technicians 398
No/Incomplete Training 367
No/Improper Supervision 10
Improper Registration 16
No Name Tags 5
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Most Common Warning Notices
(All Classes of Pharmacy) cont.

Issued

Records 273
Records Not Available 90
Absence of R.Ph. Record 15
Rx Not Separated 7
Rx Records Not Numerical Order 5
Improper Transfer of RX copies 5
Invoices Not Separated/Retrievable 52
Records for Non-Sterile Compounds 77
No Written Information on RX 22
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Most Common Warning Notices
(All Classes of Pharmacy) cont.

Condition Number of WN Total
Issued

Drug Stock/Environment 2172

Improper Environment 101

Out-of-Date Drug Stock 83

Security 36

Unsanitary 30

Improper Drug Storage 16
Area for Non-Sterile Compounding 2
Violation of Limited Formulary 4
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Most Common Warning Notices
(All Classes of Pharmacy) cont.

Number of WN

Condition Issued
Prescriptions 160
Lack Proper Information 77
Prescription Label Incorrect 68
Official Rx Non-Compliance 15
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Most Common Warning Notices
(All Classes of Pharmacy) cont.

Condition Number of WN Total
Issued

Inventory 156
No Annual Inventory 47
No Change of Ownership Inventory 6
No Change of PIC Inventory 32
Incomplete Inventory 68
No Perpetual inventory (Class C) 2
Improper Drug Destruction 1
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Most Common Warning Notices
(All Classes of Pharmacy) cont.

Number of WN

Condition

Issued
OBRA 152
Written Information Not Provided 22
No Patient Counseling 117
PMR Absent or Incomplete 13
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Pharmacy Related
Legislation Passed by the
2015 Legislature
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S.B. 195 by Sen. Schwertner

¢ Effective Date: 6/20/2015 for some
provisions and 9/1/2016 for others.

& This bill:

-~ Allows the Board, on or after 6/20/2015 to :

e Adopt rules to implement the PMP and certain other
provisions related to prescriptions in the Controlled
Substances Act.

e Sign a contract with a vendor to operate the PMP.

e Call a meeting of the Prescription Monitoring Work
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S.B. 195 by Sen. Schwertner (cont.)

& Effective 9/1/2016:

- The Board may establish a program to fund the
Prescription Monitoring Program (PMP) though a
surcharge on the license fees of persons
authorized to access the PMP.

- The PMP is transferred from the DPS to TSBP.

- The Controlled Substance Registration program is
abolished.
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S.B. 460 by Sen. Schwertner

& Effective Date: 9/1/2015.

& This bill amends the Pharmacy Act to:

— Allow a pharmacy to notify consumers how to
file a complaint using an electronic messaging

system.

- Allow the Board to inspect financial records
relating to the operation of a pharmacy only In
the course of an investigation of a specific

complaint.
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S.B. 460 by Sen. Schwertner (cont)

& Amends the Pharmacy Act to:

- Eliminate the Generic Substitution Sign and
modify the requirement for the Complaint
Notification to allow electronic posting;

- Require a pharmacy to file an application to
change location at least 30-days prior to the
move; and

- Specify that a pharmacy license may not be
renewed If it has expired for 91 days or morg
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S.B. 460 by Sen. Schwertner (cont)

@ Amends the Pharmacy Act for Class E
Pharmacies to:

— Allow the Board to discipline the pharmacy if it
has been disciplined in their state.

— Prohibit a person from owning the pharmacy Iif
their RPh license was revoked, suspended,
restricted, surrendered in another state.

- Require the pharmacy to have a Texas
licensed pharmacist serve as the PIC for the
—l €XaS licEense.
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S.B. 1462 by Sen. Royce West

& Effective Date: 9/1/2015.

& This bill adds a new Subchapter E. Opioid
Antagonist to the Dangerous Drug Act that:

- Allows Drs to prescribe/issue a standing order for
an opioid antagonist, without risk of discipline, to:

e A person at risk of experiencing an opioid-related drug

overdose; or
e A family member, friend, or other person in a position
to assist a person at risk of experiencing an opioid-
clated drug overdose.
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S.B. 1462 by Sen. Royce West (cont))

& Allows a R.Ph. who dispenses or does not
dispense an opioid antagonist under a
valid Rx Is not subject to criminal/civil
liability or disciplinary action for:

- dispensing or failing to dispense the opioid
antagonist; or
- If the R.Ph. dispenses an opioid antagonist,

any outcome resulting from the eventual
administration of the opioid antagonist.
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H.B. 751 by Rep. Zerwas

& Effective Date: 9/1/2015.

@ The bill allows the substitution of
Interchangeable biological products.

¢ Interchangeable biological products are
those rated equivalent by FDA (Purple

Book).
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H.B. 751 by Rep. Zerwas (cont.)

& The bill specifies that not later than the

3rd business day after dispensing the
R.Ph. must “communicate” to the
orescribing Dr. the name of the product
orovided and the manufacturer or NDC
number.
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H.B. 751 by Rep. Zerwas (cont.)

& Notification is not required If:

- There is no interchangeable biological product
approved by FDA; or

— Arefill prescription is not changed from the
product dispensed on the prior dispensing.

& The notification section of the bill expires
on 9/1/20109.
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H. B. 1550 by Zerwas/Kolkhorst

& Effective Date: 9/1/2015.

& This bill amends the Pharmacy Act to:

& Allow a RPhs to administer epinephrine using
an auto-injector to a patient in an emergency
situation.

& Specify a RPh may not receive remuneration
for the administration of epinephrine but may
seek reimbursement for the cost of the
epinephrine auto-injector.
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H. B. 1550 by Zerwas/Kolkhorst (cont.)

& This bill amends the Pharmacy Act to:

- Specify that a R.Ph. who administers
epinephrine through an auto-injector device Is
not liable for civil damages if the pharmacist
acts in good faith and complies with Board
rules.
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SB 1462 by Senator West

& Effective Date: 9/1/2015.

@ The bill amends the Dangerous Drug Act to
allow Drs to prescribe/issue a standing order
for an opioid antagonist, without risk of
discipline, to a:

- Person at risk of an opioid-related overdose; or

- Family member, friend, or other person in a
nosition to assist a person at risk of experiencing
i) OPIOId-related drug overdose.
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SB 1462 by Senator West (cont.)

& Specifies a R.Ph. who dispenses or does
not dispense an opioid antagonist under a
valid Rx Is not subject to criminal/civil
liability or disciplinary action for:

- Dispensing or failing to dispense the opioid
antagonist; or

- If the R.Ph. dispenses an opioid antagonist,
any outcome resulting from the administration

of the opioid antagonist.
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SB 1243 by Sen. Burton

& Effective Date: 1/1/16.

& This bill establishes a Prescription Drug
Donation Pilot Program in the DSHS.

¢ The Program must be established in one
or more cities with a population of more
than 500,000 but less than one million.
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SB 1243 by Sen. Burton (cont.)

@ A Dr., Phcy. Nursing Home, Mfr, etc., may
donate non-controlled Rx drugs to DSHS.

¢ The donated drugs may be provided or
administered to patients only by a:
- Charitable medical clinic;

- Dr's office for patients who receive assistance
from an indigent health care program; or

- Licensed health care professional in a penal
mmiStitution.
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SB 1243 by Sen. Burton (cont.)

& DSHS must establish and maintain an
electronic database which:

- Lists the name and quantity of each drug
donated to DSHS under the program; and

- Allows a charitable medical clinic, physician,
or other licensed health care professional to

search for and request drugs.

TEXAS STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY




SB 1243 by Sen. Burton (cont.)

¢ The entity providing or administering the
drug may charge a nominal handling fee
In an amount prescribed by DSHS rule.

¢ DSHS must adopt rules for by 12/1/2015.

TEXAS STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY



S.B 1697 by Sen. Huffman

& Effective Date: 9/1/2015.

¢ The bill makes identifying information of:

- Any person who participates in an execution
procedure; and

— Any person or entity that manufactures,
compounds, prescribes, dispenses, or
provides a substance or supplies used In an

execution.
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New Look for the TSBP
Website
www.pharmacy.texas.gov
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@ For more specific information on
these requirements, refer to the Board
Rules located on the TSBP website:

www.pharmacy.texas.gov
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http://www.tsbp.state.tx.us/

Final Reminders (Part I)

# If you have additional compliance-related questions, please call the TSBP
Compliance Line at 512-305-8070.

# If you would like a copy of today’s presentation slides, they are currently
posted in your Lifelong Learning Account.

Trouble accessing your Lifelong Learning Account?
Call the help desk:
1-800-215-0641
Select Option 1
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Final Reminders (Part 1l)

@ Receiving Credit
— Look for the quiz and evaluation to be posted in your Lifelong Learning Account 5-
7 days from now
e An email notification will be sent to you when these are available
— You will have 30 days from the date they are posted to complete them.

- Complete these items to generate your certificate, which can be accessed at any
time through your Lifelong Learning Account.

Trouble accessing your Lifelong Learning Account?
Questions about your attendance?
Call the help desk:
1-800-215-0641
Select Option 1

Please note: This course is accepted by the Texas State Board of Pharmacy for both
general credit and as fulfilling the law requirement. However, it is NOT ACPE
certified and will not appear in your CPE Monitor account.
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~Thank you for your attendance!

If you have any additional questions about the
content presented today,

please emaill us at:

educationcoordinator@pharmacy.texas.gov
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