
TEXAS STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY
PROFESSIONAL LIABILITY CLAIM REPORT FORM

In accordance with Section 281.18 of the Texas Pharmacy Rules of Procedure, every insurer or other entity
who provides professional liability insurance covering a pharmacist or pharmacy licensed by the Texas State
Board of Pharmacy, and every insurer or other entity who provides professional and supplemental liability
insurance covering a pharmacy technician is required to complete this form regarding professional liability
claims.  Pharmacists, pharmacy technicians, or pharmacy license holders are required to complete this form,
only under the following conditions: (1) if a pharmacist, pharmacy technician, or a pharmacy licensed in Texas
does not carry or is not covered by professional liability insurance or supplemental liability insurance; or (2) if
a pharmacist, pharmacy technician, or a pharmacy licensed in Texas is insured by a non-admitted carrier or
other entity providing pharmacy professional liability insurance that does not report under the Texas Pharmacy
Act.  Reports are required for claims initiated or resolved on or after September 1, 1999.  This form must be
completed within the time period designated below and submitted to:

Texas State Board of Pharmacy
William P. Hobby Bldg., Suite 3-600

333 Guadalupe, Box 21
Austin, TX 78701-3942

GG INITIAL REPORT GG FOLLOW-UP REPORT
Must be submitted within 30 days of receipt Must be submitted within 105 days after
of the notice of claim letter or complaint disposition of claim

1. Insurer’s Information

Entity Name:

Address:

Reporter’s Name:

Title:

Telephone Number:

2. Insured Subject Information (separate forms are required for each defendant licensee or registrant)

Name:

Address:

Type of License/Registration (circle one):Pharmacist Pharmacy Pharmacy Technician

Texas License/Registration Number:

Insurance Policy Number:



3. Information Pertaining to Claim

Name(s) of plaintiff(s):

Address(es):

Phone number(s):

Date of injury:

County of injury:

4. Cause of injury [Please be as specific as possible.  Include names of medications, date of dispensing,
prescription number(s).  Attach additional pages if necessary.]

5. Nature of injury (Categorize as temporary/minor, temporary/major, permanent/minor,
permanent/major, or death, then describe.  Please be as specific as possible.)

6. Type of Action (e.g., claim only, lawsuit):

Please attach a copy of the notice of claim letter or the lawsuit filed in court.

If this is a follow-up report, the following information must also be provided:

1. Date of Disposition:

2. Type of Disposition (e.g., settlement, judgement, dismissal, claim dropped, etc.):

3. Amount of Disposition: $________________

4. Appeal    Y      N If yes, by which party?

Please attach a copy of court order or settlement agreement, if applicable.

Claims not required to be reported include the following: product liability claims, antitrust allegations, allegations involving improper peer

review activities, civil rights violations or allegations of liability for injuries occurring on a licensee’s property, but not involving a breach

of duty.  An insurer reporting under Section 281.18 of the Texas Pharmacy Rules of Procedure, its agents or employees are not liable for

damages in a suit brought by any person or entity for reporting as required by this section or for any other action taken under this section. 

Information submitted under Section 281.18 of the Texas State Board of Pharmacy, Administrative Practice and Procedures is

confidential, except as provided in 281.18(f)(3) and is not subject to disclosure under Chapter 552. Government Code.  The Texas

Department of Insurance may impose on any insurer subject to this Act sanctions authorized by Sections 82.051-82.055 (formerly Section

7, Article 1.10) of the Texas insurance Code, if the insurer fails to report information as required by this section.                            08/00


