PHARMACIST LICENSE BY EXAMINATION - APPLICATION

Review and READ everything on this web page to successfully obtain a Texas Pharmacist License.
Failure to review the information provided may delay the licensing process.

TO BE ELIGIBLE TO BE LICENSED AS A PHARMACIST IN TEXAS
  1. at least 18 years of age;

  2. have obtained a B.S. in Pharmacy or a Pharm.D. degree from a Board approved, ACPE Accredited College (pdf) of pharmacy program, or have graduated from a college of pharmacy program outside the U.S. and have obtained full certification from the Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Equivalency Committee (FPGEC);

  3. take and pass both the NAPLEX and MPJE (minimum of 75); and

  4. have completed 1500 hours of Board approved internship (see below).

ONLINE APPLICATIONS SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS
  1. Register for a secure online account. If account exists, simply log-in. (see link below)

    • User ID (email) – use a personal email address (not assigned by college)

    • Receive a temporary password from donotreply@hpc.state.tx.us

    • Log-in with temporary password and choose a permanent password (write down the user id and password and keep it for the length of professional pharmacist career)

  2. Choose “apply for a new license” from the left hand side of page.

  3. Choose “initial pharmacist by examination”; complete application; submit fees with MasterCard, Visa, Discover, or American Express.

     

  4. TEXAS APPLICATION PROCESS – COMPLETE ALL THREE ITEMS LISTED BELOW:
    1. Click This Link to Create User Account and Submit Texas License by Examination Application (see instructions above)

    2. Click This Link Register for Examination(s) and Pay Required Examination Fees at NABP.
      (Exam Fees Should Be Paid Prior To TSBP's Review of Your Texas Pharmacist Application)

    3. Submit The Following In Addition To The Texas Application<

      1. Submit Supplemental Documents

      2. Obtain Fingerprint Session

      3. Graduation Affidavit (word document)

      4. Certification of 1500 Pharmacist Intern Hours

      5. NOTE: Failure to complete the entire process, including paying your examinations(s) fees, will result in not receiving your Authorization to Test (ATT).

INFORMATION ABOUT APPLICATION PROCESS, RESULTS, AND LICENSING:

Allow At Least 8 Weeks For Application Processing Time

Exam Results

Detailed Texas Application Instructions Document (opens new window)

IMPORTANT GUIDES & INFORMATION ABOUT STUDY MATERIAL LISTED BELOW:

Candidate's Guide To The Jurisprudence Examination (pdf)

NAPLEX – MPJE Registration Bulletin

Poison Prevention Packaging Act

Rule §283.9 Fee Requirements for Licensure

TEXAS PHARMACY LAW BOOK -- NOT PROVIDED BY TSBP

Contact LexisNexis 800.533.1637 to purchase the Texas Pharmacy Rules and Regulations Text Book

TEXAS PHARMACY LAW REVIEW COURSE

Contact www.txpharmacylaw.com

Pharmacy Rules & Laws Online

Supplemental Documents – Must Be Mailed to TSBP:

Use the Application receipt/confirmation page as a cover sheet to: Texas State Board of Pharmacy, 333 Guadalupe Street, Ste 3-500, Austin, TX 78701. Faxed Copies Will Not Be Accepted

  1. Copy of an official identification (driver’s license or state issued ID) containing a photograph and signature;

  2. Copy of your social security card;

  3. Graduation Affidavit (form provided on web). Completed and submitted by College of Pharmacy or a copy of your FPGEC Certificate; and

  4. Copy of your birth certificate. Permanent Resident Card, naturalization paper or passport, may be substituted for birth certificate.

  5. If your name is different on any of the above documents, you must send a legal document of a court ordered change of name (i.e., marriage certificate).

  6. DO NOT CUT OUT COPIES, DO NOT LAMINATE, BLACK AND WHITE IS ALLOWED. PLACE ALL ON ONE SHEET IF YOU WISH.

[back to main content]

 

Certification of 1500 Pharmacist Intern Hours

Graduates from an ACPE accredited college of pharmacy may have internship hours reported on the Graduation affidavit (after July, 2007).

[back to main content]

 

Obtain Fingerprint Session

Applicants must complete a fingerprint session, unless fingerprinted with a different application type for TSBP within the past 36 months.  The fee for fingerprinting is less than $50. Fingerprint session instructions will be sent to the applicant via email after the application has been received by the board.  If you have submitted an application and did not receive the email, contact the Board at (512) 305-8000.  
Applicants (using an address) not located in Texas, will receive a packet in the mail with a fingerprint form and instructions sheet because the approved state vendor does not always allow a digital scan. The fingerprint packet is automatically mailed to the address provided on the application. Allow 2 to 3 weeks the packet to arrive via U.S. Postal Service.

[back to main content]

 

Processing Time- Allow 8 Weeks Before Contacting the Board

Applications are routinely reviewed and processed eight (8) weeks AFTER the date they are submitted. Do not contact TSBP staff to ask about the status of an application until at least 8 weeks has passed. All required items should be received prior to the review process, including registration for examinations via NAPB .

Upon review, the applicant will be notified if any items are missing via U.S. Postal Service. If an applicant answers “yes” to background questions, the application requires additional review by in-house enforcement staff. Once all required items are received and the applicant is considered eligible to take exam(s), TSBP will notify NABP.  [NABP will notify the testing center (Pearson VUE), the testing center will notify the applicant via email. The applicant schedules the exam(s).]

[back to main content]

 

Exam results are downloaded from NABP once a week. Pharmacist licenses are issued weekly as a group each Friday.
Licenses can be verified at: http://www.texas.pharmacy.gov/dbsearch/pht_search.asp.  If an applicant believes a license should have been issued, but cannot verify it online, they should check again the following Friday.

Exam results are available at: https://nabp.pharmacy/programs/mpje/score-results/ Passing an exam does not indicate that a license has been issued.  New pharmacists will receive a letter from TSBP, which may take 3 weeks to receive.

Failing the NAPLEX or MPJE will expire an intern registration according to Board Rule 283.4 (c)(2)(A)(ii).  Note: NABP requires a 45 day waiting period to retake the NAPLEX and a 30 day waiting period to retake the MPJE.   If an applicant fails an exam, TSBP will automatically mail out the required paper retake application.  Applicants are limited to five attempts to pass either exam.  Allow at least 3 weeks for the retake packet or further instructions to be received in the mail before contacting TSBP staff.

[back to main content]

 

License Issued for 30 days and must be renewed. Based on Rule 283.9, once an applicant has successfully completed all requirements for licensure, a license will be issued with a 30 day expiration date. The first renewal fee must be paid within the first 30 days of licensure.

 

 

You will need the Adobe Acrobat Reader to view some of our files
Click the "Get Acrobat" logo for software download and instructions:
getacro.gif (776 bytes)

For further information, contact the Pharmacist Licensing Division at 512/305-8000.