Pharmacists must complete and report 30 hours of approved CE obtained during the previous license period in order to renew their license to practice pharmacy. Any hours obtained in excess of the amount required to renew cannot be carried forward to the next license period.
Link to Board Rules for CE Requirements
To renew a license to practice pharmacy, a pharmacist must report on the renewal application completion of the required number of CE hours. The renewal application will indicate the number of CE hours a pharmacist must complete in order to be eligible to renew the license.
The period for completing and reporting CE hours for renewal of a pharmacist license is the time period between consecutive expiration dates of a license. For example, if the previous license expiration date was September 30, 2008, and the current expiration date is September 30, 2010, the CE reporting period is October 1, 2008 until September 30, 2010.
A pharmacist with an inactive license is not required to report any CE hours at the time of renewal. A pharmacist that has been recently licensed is exempt from reporting CE during the first renewal period following the initial application. Any CE requirements imposed upon a pharmacist as part of a board order or agreed board order shall be in addition to the hours required to renew the license.
For the most current information on approved continuing education programs, please refer to Rule 295.8 of the Texas Pharmacy Laws and Regulations.
Retention of Records
Pharmacists are required to maintain certificates of completion of approved continuing education for three years from the date of reporting the hours on a license renewal application. Do not send CE certificates to the board office unless requested.
The board has the authority to conduct an audit of pharmacist CE records for verification of reported CE credits. Upon written request, a pharmacist will be required to provide to the board copies of completion certificates for all CE hours reported during a specified time period. Failure to provide all requested records during a specified time period constitutes prima facie evidence of failure to keep and maintain records and may result in disciplinary action. A license would also be subject to disciplinary action if false or fraudulent records were submitted in response to an audit.
A pharmacist licensed by the Texas State Board of Pharmacy who is not practicing pharmacy in Texas and has not completed the required number of CE hours to renew the license, may choose the Inactive status at the time of license renewal.
HOW DO I PLACE MY LICENSE ON INACTIVE STATUS?
- Complete the application to renew your license.
- During the online renewal process or on a paper renewal application, request that your license status be changed to Inactive.
- The renewal fee for an Inactive license is the same fee as for an Active license.
HOW DO I REACTIVATE MY INACTIVE LICENSE?
- Contact the Board office at 512-305-8012 regarding the procedure for reactivating your license.
- Obtain certificates of completion for 30 hours of approved continuing education hours. Approved CE earned within two years prior to applying to return to active status may be applied toward the CE requirement.
- If the application for reactivation is made at a time other than the time of license renewal, the pharmacist is required to pay a $20 fee.
IMPORTANT THINGS TO REMEMBER
- To place a license on Inactive status, you must do so before the expiration date of the license.
- You may NOT practice pharmacy in Texas while your license is on inactive status.
- An inactive license must be renewed just like an active license.