PHARMACIST LICENSE BY RECIPROCITY
To Reciprocate a Pharmacist License from another state to Texas, use the instructions, applications form, and guides provided below.
IMPORTANT - - BEGIN BY READING THE DETAILED INSTRUCTIONS:
Based on Rule 283.9, once an applicant has successfully completed all requirements for licensure, a license will be issued with a 30 day expiration date. The first renewal fee must be paid within the first 30 days of licensure.
TO BE ELIGIBLE FOR PHARMACIST LICENSE BY RECIPROCITY IN TEXAS
(1) An applicant for licensure by reciprocity (licensure transfer) shall be of good moral character, provide satisfactory evidence that the age of 18 years has been obtained, and shall meet the following requirements:
(a) have graduated and received a professional practice degree, as defined by the rules adopted by the board, from an accredited pharmacy degree program approved by the board; Or
(b) have graduated from a foreign college of pharmacy and obtained full official certification from the FPGEC (Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Equivalency Committee).
(c) have possessed at the time of current or initial licensing as a pharmacist, other qualifications necessary to have been eligible for licensing at that time in this state;
(d) have presented to the board proof of current or initial licensing by examination and proof that the license and other license or licenses granted to the applicant by any other state have not been suspended, revoked, canceled, surrendered, or otherwise restricted for any reason; and
(e) passed the Texas Pharmacy Jurisprudence examination with a minimum grade of 75.
(2) A person who falsely makes the affidavit prescribed by the above section is guilty of fraudulent and dishonorable conduct and malpractice and is subject to all penalties that may be prescribed for making false affidavit.
(3) An applicant is not eligible for licensing by reciprocity unless the state in which the applicant was initially licensed as a pharmacist also grants reciprocal licensing to pharmacists duly licensed by examination in this state, under like circumstances and conditions.
THREE (3) APPLICATION FORMS REQUIRED
Registration Application to Take Multi-State Jurisprudence Examination - NABP.pharmacy (opens a new window).
You may register for exams now. Do not wait for TSBP to process your application.
MAIL SUPPLEMENTAL DOCUMENTS TO TSBP
Be sure to print your Texas application receipt page. You are required to submit a copy of your receipt with the following documents. (Fax copies will NOT be accepted).
Copy of an official identification (driver’s license or state issued ID) containing a photograph and signature;
Copy of your social security card;
Copy of your birth certificate. Permanent Resident Card, naturalization paper or passport, may be substituted for birth certificate.
If your name is different from any of the above documents, you must send a legal document of a court ordered change of name (i.e., marriage certificate).
Copy of FPGEC certificate. Required for all applicants who graduated from a college whose degree program is not accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmaceutical Education. Information is available online at: http://www.pharmacy.texas.gov/infocist/foreigngrad.asp
Submit a copy of the Texas application receipt with the documents listed above to:
FINGERPRINT SESSION REQUIRED: Applicants must complete a fingerprint session, unless fingerprinted with a different application type for TSBP within the past 36 months. The fee for fingerprinting is less than $50. Fingerprint session instructions will be sent to the applicant via email after the application has been received by the board. If you have submitted an application and did not receive the email, contact the Board at (512) 305-8000.
Applicants (using an address) not located in Texas, will receive a packet in the mail with a fingerprint form and instructions sheet because the approved state vendor does not always allow a digital scan. The fingerprint packet is automatically mailed to the address provided on the application. Allow 2 to 3 weeks the packet to arrive via U.S. Postal Service.
GUIDES FOR A SUCCESSFUL LICENSE TRANSFER PROCESS
Candidate's Guide To The Jurisprudence Examination (pdf).
An important guide containing competency objectives for Texas MPJE and information on obtaining study material.
NAPLEX – MPJE Registration Bulletin
Print this guide containing MPJE competency statements (blueprint), fees, testing information and more.
ALLOW EIGHT (8)WEEKS FOR YOUR APPLICATION TO BE PROCESSED
APPLICATION REVIEW AND PROCESSING
Applications are reviewed and processed in weekly batches, generally 8 weeks from the date an application was submitted. Applicants are asked to refrain from contacting the TSBP staff for a status of an application or receipt of supplemental documents until 6 weeks has past from date printed on the application receipt. Notifications are sent to applicants, in writing, of any missing supplemental documents at the time the application is reviewed. I At the time of review, if an application is complete, including exam fee to NABP, the staff will notify NABP that the applicant is “eligible” to take the exam. NABP will notify the testing center (Pearson VUE) and the testing center will notify the applicant via email (Authorized to Test – ATT).
INFORMATION REGARDING APPLICANTS WITH CRIMINAL HISTORY OR PRIOR DISCIPLINARY ACTION
Additional time is required for Enforcement division to review all application with anything on their background, including or prior disciplinary issues with government agency. This additional review may take a minimum of 90 days. If you have not received an authorization to test, and it is certain that the application file is complete of all requirements, and it has been more than 90 days, you may call 512-305-8070 and request a status of the Enforcement review.
Review information regarding criminal history, at: http://www.pharmacy.texas.gov/criminalhistory.asp
Examination scores are downloaded from NABP generally at the beginning of each week. Licenses are issued generally by the end of each week. Licenses can be verified at: http://www.pharmacy.texas.gov/dbsearch/pht_search.asp. If an applicant believes a license should have been issued, but cannot verify it online, they should check again the following Friday.
Exam results are available at: https://nabp.pharmacy/programs/mpje/score-results/ Passing an exam does not indicate that a license has been issued. New pharmacists will receive a letter from TSBP, which may take 3 weeks to receive.
NOTE: Applicants are limited to five attempts to pass either exam. NABP requires a 30 day waiting period to retake the MPJE. If an applicant fails an exam, TSBP will automatically mail out the required paper retake application. Allow at least 3 weeks for the retake packet or further instructions to be received in the mail before contacting TSBP staff.