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Texas State Board of Pharmacy 
Class A Pharmacist-in-Charge Training 

Webinar FAQs and Troubleshooting Tips 

• Test your sound – We will be doing periodic sound checks before the presentation begins. 

– If you do not have sound:  

• Click “Communicate” 

• Then click “Audio Conference” 

• Select “Use Phone” to call in by telephone 

Still having trouble? Call the helpdesk at any time during the presentation:  

1-866-569-3239 

• Receiving Credit 

– Look for the quiz and evaluation to be posted in your Lifelong Learning Account 5-7 days 
from now 

• An email notification will be sent to you when these are available 

– Complete these items to generate your certificate, which can be accessed at any time 
through your Lifelong Learning Account 

• Please note: This course is accepted by the Texas State Board of Pharmacy for both 
general credit and as fulfilling the law requirement. However, it is NOT ACPE certified 
and will not appear in your CPE Monitor account. 

PHARMACIST-IN-CHARGE TRAINING 

Allison Vordenbaumen Benz, R.Ph., M.S. 

Director of Professional Services 

Texas State Board of Pharmacy 

• Review the responsibilities of the pharmacist-in-
charge. 

• Review recent changes to the rules for Class A 
pharmacies.  

• Review the most common deficiencies found during 
inspections of pharmacies. 

Goals 
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Board of Pharmacy Members 

Jeanne D. Waggener, R.Ph. – 
President – Waco 

Christopher M. Dembny, R.Ph. 
– Vice President – 
Richardson 

Buford T. Abeldt, Sr., R.Ph. – 
Treasurer – Lufkin 

L. Suzan Kedron – Dallas 

Alice G. Mendoza, R.Ph. – 
Kingsville 

 

 

 

Bradley A. Miller, Ph.T.R. – 
Austin 

Phyllis A. Stine – Abilene 

Chip Thornsburg – San 
Antonio 

Suzette Tijerina, R.Ph. – 
Castle Hills 

Dennis F. Wiesner, R.Ph. 

 – Austin 

Jenny Downing Yoakum, 
R.Ph. – Kilgore 

 

5 

• To promote, preserve, and protect the public 
health, safety, and welfare by fostering the 
provision of quality pharmaceutical care to 
the citizens of Texas, through the regulation of 
the practice of pharmacy; the operation of 
pharmacies; and the distribution of 
prescription drugs in the public interest. 

 

TSBP Mission 
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Laws and Rules Governing the Practice of 
Pharmacy in Texas 

• Texas Pharmacy Act, Occupations Code, §§ 551 – 566, 568 – 569 
• Texas Pharmacy Rules 

– Chapter 281. Administrative Practice and Procedure 
– Chapter 283. Licensing Requirements for Pharmacists 
– Chapter 291. Pharmacies 
– Chapter 295. Pharmacists 
– Chapter 297. Pharmacy Technicians and Pharmacy Technician Trainees 
– Chapter 303. Destruction of Dangerous Drugs and Controlled Substances 
– Chapter 309. Generic Substitution 
– Chapter 311. Code of Conduct 

• Texas Controlled Substances Act and Rules 
• Texas Dangerous Drug Act 
• Texas Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act 

• Each Class A (Community) Pharmacy shall have 

- One PIC who is employed on a full-time basis, for 
only one Class A pharmacy: 

- unless the pharmacies are not open to provide 
pharmacy services simultaneously; or  

- during an emergency, up to two Class A 
pharmacies open simultaneously if the 
pharmacist-in-charge works at least 10 hours 
per week in each pharmacy for no more than a 
period of 30 consecutive days.  

 

Responsibilities of the PIC 
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Education and Training of Pharmacy Technicians 
and Pharmacy Technician Trainees 

• Pharmacy technicians and pharmacy technician 
trainees must be registered BEFORE they begin 
work in the pharmacy.   

• In addition, pharmacy technicians must renew 
that registration every 2-years and  CANNOT 
work with a delinquent registration.  

• Note: Pharmacy technician trainee registrations expire after 2-
years and cannot be renewed. 

 

Education and Training of Pharmacy Technicians 
and Pharmacy Technician Trainees 

• Pharmacy technicians and pharmacy technician trainees shall complete 
initial training as outlined by the pharmacist-in-charge in a training 
manual. 

• This training may not be transferred to another pharmacy unless:  

– the pharmacies are under common ownership and control and have a 
common training program; and  

– the pharmacist-in-charge of each pharmacy in which the pharmacy 
technician or pharmacy technician trainee works certifies that the 
pharmacy technician or pharmacy technician trainee is competent to 
perform the duties assigned in that pharmacy.  

Education and Training of Pharmacy Technicians 
and Pharmacy Technician Trainees 

• The pharmacist-in-charge shall assure the continuing 
competency of pharmacy technicians and pharmacy 
technician trainees through in-service education and training 
to supplement initial training.  

• The pharmacist-in-charge shall document the completion of 
the training program and certify the competency of pharmacy 
technicians and pharmacy technician trainees completing the 
training.  
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Education and Training of Pharmacy Technicians 
and Pharmacy Technician Trainees 

• A written record of initial and in-service training of pharmacy 

technicians/trainees shall be maintained and contain the following information: 

– name of the person receiving the training;  

– date(s) of the training;  

– general description of the topics covered;  

– a statement that certifies that the pharmacy technician/trainee is competent to 
perform the duties assigned;  

– name of the person supervising the training; and  

– signature of the pharmacy technician/trainee and the pharmacist-in-charge or other 
pharmacist employed by the pharmacy and designated by the pharmacist-in-charge 

as responsible for training of pharmacy technicians/trainees.  

 

Education and Training of Pharmacy Technicians 
and Pharmacy Technician Trainees 

• Pharmacy technician/trainee training shall be outlined in a training 
manual.  

• Such training manual shall, at a minimum, contain the following:  

– written procedures and guidelines for the use and supervision of 
pharmacy technicians/trainees. Such procedures and guidelines shall:  

• specify the manner in which the pharmacist responsible for the 
supervision of pharmacy technicians and pharmacy technician 
trainees will supervise such personnel and verify the accuracy and 
completeness of all acts, tasks, and functions performed by such 
personnel; and  

• specify duties which may and may not be performed by pharmacy 
technicians and pharmacy technician trainees; 

Education and Training of Pharmacy Technicians 
and Pharmacy Technician Trainees 

• instruction in the following areas and any additional areas appropriate to 
the duties of pharmacy technicians/trainees in the pharmacy: 

– Orientation; 

– Job descriptions;  

– Communication techniques;  

– Laws and rules;  

– Security and safety;  

– Prescription drugs: 

• Basic pharmaceutical nomenclature;  

• Dosage forms;  
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Education and Training of Pharmacy Technicians 
and Pharmacy Technician Trainees 

– Drug orders:  

• Prescribers;  

• Directions for use;  

• Commonly-used abbreviations and symbols;  

• Number of dosage units;  

• Strengths and systems of measurement;   

• Routes of administration;  

• Frequency of administration; and  

• Interpreting directions for use;  

Education and Training of Pharmacy Technicians 
and Pharmacy Technician Trainees 

– Drug order preparation:  

• Creating or updating patient medication records;  

• Entering drug order information into the computer or typing the label in 
a manual system;  

• Selecting the correct stock bottle;  

• Accurately counting or pouring the appropriate quantity of drug 
product;  

• Selecting the proper container;  

• Affixing the prescription label;  

• Affixing auxiliary labels, if indicated; and  

• Preparing the finished product for inspection and final check by 
pharmacists;  

Education and Training of Pharmacy Technicians 
and Pharmacy Technician Trainees 

•  Other functions;  

•  Drug product prepackaging;  

•  Written policy and guidelines for use of and supervision of pharmacy 
technicians and pharmacy technician trainees;  

•  Confidential patient medication records; and 

• Pharmacy technicians/trainees compounding non-sterile shall meet the 
training and education requirements specified in §291.131 (regarding 
Pharmacies Compounding Non-sterile Preparations) 
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Procurement of Prescription Drugs and Devices and 
Other Products Dispensed from the Pharmacy 

• Any drug or device bearing an expiration date shall not be 
dispensed beyond the expiration date of the drug or device.  

– Outdated drugs or devices shall be removed from 
dispensing stock and shall be quarantined together until 
such drugs or devices are disposed of properly. 

• Class A Pharmacies may not sell, purchase, trade or possess 
prescription drug samples. 

Disposal and Distribution of Drugs  
from the Pharmacy 

Chapter 303 outlines the requirements for the 
destruction of dangerous drugs and controlled 
substances.  

DEA changes effective:  October 9, 2014. 

Authorizes certain DEA registrants, including 
pharmacies to become authorized collectors (Note: 
this will require modification of the DEA registration 
to obtain authorization to be a collector).  

Authorizes pharmacies to operate collection 
receptacles at long-term care facilities. 

 

Storage of all Materials, Including Drugs, 
Chemicals, and Biologicals 

• Prescription drugs and devices shall be stored within the 
prescription department or a locked storage area.  

• All drugs shall be stored at the proper temperatures as 
defined in the USP/NF. 

• The temperature of the pharmacy shall be maintained within 
a range compatible with the proper storage of drugs.  

• The temperature of the refrigerator shall be maintained 
within a range compatible with the proper storage of drugs 
requiring refrigeration. 
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Maintaining Records of all  
Transactions of the Pharmacy 

• §291.34 regarding Records 

– Every record must be kept by the pharmacy for at 

least 2 years from the date of the record and be 

available to the Texas State Board of Pharmacy within 

72 hours if requested.   

– Records of Schedule II controlled substances shall be 

maintained separately.  

– Records of Schedule III – V controlled substances 

shall be maintained separately or readily retrievable 

from all other records of the pharmacy.  

Maintaining Records of all  

Transactions of the Pharmacy 

• Inventory Records 

– The PIC is responsible for taking an initial inventory 

on the opening day of business; however, the PIC 

may delegate this to another individual.  

– The inventory must include all controlled substances.   

 

Maintaining Records of all  

Transactions of the Pharmacy 

• Change of PIC 

– When a change of PIC occurs, the required 
inventory must be taken on the date of the 
change. The inventory must include all controlled 
substances.  

– The PIC must notify the Board that a change of PIC 
has occurred and that the inventory was taken.  

– This information must be reported to the Board 
within 10 days.  

 



Texas State Board of Pharmacy January 20, 2016 

Class A PIC Training 9 

Maintaining Records of all  

Transactions of the Pharmacy 

• An annual inventory must be taken on May 1 of each 
year or on the pharmacy’s general physical inventory 
date. The inventory may be taken within 4 days of 
the specified inventory date and must include all 
controlled substances.  

• The inventory must be signed by the PIC and 
notarized within 3 working days of completing the 
inventory.  

 

Maintaining Records of all  

Transactions of the Pharmacy 

• Inventories must be filed separately from all 
other records in the pharmacy and be 
available for inspection by the Board for 2 
years.  

 

Security of the Pharmacy 

• Each pharmacist while on duty shall be responsible for the security of the 
prescription department. 

• The prescription department shall be locked by key, combination or other 
mechanical or electronic means to prohibit unauthorized access. 

• If the prescription department is closed at any time when the rest of the 
facility is open, the prescription department must be physically or 
electronically secured.  

• The security may be accomplished by means such as floor to ceiling walls; 
walls, partitions, or barriers at least 9 feet 6 inches high; electronically 
monitored motion detectors; pull down sliders; or other systems or 
technologies that will secure the pharmacy from unauthorized entrance 
when the pharmacy is closed.  
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Security of the Pharmacy 

• The theft or significant loss of any controlled substance by a  
pharmacy must be reported in writing to the Board immediately 
upon discovery. This information may be submitted on a copy of the 
Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) report of theft or loss of 
controlled substances, DEA Form 106, or by submitting a list of all 
controlled substances stolen or lost. 

•  In addition, a pharmacy shall report in writing to the Board 
immediately upon discovery, the theft or significant loss of any 
dangerous (non-controlled) drug by submitting a list of the name 
and quantity of all dangerous drugs stolen or lost. 

 

 

• The pharmacist-in-charge shall report to the board in writing any 
significant loss of information from the data processing system within 10 
days of discovery of the loss.   

• The pharmacy shall maintain a backup copy of information stored in the 
data processing system to assure that data is not lost due to system 
failure.  

• A pharmacy that changes or discontinues the use of a data processing 
system must transfer the records of dispensing to the new data processing 
system or purge the records of dispensing to a printout which contains the 
same information required on the daily printout.   

 

Data Processing System 

Legal Operation of the Pharmacy 

• A pharmacy must open and be in operation with a sufficient number of 
transactions within 6 months of the of issuance of the pharmacy’s license. 

• Inspections 

- The Texas Pharmacy Act, Chapter 556, authorizes the Board to enter 
and inspect pharmacies.   

- The Board agent will state the purpose of the inspection, present 
appropriate credentials, and a written notice of the authority for 
inspection.  

- It is grounds for discipline of a pharmacist’s license for obstructing a 

Board agent in the lawful performance of duties of enforcing the Act. 
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Automated Dispensing Systems 

• Consulting with the owner concerning and adherence to the policies and 
procedures for system operation, safety, security, accuracy and access, 
patient confidentiality, prevention of unauthorized access, and 
malfunction 

• Inspecting medications in the automated dispensing system, at least 
monthly, for expiration date, misbranding, physical integrity, security, and 
accountability 

• Assigning, discontinuing, or changing personnel access to the automated 
pharmacy dispensing system 

 

 

Automated Dispensing Systems 

 

• Ensuring that pharmacy technicians/trainees, performing any services in 
connection with an automated dispensing system have been properly 
trained on the use of the system and can demonstrate comprehensive 
knowledge of the written policies and procedures for operation of the 
system 

• Ensuring that the automated dispensing system is stocked accurately and 
an accountability record is maintained in accordance with the written 
policies and procedures of operation 

 

 

Closing a Pharmacy 

• When a pharmacy closes, the pharmacist-in-charge (PIC) shall forward to 
the Board, within 10 days, the following items:  

 - written notice of the closing which includes the actual date of closing;  

 - pharmacy license; 

 - statement attesting that the required inventory has been conducted and 
the manner by which the drugs possessed by the pharmacy were 
transferred or disposed; and  

 - location of all records belonging to the pharmacy (e.g., if prescription 
records were transferred to another pharmacy, give name and address of 
pharmacy). 
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Class A Pharmacies 

 

Effective Date:  December 7, 2014. 

Patient counseling must be provided to new and 
existing patients of a pharmacy with each new 
prescription drug order.  

A new prescription drug order is one that has not 
been dispensed by the pharmacy to the patient in 
the same dosage and strength within the last year.  

 

Patient Counseling Regulations 

Written information may now be provided to 
the patient in an electronic format, such as by 
e-mail, if: 

–The patient or patient's agent requests the 
information in an electronic format; and  

–The pharmacy documents the request.  

Patient Counseling Regulations 
(cont). 
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• Eliminated the requirement for a pharmacy to: 

– Offer counseling on a refill prescription; and 

– Post a sign that said "Do you have questions about 
your prescription? Ask the pharmacist."  

 

Patient Counseling Regulations 
(cont). 

Effective Date: December 7, 2014. 

Updated the transfer regulations to allow for the: 

– Electronic transfer of records;  

– Electronic transfer of multiple or bulk prescription 
records between two pharmacies; and 

– Match DEA’s regulations.  

Transfer of Prescription 
Information 

Rules Adopted by the Board at the 

November 3, 2015 Meeting 
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Grounds for Discipline 

• Effective Date: December 7, 2015 

• It is a ground for discipline of a pharmacist or 
pharmacy technician if the individual exhibits 
abusive, intimidating, or threatening behavior 
toward a board member or employee during the 
performance of a member’s or employee’s lawful 
duties.  
 

Pharmacist-in-Charge 

• Effective Date:  December 7, 2015 

• A pharmacist-in-charge (PIC) of a Class A 
Pharmacy may not also be the PIC of a: 

–Class B Pharmacy; or  

–Class C Pharmacy in a hospital with 101 
beds or more. 

Administration of  
Immunizations and Vaccines 

• Effective Date: December 7, 2015 

• Before preparing an immunization/vaccine and between 
each patient contact: 

– Pharmacist must: 

• cleanse their hands with an alcohol-based 
waterless antiseptic hand rub; or 

• wash their hands with soap and water.  

– If gloves are worn, pharmacists must change gloves 
between patients.  
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Conditions Receiving  
"Warning Notices"  

FY2014 

Class FY2014 
% of FY2014 

Inspections 

Class A Pharmacies 1,181 69% 

Class A-S 4 <1% 

Class B Pharmacies 3 <1% 

Class C Pharmacies 447 26% 

Class C-S 4 <1% 

Class D Pharmacies 57 3% 

Class F Pharmacies 5 <1% 

Class G Pharmacies 5 <1% 

Totals 1,706 100% 

Number of Inspections 

Class 
# Pharmacies Receiving 

WN 
% Receiving WN 

Class A 537 61% 

Class A-S 3 <1% 

Class B 0 N/A 

Class C 316 36% 

Class C-S 4 <1% 

Class D 18 2% 

Class F 2 <1% 

Class G 0 N/A 

Totals 880 100% 

Warning Notices 
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Violation 
Number of WN 

Issued* 
% of Total 

WN 

Sterile Product 855 29% 

Pharmacy Technician 398 14% 

Records 273 9% 

Drug Stock/Environment 272 9% 

Prescriptions 160 5% 

Inventory 156 5% 

OBRA 152 5% 

* One pharmacy may receive multiple Warning Notice violations. 

Most Common Warning Notices  
(All Classes of Pharmacy) 

Condition 
Number of WN 

Issued 
Total 

Sterile Product 855 

 No/Incomplete QA/QC 140 

 No/Incomplete P&P Manual 128 

 No/Inadequate Preparation Area 370 

 IV Preparation 196 

 No DUR 14 

 Cytoxic/Bio Procedures 7 

Most Common Warning Notices  
(All Classes of Pharmacy)  cont. 

Condition 
Number of WN 

Issued 
Total 

Pharmacy Technicians 398 

No/Incomplete Training 367 

 No/Improper Supervision 10 

 Improper Registration 16 

No Name Tags 5 

Most Common Warning Notices  
(All Classes of Pharmacy)  cont. 
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Condition 
Number of WN 

Issued 
Total 

Records 273 

 Records Not Available 90 

 Absence of R.Ph. Record 15 

 Rx Not Separated 7 

 Rx Records Not Numerical Order 5 

 Improper Transfer of RX copies 5 

Invoices Not Separated/Retrievable 52 

Records for Non-Sterile Compounds 77 

 No Written Information on RX 22 

Most Common Warning Notices  
(All Classes of Pharmacy)  cont. 

Condition 
Number of WN 

Issued 
Total 

Drug Stock/Environment 272 

Improper Environment 101 

Out-of-Date Drug Stock 83 

Security 36 

Unsanitary 30 

Improper Drug Storage 16 

 Area for Non-Sterile Compounding 2 

Violation of Limited Formulary 4 

Most Common Warning Notices  
(All Classes of Pharmacy)  cont. 

Condition 
Number of WN 

Issued 
Total 

Prescriptions 160 

 Lack Proper Information 77 

Prescription Label Incorrect 68 

 Official Rx Non-Compliance 15 

Most Common Warning Notices  
(All Classes of Pharmacy)  cont. 
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Condition 
Number of WN 

Issued 
Total 

Inventory 156 

No Annual Inventory 47 

 No Change of Ownership Inventory 6 

No Change of PIC Inventory 32 

Incomplete Inventory 68 

 No Perpetual inventory (Class C) 2 

 Improper Drug Destruction 1 

Most Common Warning Notices  
(All Classes of Pharmacy)  cont. 

Condition 
Number of WN 

Issued 
Total 

OBRA 152 

Written Information Not Provided 22 

No Patient Counseling 117 

PMR Absent or Incomplete 13 

Most Common Warning Notices  
(All Classes of Pharmacy)  cont. 

Violations NOT Resulting  
in Warning Notices 

Individuals performing technician duties without an 
active registration. 

Technicians performing technician duties with no 
pharmacist on site. 

Technicians performing pharmacist-only duties with 
no pharmacist on site (results in emergency 
temporary suspension hearing). 

Pharmacists who do not verbally counsel a patient 
on a new prescription. 
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Violations NOT Resulting  
in Warning Notices 

• Pharmacy is not able to produce 2 consecutive 
annual inventories. 

• PIC falsifies response to a Warning Notice. 

• Pharmacies dispensing/shipping prescription drugs 
into other states without holding a pharmacy license 
in that state. 

• Pharmacies compounding sterile preparations 
without proper licensure (e.g., Class A who should 
have a Class A-S pharmacy license). 

 
 

Violations NOT Resulting  
in Warning Notices 

• Egregious Conditions  

– Dispensing CIIs pursuant to prescriptions not issued 

on an Official Form;  

– Excessive quantity of out-of-date stock (i.e., more 

than 25% of the inventory);  

– Pharmacy closed and did not notify TSBP of closing;  

– Operating without a PIC for an extended period of 

time (i.e., 3 months or more). 

 

Violations NOT Resulting  
in Warning Notices 

• Continuing threat – For example: 

– Impaired pharmacist on duty; or  

– Sterile compounding pharmacies who have extensive 

non-compliance with Board Rule 291.133 and will not 

voluntarily agree to “cease and desist” sterile 

compounding until conditions have been corrected.   

• Both of these scenarios would result in an Emergency 

Temporary Suspension Hearing. 
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Pharmacy Related Legislation Passed by 
the 2015 Legislature 

S.B. 195 by Sen. Schwertner 

• Effective Date:  6/20/2015 for some provisions and 9/1/2016 for others. 

• This bill: 

– Allows the Board, on or after 6/20/2015 to: 

• Adopt rules to implement the PMP and certain other provisions 
related to prescriptions in the Controlled Substances Act. 

• Sign a contract with a vendor to operate the PMP. 

• Call a meeting of the Prescription Monitoring Work Group. 

 

S.B. 195 by Sen. Schwertner 
(cont.) 

• On 9/1/2016: 

– The Board will establish a program to fund the Prescription Monitoring 
Program (PMP) though a surcharge on the license fees of persons 
authorized to access the PMP.  

– The PMP is transferred from the DPS to TSBP. 

– The Controlled Substance Registration program is abolished. 
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S.B. 460 by Sen. Schwertner 

• Effective Date:  9/1/2015. 

• This bill amends the Pharmacy Act to: 

– Allow the Board to inspect financial records relating to the operation 
of a pharmacy only in the course of an investigation of a specific 
complaint. 

– Require a pharmacy to file an application to change location at least 
30-days prior to the move. 

 
 

S.B. 460 by Sen. Schwertner 
(cont.) 

Amends the Pharmacy Act to: 

– Eliminate the Generic Substitution Sign and modify the requirement 
for the Complaint Notification to allow electronic posting.. 

– Specify that a pharmacy license may not be renewed if it has expired 
for 91 days or more. 

 

 

 

 

S.B. 460 by Sen. Schwertner 
(cont.) 

Amends the Pharmacy Act for Class E Pharmacies to: 

– Allow the Board to discipline the pharmacy if it has been disciplined in 
their state. 

– Prohibit a person from owning the pharmacy if their R.Ph. license was 
revoked, suspended, restricted, surrendered in another state. 

– Require the pharmacy to have a Texas licensed pharmacist serve as 
the PIC for the Texas license. 
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H.B. 751 by Rep. Zerwas 

Effective Date:  9/1/2015. 

The bill allows the substitution of interchangeable biological products. 

Interchangeable biological products are those rated equivalent by FDA 
(Orange Book and the Purple Book). 

H.B. 751 by Rep. Zerwas (cont.) 

• The bill specifies that not later than the 3rd business day after dispensing 
the R.Ph. must “communicate” to the prescribing Dr. the name of the 
product provided and the manufacturer or NDC number. 

• The bill outlines several methods to notify the prescriber. 

 

H.B. 751 by Rep. Zerwas (cont.) 

• Notification is not required if: 

– There is no interchangeable biological product approved by FDA; or 

– A refill prescription is not changed from the product dispensed on the 
prior dispensing. 

• The notification section of the bill expires on 9/1/2019. 
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H. B. 1550 by Zerwas/Kolkhorst 

Effective Date:  9/1/2015. 

This bill amends the Pharmacy Act to: 

Allow a R.Ph.s to administer epinephrine, using an auto-injector, to a 
patient in an emergency situation. 

Specify a R.Ph. may not receive remuneration for the administration of 
epinephrine but may seek reimbursement for the cost of the 
epinephrine auto-injector. 

H. B. 1550 by Zerwas/Kolkhorst 
(cont.) 

This bill amends the Pharmacy Act to: 

– Specify that a R.Ph. who administers epinephrine through an auto-
injector device is not liable for civil damages if the pharmacist acts in 
good faith and complies with Board rules. 

Current Issues 
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Sunset Review 

• Texas Pharmacy Act, Sec. 551.005. Application of Sunset Act. 

– The Texas State Board of Pharmacy is subject to Chapter 325, 
Government Code (Texas Sunset Act). Unless continued in existence as 
provided by that chapter, the board is abolished and this subtitle 
expires September 1, 2017. 

Sunset Review Time Line 

• August 2015.  

– TSBP prepares a Self-Evaluation Report. 

• October 2015 – March 2016. 

– Sunset staff reviews the agency.  

• Late March 2016. 

– Sunset’s confidential report issued followed by a joint meeting with 
TSBP to discuss recommendations, followed by Sunset’s formal 
request for agency written response. 

Sunset Review Time Line (cont.) 

• April 2016. 

– Sunset staff report published. 
• May 2016.   

– Sunset Commission holds a public hearing to receive public 
comment on the agency. 

• Summer 2016.  

– Commission decisions are issued. 
• January – May 2017.  

– 2017 Legislative Session 
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TSBP Website 

www.pharmacy.texas.gov 
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• For more specific information on 
these requirements, refer to the 
Board Rules located on the TSBP 
website:  

 

www.pharmacy.texas.gov 

 

 

 

• If you have additional compliance-related questions, please call the TSBP 
Compliance Line at 512-305-8070. 

 

 

• If you would like a copy of today’s presentation slides, they are currently 
posted in your Lifelong Learning Account.  

 

Trouble accessing your Lifelong Learning Account?  

Call the help desk: 

1-800-215-0641 

Select Option 1 
 

 

Final Reminders (Part I) 

• Receiving Credit 

– Look for the quiz and evaluation to be posted in your Lifelong Learning Account 5-7 days 
from now 

• An email notification will be sent to you when these are available 

– You will have 30 days from the date they are posted to complete them. 

– Complete these items to generate your certificate, which can be accessed at any time 
through your Lifelong Learning Account. 

Trouble accessing your Lifelong Learning Account?  

Questions about your attendance? 

Call the help desk: 

1-800-215-0641 

Select Option 1 

 

Please note: This course is accepted by the Texas State Board of Pharmacy for both general 
credit and as fulfilling the law requirement. However, it is NOT ACPE certified and will not 
appear in your CPE Monitor account. 

Final Reminders (Part II) 

http://www.tsbp.state.tx.us/
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Thank You! 

Thank you for your attendance! 

 

If you have any additional questions about 

the content presented today,  

please email us at: 
 

educationcoordinator@pharmacy.texas.gov 


