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Texas State Board of Pharmacy 

Laws and Rules Update 

Webinar FAQs and Troubleshooting Tips 
• Test your sound – We will be doing periodic sound checks before the 

presentation begins. 

– If you do not have sound:  

• Click “Communicate” 

• Then click “Audio Conference” 

• Select “Use Phone” to call in by telephone 

Still having trouble? Call the helpdesk at any time during the presentation:  

1-866-569-3239 

• Receiving Credit 

– Look for the quiz and evaluation to be posted in your Lifelong Learning Account 5-
7 days from now 

• An email notification will be sent to you when these are available 

– Complete these items to generate your certificate, which can be accessed at any 
time through your Lifelong Learning Account 

• Please note: This course is accepted by the Texas State Board of Pharmacy 
for both general credit and as fulfilling the law requirement. However, it is 
NOT ACPE certified and will not appear in your CPE Monitor account. 

 
 

Allison Vordenbaumen Benz, R.Ph., M.S. 

Director of Professional Services 

May 19, 2016 

Texas Pharmacy Law Update 

Goals 

Review recent changes to pharmacy rules; 

Review the most common Warning Notices 

Issued to Pharmacies; 

Review pharmacy related legislation passed 

by the 2015 Legislature; and  

Review some current issues facing the 

Board. 
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Recently Adopted Rules 
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Grounds for Discipline 

Effective Date: December 6, 2015. 

It is a ground for discipline of a 

pharmacist or pharmacy technician if the 

individual exhibits abusive, intimidating, or 

threatening behavior toward a board 

member or employee during the 

performance of a member’s or 

employee’s lawful duties.  

 

Grounds for Discipline 

Effective Date: March 10, 2016. 

It is a ground for discipline of a pharmacy 

license if the owner, managing officer(s), 

or other pharmacy employee(s) exhibits 

abusive, intimidating, or threatening 

behavior toward a board member or 

employee during the performance of a 

member’s or employee’s lawful duties.  

 

Pharmacist-in-Charge 

Effective Date:  December 6, 2015. 

A pharmacist-in-charge (PIC) of a Class A 

Pharmacy may not also be the PIC of a: 

– Class B Pharmacy; or  

– Class C Pharmacy in a hospital with 101 beds 

or more. 
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Administration of  

Immunizations and Vaccines 

Effective Date:  December 6, 2015. 

Before preparing an immunization/vaccine 

and between each patient contact: 

– Pharmacist must: 

 cleanse their hands with an alcohol-based 

waterless antiseptic hand rub; or 

 wash their hands with soap and water.  

– If gloves are worn, pharmacists must change 

gloves between patients.  

Rules Adopted by the Board  

at the May 3, 2016 Meeting 

Will become effective in late May or early 

June 2016. 

The transfer of prescriptions must be 

completed within four business hours of 

the request.  

 

Pharmacists and Pharmacy 

Technicians 
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Pharmacist’s Continuing Education 

Effective Date:  March 17, 2013. 

Pharmacists can receive credit for 

programs approved by AMA as Category 

1 CME. 

Pharmacists must report 1-hour of CE 

related to Texas Pharmacy Laws or 

Regulations on renewals received after 

1/1/15.  

Pharmacy Technician’s  

Continuing Education 

Effective Date: June 12, 2013. 

Pharmacy Technicians must report 1-hour 

of CE related to Texas Pharmacy Laws or 

Regulations on renewals received after 

1/1/15.  

 

Pharmacy Technician’s  

Continuing Education (cont.) 

Effective Date: September 14, 2015. 

Amendments to §297.8 (Continuing 

Education) rules to: 

– Decrease the number of in-service hours from 

10 to 5 hours; 

– Clarify the requirements for CE; and  

– Clarify the types of programs that count for 

continuing education. 
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Licensing Fee Changes 

License 
Renewal Fee  

Effective October 1, 2015 
Change 

Pharmacist $276 $25 decrease 

Pharmacies $452 $80 decrease 

Pharmacy Technicians $77 $19 decrease 

Pharmacy Technician 

Trainees 
$52 $10 decrease 

 

 

 

 

 

Conditions Receiving 

"Warning Notices" FY2015 

Number of Inspections 

Class FY2015 
% of FY2015 

Inspections 

Class A Pharmacies 2,275 76% 

Class A-S 144 5% 

Class B Pharmacies 5 <1% 

Class C Pharmacies 268 9% 

Class C-S 128 4% 

Class D Pharmacies 95 3% 

Class F Pharmacies 61 2% 

Class G Pharmacies 15 <1% 

Totals 2,991 100% 
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Warning Notices 

Class 
# Pharmacies 

Receiving WN 
% Receiving WN 

Class A 992 77% 

Class A-S 84 6% 

Class B 2 <1% 

Class C 80 6% 

Class C-S 87 7% 

Class D 31 2% 

Class F 17 1% 

Class G 0 N/A 

Totals 1,293 100% 

Most Common Warning Notices  

(All Classes of Pharmacy) 

Violation 
Number of WN 

Issued* 

Records 731 

Sterile Preparations 647 

Pharmacy Technicians 564 

Drug/Stock Environment 421 

Prescriptions 335 

Inventory 319 

* One pharmacy may receive multiple Warning Notice 

violations. 

Most Common Warning Notices  

(All Classes of Pharmacy)  cont. 

Condition 
Number of WN 

Issued 
Total 

Records 731 

 Records Not Available 314 

 Absence of R.Ph. Record 66 

 Rx Not Separated 17 

 Rx Records Not Numerical Order 25 

 Improper Transfer of RX copies 3 

Invoices Not Separated/Retrievable 122 

Records for Non-Sterile 

Compounds 
169 

 No Written Information on RX 10 



Texas Pharmacy Laws and Rules Update May 19, 2016 

Texas State Board of Pharmacy 8 

Most Common Warning Notices  

(All Classes of Pharmacy)  cont. 

Condition 
Number of 

WN Issued 
Total 

Sterile Preparations 647 

 No/Incomplete QA/QC 99 

 No/Incomplete P&P Manual 237 

 No/Inadequate Preparation Area 165 

 IV Preparation 131 

 No DUR 13 

 Cytoxic/Bio Procedures 2 

Most Common Warning Notices  

(All Classes of Pharmacy)  cont. 

Condition 
Number of 

WN Issued 
Total 

Pharmacy Technicians 564 

No/Incomplete Training 510 

 No/Improper Supervision 19 

 Improper Registration 29 

No Name Tags 6 

Most Common Warning Notices  

(All Classes of Pharmacy)  cont. 

Condition 
Number of 

WN Issued 
Total 

Drug Stock/Environment 421 

Improper Environment 137 

Out-of-Date Drug Stock 158 

Security 65 

Unsanitary 32 

Improper Drug Storage 20 

 Area for Non-Sterile Compounding 7 

Violation of Limited Formulary 2 
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Most Common Warning Notices  

(All Classes of Pharmacy)  cont. 

Condition 
Number of 

WN Issued 
Total 

Prescriptions 335 

 Lack Proper Information 159 

Prescription Label Incorrect 136 

 Official Rx Non-Compliance 40 

Most Common Warning Notices  

(All Classes of Pharmacy)  cont. 

Condition 
Number of 

WN Issued 
Total 

Inventory 319 

No Annual Inventory 84 

 No Change of Ownership Inventory 5 

No Change of PIC Inventory 35 

Incomplete Inventory 194 

 Improper Drug Destruction 1 

Violations NOT Resulting  

in Warning Notices 

Individuals performing technician duties without 

an active registration. 

Technicians performing technician duties with 

no pharmacist on site. 

Technicians performing pharmacist-only duties 

with no pharmacist on site (results in 

emergency temporary suspension hearing). 

Pharmacists who do not verbally counsel a 

patient on a new prescription. 
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Violations NOT Resulting  

in Warning Notices 

Pharmacy is not able to produce 2 consecutive 

annual inventories. 

PIC falsifies response to a Warning Notice. 

Pharmacies dispensing/shipping prescription 

drugs into other states without holding a 

pharmacy license in that state. 

Pharmacies compounding sterile preparations 

without proper licensure (e.g., Class A who 

should have a Class A-S pharmacy license). 

 

 

Violations NOT Resulting  

in Warning Notices 

Egregious Conditions  

– Dispensing CIIs pursuant to prescriptions not 

issued on an Official Form;  

– Excessive quantity of out-of-date stock (i.e., 

more than 25% of the inventory);  

– Pharmacy closed and did not notify TSBP of 

closing;  

– Operating without a PIC for an extended 

period of time (i.e., 3 months or more). 

 

Violations NOT Resulting  

in Warning Notices 

Continuing threat – For example: 

– Impaired pharmacist on duty; or  

– Sterile compounding pharmacies who have 

extensive non-compliance with Board Rule 

291.133 and will not voluntarily agree to 

“cease and desist” sterile compounding until 

conditions have been corrected.   

Both of these scenarios would result in an 

Emergency Temporary Suspension Hearing. 
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Pharmacy Related 

Legislation Passed by the 

2015 Legislature 

   32 

S.B. 195 by Sen. Schwertner 

This bill: 

Moves the Prescription Monitoring 

Program from the Department of Public 

Safety (DPS) to the Board of Pharmacy; 

and 

Eliminates the Texas Controlled 

Substance Registration program. 

 

Timeline for Transfer of the PMP Program 

November 2015 – RFP for the new PMP 

issued by TSBP. 

January 2016 – Appriss selected as the 

vendor. 

February – May 2016 – System installation 

at TSBP. 

May/June 2016 –Testing of program. 

September 1, 2016 – NEW PMP goes live. 
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H. B. 1550 by Zerwas/Kolkhorst 

Effective Date:  9/1/2015. 

– Rules adopted by the Board in February 

2016. 

 §295.16 Administration of Epinephrine by a 

Pharmacist. 

This bill amends the Pharmacy Act to: 

– Allow a pharmacists to administer 

epinephrine, using an auto-injector, to a 

patient in an emergency situation. 

H. B. 1550 by Zerwas/Kolkhorst 
(cont.) 

This bill amends the Pharmacy Act to: 

– Specify a pharmacist: 

 May not receive remuneration for the 

administration of epinephrine but may seek 

reimbursement for the cost of the epinephrine 

auto-injector. 

 Who administers epinephrine through an auto-

injector device is not liable for civil damages if the 

pharmacist acts in good faith and complies with 

Board rules. 
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Current Issues 

Sunset Review 

Texas Pharmacy Act, Sec. 551.005. 

Application of Sunset Act. 

– The Texas State Board of Pharmacy is subject 

to Chapter 325, Government Code (Texas 

Sunset Act). Unless continued in existence as 

provided by that chapter, the board is 

abolished and this subtitle expires September 

1, 2017. 

Sunset Review Time Line 

August 2015.  

– TSBP prepares a Self-Evaluation Report. 

October 2015 – March 2016. 

– Sunset staff reviews the agency.  

Late March 2016. 

– Sunset’s confidential report issued followed by 

a joint meeting with TSBP to discuss 

recommendations, followed by Sunset’s 

formal request for agency written response. 
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Sunset Review Time Line (cont.) 

April 2016. 
– Sunset staff report published. 

June 23-24, 2016.   
– Sunset Commission holds a public hearing to receive 

public comment on the agency. 

Summer 2016.  
– Commission decisions are issued. 

January – May 2017.  
– 2017 Legislative Session 

TSBP Website 

www.pharmacy.texas.gov 

 

http://www.pharmacy.texas.gov/
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Receiving Credit 

– Look for the quiz and evaluation to be posted in your Lifelong Learning Account 5-

7 days from now 

 An email notification will be sent to you when these are available 

– You will have 30 days from the date they are posted to complete them. 

– Complete these items to generate your certificate, which can be accessed at any 

time through your Lifelong Learning Account. 

Trouble accessing your Lifelong Learning Account?  

Questions about your attendance? 

Call the help desk: 

1-800-215-0641 

Select Option 1 

 

Please note: This course is accepted by the Texas State Board of Pharmacy for both 

general credit and as fulfilling the law requirement. However, it is NOT ACPE 

certified and will not appear in your CPE Monitor account. 

Final Reminders 

Thank You! 

Thank you for your attendance! 

 

If you have additional compliance-related questions, please call the 

TSBP Compliance Line at 512-305-8070. 

 

For questions about today’s presentation, please email us at: 

 

educationcoordinator@pharmacy.texas.gov 


