
  
Pharmacist License Renewal 

 
Governor Greg Abbott has declared a state of disaster in Texas due to COVID-19 (coronavirus). 
  
The laws and rules governing the practice of pharmacy in Texas require pharmacists to comply with certain 
license renewal requirements.  Specifically, board rule §295.7 states that pharmacists must complete and submit 
their license renewal by the last day of the assigned expiration month.    
. 
The Texas State Board of Pharmacy has determined that strict compliance with these laws could prevent, hinder, 
or delay the delivery of pharmaceutical services in relation to efforts to cope with the declared disaster. 
 
Accordingly, the Office of the Governor has, to the extent necessary, temporarily suspended the expiration dates 
of pharmacist licenses of board rule §295.7. This suspension is in effect until terminated by the Office of the 
Governor or until the March 13, 2020, disaster declaration is lifted or expires. 
 
§295.7   Pharmacist License Renewal 
 
For the purposes of the Act, Chapter 559, Subchapter A. 
  (1) A license to practice pharmacy expires on the last day of the assigned expiration month. 
  (2) Before the expiration date of the license means the receipt in the board's office of a completed application 
and renewal fee on or before the last day of the assigned expiration month. 
  (3) As specified in §559.003, if the completed application and renewal fee is not received on or before the last 
day of the assigned expiration month, the person's license to practice pharmacy shall expire. A person shall not 
practice pharmacy with an expired license. An expired license may be renewed according to the following 
schedule. 
    (A) If license has been expired for 90 days or less, the person may become licensed by making application and 
paying to the board a renewal fee that is equal to one and one-half times the renewal fee for the license as 
specified in §295.5 of this title (relating to Pharmacist License or Renewal Fees). 
    (B) If license has been expired for more than 90 days but less than one year, the person may become licensed 
by making application and paying to the board a renewal fee that is equal to two times the renewal fee for the 
license as specified in §295.5 of this title. 
    (C) If license has been expired for one year or more, the person shall apply for a new license as specified in 
§283.10 of this title (relating to Requirements for Application for a Pharmacist License Which Has Expired). 
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