Registration Requirements

Governor Greg Abbott has declared a state of disaster in Texas due to COVID-19 (coronavirus).

The laws and rules governing the practice of pharmacy in Texas require pharmacy technicians to comply with certain registration renewal requirements. Specifically, board rule $\frac{297.3(d)(1)-(3)}{297.3(d)(1)-(3)}$ states that pharmacy technicians must complete and submit their registration by the last day of the assigned month, which includes completing 20 hours of continuing education, and submitting fingerprint information.

The Texas State Board of Pharmacy has determined that strict compliance with these laws could prevent, hinder, or delay the delivery of pharmaceutical services in relation to efforts to cope with the declared disaster.

Accordingly, the Office of the Governor has, to the extent necessary, temporarily suspended the expiration dates of pharmacy technician registrations and the continuing education and fingerprinting requirements of board rule 297.3(d)(1)-(3). This suspension is in effect until terminated by the Office of the Governor or until the March 13, 2020, disaster declaration is lifted or expires.

§297.3 Registration Requirements

(d) Renewal.

-(1) All applicants for renewal of a pharmacy technician registration shall:

(A) complete the Texas application for registration that includes the following information:

(i) name;

(ii) addresses, phone numbers, date of birth, and social security number;

(iii) meet all requirements necessary in order for the Board to access the criminal history record information, including submitting fingerprint information and being responsible for all associated costs; and

(iv) any other information requested on the application.

(B) pay the renewal fee specified in §297.4 of this title; and

(C) complete 20 contact hours of continuing education per renewal period as specified in §297.8 of this title (relating to Continuing Education).

-(2) A pharmacy technician registration expires on the last day of the assigned expiration month.

- (3) As specified in §568.004 of the Act, if the completed application and renewal fee are not received in the board's office on or before the last day of the assigned expiration month, the person's pharmacy technician registration shall expire. An expired registration shall be renewed according to the following schedule.

(A) If a pharmacy technician registration has expired for 90 days or less, the person may become registered by making application and paying to the board a renewal fee that is equal to one and one-half times the renewal fee for the registration as specified in §297.4 of this title (relating to Fees).

(B) If a pharmacy technician registration has been expired for more than 90 days but less than one year, the person may become registered by making application and paying to the board a renewal fee that is equal to two times the renewal fee for the registration as specified in §297.4 of this title.

(C) If a pharmacy technician registration has expired for more than one year, the pharmacy technician may not renew the registration and must complete the requirements for initial registration as specified in subsection (c) of this section.