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RULE ANALYSIS 
   
 Introduction: THE AMENDMENTS ARE SUBMITTED TO THE BOARD FOR 

CONSIDERATION AS AN ADOPTED RULE 
  
 Short Title: Fees  
 
 Rule Numbers: §283.9  
 

 Statutory Authority: Texas Pharmacy Act, Chapter 551-569, Occupations Code: 
 
  (1) Section 551.002 specifies that the purpose of the Act is to 

protect the public through the effective control and regulation 
of the practice of pharmacy; and  

  (2) Section 554.051 gives the Board the authority to adopt rules 
for the proper administration and enforcement of the Act.   

   
 Purpose: The amendments, if adopted, will increase the pharmacist 

examination fee from $52 to $103.   
     
 

The Board reviewed and voted to propose the amendments during the May 5, 2015, 
meeting. The proposed amendments were published in the June 26, 2015, issue of the 
Texas Register at 40 TexReg 4171. 
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CHAPTER 283. LICENSING REQUIREMENTS FOR PHARMACISTS  1 

22 TAC §283.9  2 

The Texas State Board of Pharmacy proposes amendments to §283.9 concerning Fee 3 
Requirements for Licensure by Examination, Score Transfer, and Reciprocity. The amendments, 4 
if adopted, increase the examination fee from $52 to $103.  5 

Gay Dodson, R.Ph., Executive Director/Secretary, has determined that, for the first five-year 6 
period the rule is in effect, there will be fiscal implications for state government as a result of 7 
enforcing or administering the amended rule as follows:  8 

Revenue increase  9 

FY2016: $49,632  10 

FY2017: $49,623  11 

FY2018: $49,623  12 

FY2019: $49,623  13 

FY2020: $49,623  14 

There are no anticipated fiscal implications for local government.  15 

Ms. Dodson has determined that, for each year of the first five-year period the amendments will 16 
be in effect, the public benefit anticipated as a result of enforcing the rule will be assuring that 17 
the Texas State Board of Pharmacy is adequately funded to carry out its mission. The effect on 18 
large, small or micro-businesses (pharmacies) will be the same as the economic cost to an 19 
individual, if the pharmacy chooses to pay the fee for the individual.  20 

Economic cost to persons who are required to comply with the amended rule will be an increase 21 
of $51 for an examination fees.  22 

Comments on the amendments may be submitted to Allison Benz, R.Ph., M.S., Director of 23 
Professional Services, Texas State Board of Pharmacy, 333 Guadalupe Street, Suite 3-600, 24 
Austin, Texas 78701, FAX (512) 305-8008. Comments must be received by 5:00 p.m., August 3, 25 
2015.  26 

The amendments are proposed under §551.002 and §554.051 of the Texas Pharmacy Act 27 
(Chapters 551 - 566, 568, and 569, Texas Occupations Code). The Board interprets §551.002 as 28 
authorizing the agency to protect the public through the effective control and regulation of the 29 
practice of pharmacy. The Board interprets §554.051(a) as authorizing the agency to adopt rules 30 
for the proper administration and enforcement of the Act.  31 
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The statutes affected by these amendments: Texas Pharmacy Act, Chapters 551 - 566, 568, and 32 
569, Texas Occupations Code.  33 

§283.9.Fee Requirements for Licensure by Examination, Score Transfer and Reciprocity.  34 

(a) The fees for licensure by examination, score transfer, and reciprocity shall include one exam 35 
administration. The fees are as follows:  36 

(1) Examination Fee. The fee to submit an application for licensure by examination will include:  37 

(A) An examination processing fee of $103 [$52], which is to be paid to the Texas State Board 38 
of Pharmacy and includes the processing of the Texas application.  39 

(B) NAPLEX administrative and examination fees as determined by NABP, which are to be paid 40 
to NABP in accordance with NABP policy.  41 

(C) MPJE administrative and examination fees as determined by NABP, which are to be paid to 42 
NABP in accordance with NABP policy.  43 

(2) Reciprocity Fee. The fee to submit an application for licensure by reciprocity will include.  44 

(A) A reciprocity fee of $255, which is to be paid to the Texas State Board of Pharmacy.  45 

(B) MPJE administrative and examination fees as determined by NABP, which are to be paid to 46 
NABP in accordance with NABP policy.  47 

(C) A license verification fee as determined by NABP, which is to be paid to NABP in 48 
accordance with NABP policy.  49 

(3) Score Transfer Fee. The fees to transfer a score to Texas, using the NAPLEX Score Transfer 50 
system will include:  51 

(A) An examination processing fee of $103 [$52], which is to be paid to the Texas State Board 52 
of Pharmacy and includes the processing of the Texas application.  53 

(B) MPJE administrative and examination fees as determined by NABP, which are to be paid to 54 
NABP in accordance with NABP policy.  55 

(C) A score transfer fee as determined by NABP, which is to be paid to NABP in accordance 56 
with NABP policy.  57 

(b) If an applicant fails an examination or is required to take an examination by the Board, the 58 
application fee is $103 [$52] for each examination the applicant is required to take.  59 

(c) Rescheduling or canceling an examination appointment.  60 
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(1) Refunds for fees charged by NABP for the administration of the NAPLEX and MPJE are in 61 
accordance with NABP policy. Rescheduling of an examination appointment shall be in 62 
accordance with NABP policy.  63 

(2) The Board may refund fifty percent of an examination fee paid to the Board by an applicant if 64 
the applicant:  65 

(A) provides advance notice of their inability to take the examination prior to the board 66 
providing authorization to take the examination; or  67 

(B) is unable to take the examination due to an emergency situation including but not limited to a 68 
manmade or natural disaster, documented serious medical illness, or other circumstance deemed 69 
an emergency by the Executive Director of the Board.  70 

(d) A person who takes NAPLEX and/or the Texas Pharmacy Jurisprudence Examination will be 71 
notified of the results of the examination(s) within two weeks of receipt of the results of the 72 
examination(s) from the testing service. If both NAPLEX and the Texas Pharmacy Jurisprudence 73 
Examination are taken, the applicant will not be notified until the results of both examinations 74 
have been received. Such notification will be made within two weeks after receipt of the results 75 
of both examinations.  76 

(e) Once an applicant has successfully completed all requirements of licensure, the applicant will 77 
be notified of licensure as a pharmacist and of his or her pharmacist license number and the 78 
following is applicable.  79 

(1) The notice letter shall serve as authorization for the person to practice pharmacy in Texas for 80 
a period of 30 days from the date of the notice letter.  81 

(2) The applicant shall complete a pharmacist license application and pay one pharmacist 82 
licensee fee as specified in §295.5 of this title (relating to Pharmacist License or Renewal Fees).  83 

(3) The provisions of §295.7 of this title (relating to Pharmacist License Renewal) apply to the 84 
timely receipt of an application and licensure fee.  85 

(4) If application and payment of the pharmacist license fee are not received by the board within 86 
30 days from the date of the notice letter, the person's license to practice pharmacy shall expire. 87 
A person may not practice pharmacy with an expired license. The license may be renewed 88 
according to the following schedule.  89 

(A) If the notice letter has been expired for 90 days or less, the person may become licensed by 90 
making application and paying to the board one license fee and a fee that is one-half of the 91 
examination fee for the license.  92 

(B) If the notice letter has been expired for more than 90 days but less than one year, the person 93 
may become licensed by making application and paying to the board all unpaid renewal fees and 94 
a fee that is equal to the examination fee for the license.  95 
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(C) If the notice letter has been expired for one year or more, the person shall apply for a new 96 
license.  97 
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