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RULE ANALYSIS 
   
 Introduction: THE AMENDMENTS ARE SUBMITTED TO THE BOARD FOR 

CONSIDERATION AS A PROPOSED RULE 
  
 Short Title: Pharmacy License 
 
 Rule Numbers: §§291.5, 291.14 
 

 Statutory Authority: Texas Pharmacy Act, Chapter 551-569, Occupations Code: 
 
  (1) Section 551.002 specifies that the purpose of the Act is to 

protect the public through the effective control and regulation 
of the practice of pharmacy; and  

  (2) Section 554.051 gives the Board the authority to adopt rules 
for the proper administration and enforcement of the Act.   

   
 Purpose: The amendments to §291.5, if adopted, clarify the requirements for 
closing a pharmacy and eliminate the requirements for a pharmacy to transfer records to a 
pharmacy within a reasonable distance.  The amendments to §291.14, if adopted, 
implement provisions of S.B. 460 passed during the 84th Texas Legislative session which 
change the expiration date for a pharmacy license that has expired from one year to 91 days 
and allows the board to not renew the license of a pharmacy if the board determines that the 
pharmacy is not located or no longer exists at the pharmacy’s address of record.   
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TITLE 22 EXAMINING BOARDS  1 
PART 15 TEXAS STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY  2 
CHAPTER 291 PHARMACIES  3 
SUBCHAPTER A ALL CLASSES OF PHARMACIES  4 
 5 
§291.5 Closing a Pharmacy  6 
 7 
 8 
(a) Prior to closing.  At least 14 days prior to the closing of a pharmacy that dispenses 9 
prescription drug orders, the pharmacist-in-charge shall post a closing notice sign in a 10 
conspicuous place in the front of the prescription department and at all public entrance 11 
doors to the pharmacy. Such closing notice sign shall contain the following information: 12 
[comply with the following]. 13 
 14 
  (1) the date of closing; and [if the pharmacy is registered to possess controlled substances, 15 
send a written notification to the appropriate divisional office of the Drug Enforcement 16 
Administration (DEA) containing the following information:  17 
 18 
    (A) the name, address, and DEA registration number of the pharmacy;  19 
 20 
    (B) the anticipated date of closing;  21 
 22 
    (C) the name, address, and DEA registration number of the pharmacy acquiring the 23 
controlled substances; and  24 
 25 
    (D) the date on which the transfer of controlled substances will occur.]  26 
 27 
  (2)  [If the pharmacy dispenses prescription drug orders, post a closing notice sign in a 28 
conspicuous place in the front of the prescription department and at all public entrance doors to 29 
the pharmacy. Such closing notice sign shall contain the following information:]  30 
 31 
    [(A) the date of closing; and]  32 
 33 
    [(B)] the name, address, and telephone number of the pharmacy acquiring the prescription 34 
drug orders, including refill information and patient medication records of the pharmacy.  35 
 36 
(b) Closing day. On the date of closing, the pharmacist-in-charge shall comply with the 37 
following:  38 
 39 
  (1) take an inventory as specified in §291.17 of this title (relating to Inventory Requirements);  40 
 41 
  (2) remove all prescription drugs from the pharmacy by one or a combination of the following 42 
methods:  43 
 44 
    (A) return prescription drugs to manufacturer or supplier (for credit/disposal);  45 
 46 
    (B) transfer (sell or give away) prescription drugs to a person who is legally entitled to 47 
possess drugs, such as a hospital, or another pharmacy; and  48 
 49 
    (C) destroy the prescription drugs following procedures specified in §303.2 of this title 50 
(relating to Disposal of Stock Prescription Drugs);  51 
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 52 
  (3) if the pharmacy dispenses prescription drug orders:  53 
 54 
    (A) transfer the prescription drug order files, including refill information, and patient 55 
medication records to a licensed pharmacy [within a reasonable distance of the closing 56 
pharmacy]; and  57 
 58 
    (B) remove [move] all signs or notify the landlord or owner of the property that it is unlawful to 59 
use the word "pharmacy" either in English or any other language, or any other word or 60 
combination of words of the same or similar meaning, or any graphic representation that would 61 
mislead or tend to mislead the public that a pharmacy is located at the address.  62 
 63 
(c) After closing.  64 
 65 
  (1) Within ten days after the closing of the pharmacy, the pharmacist-in-charge shall forward to 66 
the board a written notice of the closing which includes the following information:  67 
 68 
    (A) the actual date of closing;  69 
 70 
    (B) the license issued to the pharmacy;  71 
 72 
    (C) a statement attesting:  73 
 74 
      (i) that an inventory as specified in §291.17 of this title (relating to Inventory Requirements) 75 
has been conducted; and  76 
 77 
      (ii) the manner by which the dangerous drugs and controlled substances possessed by the 78 
pharmacy were transferred or disposed; and  79 
 80 
    (D) if the pharmacy dispenses prescription drug orders, the name and address of the 81 
pharmacy to which the prescription drug orders, including refill information, and patient 82 
medication records were transferred.  83 
 84 
  (2) If the pharmacy is registered to possess controlled substances, send notification [a letter] 85 
to the[:]  86 
 87 
    [(A)] appropriate DEA divisional office explaining that the pharmacy has closed and include[. 88 
Include] the following items [with the letter]:  89 
 90 
     (A) [(i)] DEA registration certificate; and 91 
 92 
      (B) [(ii)] all unused DEA order forms (222) with the word VOID written on the face of each 93 
order form[; and]  94 
 95 
     [(iii) copy 2 of any DEA order forms (222) used to transfer Schedule II controlled from the 96 
closed pharmacy].  97 
 98 
    [(B) the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) explaining that the pharmacy has closed 99 
and include the DPS registration certificate.]  100 
 101 
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  (3) Once the pharmacy has notified the board that the pharmacy is closed, the license may not 102 
be renewed. The pharmacy may apply for a new license as specified in §291.1 of this title 103 
(relating to Pharmacy License Application).  104 
 105 
(d) Emergency closing. If pharmacy is closed suddenly due to fire, destruction, natural disaster, 106 
death, property seizure, eviction, bankruptcy, or other emergency circumstances and the 107 
pharmacist-in-charge cannot provide notification 14 days prior to the closing, the pharmacist-in-108 
charge shall comply with the provisions of subsection (a) of this section as far in advance of the 109 
closing as allowed by the circumstances.  110 
 111 
(e) Joint responsibility. If the pharmacist-in-charge is not available to comply with the 112 
requirements of this section, the owner shall be responsible for compliance with the provisions 113 
of this section.   114 
 115 
 116 
 117 
§291.14 Pharmacy License Renewal  118 
 119 
(a) Renewal requirements.  120 
 121 
  (1) A license to operate a pharmacy expires on the last day of the assigned expiration month.  122 
 123 
  (2) [Timely receipt of the completed application and renewal fee means the receipt in the 124 
board's office of such application and renewal fee.]  125 
 126 
  [(3)] The provision of the Act, §561.005, shall apply if the completed application and a renewal 127 
fee is not received in the board’s office on or before the last day of the assigned expiration 128 
month.  129 
 130 
  (3) [(4)] An expired license may be renewed according to the following schedule:  131 
 132 
    (A) If the license has been expired for 90 days or less, the license may be renewed by paying 133 
to the board a renewal fee that is equal to one and one-half times the required renewal fee as 134 
specified in §291.6 of this title (relating to Pharmacy License Fees).  135 
 136 
    (B) [If the license has been expired for more than 90 days but less than one year, the license 137 
may be renewed by paying to the board a renewal fee that is equal to two times the required 138 
renewal fee as specified in §291.6 of this title.]  139 
 140 
    [(C)] If the license has been expired for 91 days [one year] or more, the license may not be 141 
renewed. The pharmacy may apply for a new license as specified in §291.1 of this title (relating 142 
to Pharmacy License Application).  143 
 144 
(b) If the board determines on inspection at the pharmacy’s address on or after the 145 
expiration date of the license that no pharmacy is located or exists at the pharmacy’s 146 
address (e.g., the building is vacated or for sale or lease, or another business is 147 
operating at the location), the board shall not renew the license. 148 
 149 
(c) Additional renewal requirements for Class E pharmacies. In addition to the renewal 150 
requirements in subsection (a) of this section, a Class E pharmacy shall have on file with the 151 
Board an inspection report issued:  152 
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 153 
  (1) not more than three years before the date the renewal application is received; and  154 
 155 
  (2) by the pharmacy licensing board in the state of the pharmacy's physical location except as 156 
provided in §291.104 of this title (relating to Operational Standards). 157 
 158 
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