
April 14, 2015               

 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
   
 Introduction: THE AMENDMENTS ARE SUBMITTED TO THE BOARD FOR 

CONSIDERATION AS A PROPOSED RULE 
  
 Short Title: Fees  
 
 Rule Numbers: §283.9  
 

 Statutory Authority: Texas Pharmacy Act, Chapter 551-569, Occupations Code: 
 
  (1) Section 551.002 specifies that the purpose of the Act is to 

protect the public through the effective control and regulation 
of the practice of pharmacy; and  

  (2) Section 554.051 gives the Board the authority to adopt rules 
for the proper administration and enforcement of the Act.   

   
 Purpose: The amendments, if adopted, will increase the pharmacist 

examination fee from $52 to $103.   
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TITLE 22 EXAMINING BOARDS  1 
PART 15 TEXAS STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY  2 
CHAPTER 283 LICENSING REQUIREMENTS FOR PHARMACISTS  3 
 4 
§283.9 Fee Requirements for Licensure by Examination, Score Transfer and Reciprocity  5 
 6 
 7 
(a) The fees for licensure by examination, score transfer, and reciprocity shall include one exam 8 
administration. The fees are as follows: 9 
 10 
  (1) Examination Fee. The fee to submit an application for licensure by examination will include: 11 
 12 
    (A) An examination processing fee of $103 [$52], which is to be paid to the Texas State 13 
Board of Pharmacy and includes the processing of the Texas application. 14 
 15 
    (B) NAPLEX administrative and examination fees as determined by NABP, which are to be 16 
paid to NABP in accordance with NABP policy. 17 
 18 
    (C) MPJE administrative and examination fees as determined by NABP, which are to be paid 19 
to NABP in accordance with NABP policy. 20 
 21 
  (2) Reciprocity Fee. The fee to submit an application for licensure by reciprocity will include. 22 
 23 
    (A) A reciprocity fee of $255, which is to be paid to the Texas State Board of Pharmacy. 24 
 25 
    (B) MPJE administrative and examination fees as determined by NABP, which are to be paid 26 
to NABP in accordance with NABP policy. 27 
 28 
    (C) A license verification fee as determined by NABP, which is to be paid to NABP in 29 
accordance with NABP policy. 30 
 31 
  (3) Score Transfer Fee. The fees to transfer a score to Texas, using the NAPLEX Score 32 
Transfer system will include: 33 
 34 
    (A) An examination processing fee of $103 [$52], which is to be paid to the Texas State 35 
Board of Pharmacy and includes the processing of the Texas application. 36 
 37 
    (B) MPJE administrative and examination fees as determined by NABP, which are to be paid 38 
to NABP in accordance with NABP policy. 39 
 40 
    (C) A score transfer fee as determined by NABP, which is to be paid to NABP in accordance 41 
with NABP policy. 42 
 43 
(b) If an applicant fails an examination or is required to take an examination by the Board, the 44 
application fee is $103 [$52] for each examination the applicant is required to take. 45 
 46 
(c) Rescheduling or canceling an examination appointment.  47 
 48 
  (1) Refunds for fees charged by NABP for the administration of the NAPLEX and MPJE are in 49 
accordance with NABP policy. Rescheduling of an examination appointment shall be in 50 
accordance with NABP policy. 51 
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 52 
  (2) The Board may refund fifty percent of an examination fee paid to the Board by an applicant 53 
if the applicant: 54 
 55 
    (A) provides advance notice of their inability to take the examination prior to the board 56 
providing authorization to take the examination; or 57 
 58 
    (B) is unable to take the examination due to an emergency situation including but not limited 59 
to a manmade or natural disaster, documented serious medical illness, or other circumstance 60 
deemed an emergency by the Executive Director of the Board. 61 
 62 
(d) A person who takes NAPLEX and/or the Texas Pharmacy Jurisprudence Examination will be 63 
notified of the results of the examination(s) within two weeks of receipt of the results of the 64 
examination(s) from the testing service. If both NAPLEX and the Texas Pharmacy 65 
Jurisprudence Examination are taken, the applicant will not be notified until the results of both 66 
examinations have been received. Such notification will be made within two weeks after receipt 67 
of the results of both examinations. 68 
 69 
(e) Once an applicant has successfully completed all requirements of licensure, the applicant 70 
will be notified of licensure as a pharmacist and of his or her pharmacist license number and the 71 
following is applicable. 72 
 73 
  (1) The notice letter shall serve as authorization for the person to practice pharmacy in Texas 74 
for a period of 30 days from the date of the notice letter. 75 
 76 
  (2) The applicant shall complete a pharmacist license application and pay one pharmacist 77 
licensee fee as specified in §295.5 of this title (relating to Pharmacist License or Renewal Fees). 78 
 79 
  (3) The provisions of §295.7 of this title (relating to Pharmacist License Renewal) apply to the 80 
timely receipt of an application and licensure fee. 81 
 82 
  (4) If application and payment of the pharmacist license fee are not received by the board 83 
within 30 days from the date of the notice letter, the person's license to practice pharmacy shall 84 
expire. A person may not practice pharmacy with an expired license. The license may be 85 
renewed according to the following schedule. 86 
 87 
    (A) If the notice letter has been expired for 90 days or less, the person may become licensed 88 
by making application and paying to the board one license fee and a fee that is one-half of the 89 
examination fee for the license. 90 
 91 
    (B) If the notice letter has been expired for more than 90 days but less than one year, the 92 
person may become licensed by making application and paying to the board all unpaid renewal 93 
fees and a fee that is equal to the examination fee for the license. 94 
 95 
    (C) If the notice letter has been expired for one year or more, the person shall apply for a new 96 
license. 97 
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RULE ANALYSIS 
   
 Introduction: THE AMENDMENTS ARE SUBMITTED TO THE BOARD FOR 

CONSIDERATION AS A PROPOSED RULE 
  
 Short Title: Fees  
 
 Rule Numbers: §291.6  
 

 Statutory Authority: Texas Pharmacy Act, Chapter 551-569, Occupations Code: 
 
  (1) Section 551.002 specifies that the purpose of the Act is to 

protect the public through the effective control and regulation 
of the practice of pharmacy; and  

  (2) Section 554.051 gives the Board the authority to adopt rules 
for the proper administration and enforcement of the Act.   

   
 Purpose: The amendments, if adopted, will increase the fee to obtain an 

amended pharmacy license from $20 to $100.  
     



April14, 2015 Page 1 
 

TITLE 22 EXAMINING BOARDS  1 
PART 15 TEXAS STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY  2 
CHAPTER 291 PHARMACIES  3 
SUBCHAPTER A ALL CLASSES OF PHARMACIES  4 
 5 
§291.6 Pharmacy License Fees  6 
 7 
(a) Initial License Fee.  8 
 9 
  (1) Prior to October 1, 2015, the fee for an initial license shall be $500 for the initial registration 10 
period and for processing the application and issuance of the pharmacy license as authorized 11 
by the Act §554.006. Effective October 1, 2015, the fee for an initial license shall be $401 for the 12 
initial registration period and for processing the application and issuance of the pharmacy 13 
license as authorized by the Act §554.006.  14 
 15 
  (2) In addition, the following fees shall be collected:  16 
 17 
    (A) $15 surcharge to fund a program to aid impaired pharmacists and pharmacy students as 18 
authorized by the Act §564.051;  19 
 20 
    (B) prior to October 1, 2015, $15 surcharge to fund TexasOnline as authorized by Chapter 21 
2054, Subchapter I, Government Code; and effective October 1, 2015, $12 surcharge to fund 22 
TexasOnline as authorized by Chapter 2054, Subchapter I, Government Code; and  23 
 24 
    (C) $5 surcharge to fund the Office of Patient Protection as authorized by Chapter 101, 25 
Subchapter G, Occupations Code.  26 
 27 
(b) Biennial License Renewal. The Texas State Board of Pharmacy shall require biennial 28 
renewal of all pharmacy licenses provided under the Act §561.002.  29 
 30 
(c) Renewal Fee.  31 
 32 
  (1) Prior to October 1, 2015, the fee for biennial renewal of a pharmacy license shall be $500 33 
for processing the application and issuance of the pharmacy license as authorized by the Act 34 
§554.006. Effective October 1, 2015, the fee for biennial renewal of a pharmacy license shall be 35 
$401 for processing the application and issuance of the pharmacy license as authorized by the 36 
Act §554.006.  37 
 38 
  (2) In addition, the following fees shall be collected:  39 
 40 
    (A) $15 surcharge to fund a program to aid impaired pharmacists and pharmacy students as 41 
authorized by the Act §564.051;  42 
 43 
    (B) prior to October 1, 2015, $15 surcharge to fund TexasOnline as authorized by Chapter 44 
2054, Subchapter I, Government Code; and effective October 1, 2015, $12 surcharge to fund 45 
TexasOnline as authorized by Chapter 2054, Subchapter I, Government Code; and  46 
 47 
    (C) $2 surcharge to fund the Office of Patient Protection as authorized by Chapter 101, 48 
Subchapter G, Occupations Code.  49 
 50 
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(d) Duplicate or Amended Certificates. The fee for issuance of a duplicate [an amended] 51 
pharmacy license renewal certificate shall be $20.  The fee for issuance of an amended 52 
pharmacy license renewal certificate shall be $100.   53 
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