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RULE ANALYSIS 
   
 Introduction: THESE AMENDMENTS ARE SUBMITTED TO THE BOARD FOR 

CONSIDERATION AS ADOPTED RULES 
  
 Short Title: Fees 
 
 Rule Numbers: §§291.6, 295.5, and 297.4 
 

 Statutory Authority: Texas Pharmacy Act, Chapter 551-566 and 568-569, Occupations 
Code: 

  (1) Section 551.002 specifies that the purpose of the Act is to 
protect the public through the effective control and regulation 
of the practice of pharmacy; and  

  (2) Section 554.051 gives the Board the authority to adopt rules 
for the proper administration and enforcement of the Act.  

   
 Purpose: The amendments, if adopted, will raise pharmacy and pharmacist 

license fees and pharmacy technician registration fees to increase 
TSBP revenue to cover increased staff/expenses associated with 
the passage of certain legislation. 

 
The Board reviewed and voted to propose the amendments during the August 6, 2013, 
meeting.  The proposed amendments were published in the August 23, 2013, issue of 
the Texas Register at 38 TexReg 5410, 38 TexReg 5411, and 38 TexReg 5412.  A 
correction of error to proposed amendments to §297.4, concerning Fees, was 
published in the September 20, 2013, issue of the Texas Register at 38 TexReg 6336. 
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CHAPTER 291. PHARMACIES  1 
SUBCHAPTER A. ALL CLASSES OF PHARMACIES  2 
§291.6  3 

The Texas State Board of Pharmacy proposes amendments to §291.6 concerning Pharmacy 4 
License Fees. The proposed amendments to §291.6, if adopted, raise pharmacy license fees to 5 
generate revenue to support the Fiscal Year 2014-2015 budget.  6 

Gay Dodson, R.Ph., Executive Director/Secretary, has determined that, for the first five-year 7 
period the amendments to §291.6 are in effect, there will be fiscal implications for state 8 
government as a result of enforcing or administering the amended rule as follows:  9 

Revenue Increase  10 

FY2014 = $289,416  11 

FY2015 = $434,000  12 

FY2016 = $434,000  13 

FY2017 = $434,000  14 

FY2018 = $434,000  15 

There are no anticipated fiscal implications for local government.  16 

Ms. Dodson has determined that, for each year of the first five-year period the amendments to 17 
§291.6 will be in effect, the public benefit anticipated as a result of enforcing the rule will be 18 
assuring that the Texas State Board of Pharmacy is adequately funded to carry out its mission. 19 
The effect on large, small or micro-businesses (pharmacies) will be the same as the economic 20 
cost to an individual.  21 

Economic cost to persons who are required to comply with the amended rule will be an increase 22 
for a two-year license of $127 for an initial license and $124 for the renewal of a license.  23 

Comments on the proposed amendments may be submitted to Allison Benz, R.Ph., M.S., 24 
Director of Professional Services, Texas State Board of Pharmacy, 333 Guadalupe Street, Suite 25 
3-600, Austin, Texas 78701, fax (512) 305-8008. Comments must be received by 5:00 p.m., 26 
October 25, 2013.  27 

The amendments are proposed under §551.002 and §554.051 of the Texas Pharmacy Act 28 
(Chapters 551 - 566, 568 and 569, Texas Occupations Code). The Board interprets §551.002 as 29 
authorizing the agency to protect the public through the effective control and regulation of the 30 
practice of pharmacy. The Board interprets §554.051(a) as authorizing the agency to adopt rules 31 
for the proper administration and enforcement of the Act.  32 
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The statutes affected by this amendment are Texas Pharmacy Act, Chapters 551 - 566, 568 and 33 
569, Texas Occupations Code.  34 

§291.6.Pharmacy License Fees.  35 

(a) Initial License Fee.  36 

(1) The fee for an initial license shall be $500 [$381] for the initial registration period and for 37 
processing the application and issuance of the pharmacy license as authorized by the Act 38 
§554.006.  39 

(2) In addition, the following fees shall be collected:  40 

(A) $15 [$13] surcharge to fund a program to aid impaired pharmacists and pharmacy students as 41 
authorized by the Act §564.051;  42 

(B) $15 [$12] surcharge to fund TexasOnline as authorized by Chapter 2054, Subchapter I, 43 
Government Code; and  44 

(C) $5 surcharge to fund the Office of Patient Protection as authorized by Chapter 101, 45 
Subchapter G, Occupations Code.  46 

(b) Biennial License Renewal. The Texas State Board of Pharmacy shall require biennial renewal 47 
of all pharmacy licenses provided under the Act §561.002.  48 

(c) Renewal Fee.  49 

(1) The fee for biennial renewal of a pharmacy license shall be $500 [$381] for processing the 50 
application and issuance of the pharmacy license as authorized by the Act §554.006.  51 

(2) In addition, the following fees shall be collected:  52 

(A) $15 [$13] surcharge to fund a program to aid impaired pharmacists and pharmacy students as 53 
authorized by the Act §564.051;  54 

(B) $15 [$12] surcharge to fund TexasOnline as authorized by Chapter 2054, Subchapter I, 55 
Government Code; and  56 

(C) $2 surcharge to fund the Office of Patient Protection as authorized by Chapter 101, 57 
Subchapter G, Occupations Code.  58 

(d) Duplicate or Amended Certificates. The fee for issuance of an amended pharmacy license 59 
renewal certificate shall be $20. 60 
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CHAPTER 295. PHARMACISTS  1 
§295.5  2 

The Texas State Board of Pharmacy proposes amendments to §295.5 concerning Pharmacist 3 
License or Renewal Fees. The proposed amendments to §295.5, if adopted, will raise pharmacist 4 
license fees to generate revenue to support the agency's Fiscal Year 2014-2015 budget.  5 

Gay Dodson, R.Ph., Executive Director/Secretary, has determined that, for the first five-year 6 
period the amendments to §295.5 are in effect, there will be fiscal implications for state 7 
government as a result of enforcing or administering the amended rule as follows:  8 

Revenue Increase  9 

FY2014 = $688,586  10 

FY2015 = $1,125,060  11 

FY2016 = $1,125,060  12 

FY2017 = $1,125,060  13 

FY2018 = $1,125,060  14 

There are no anticipated fiscal implications for local government.  15 

Ms. Dodson has determined that, for each year of the first five-year period the amendments to 16 
§295.5 will be in effect, the public benefit anticipated as a result of enforcing the rule will be 17 
assuring that the Texas State Board of Pharmacy is adequately funded to carry out its mission. 18 
The effect on large, small or micro-businesses (pharmacies) will be the same as the economic 19 
cost to an individual, if the pharmacy chooses to pay the fee for the individual.  20 

Economic cost to persons who are required to comply with the amended rule will be an increase 21 
for the two-year license of $71 for an initial license and $68 for the renewal of a license.  22 

Comments on the proposed amendments may be submitted to Allison Benz, R.Ph., M.S., 23 
Director of Professional Services, Texas State Board of Pharmacy, 333 Guadalupe Street, Suite 24 
3-600, Austin, Texas 78701, fax (512) 305-8008. Comments must be received by 5:00 p.m., 25 
October 25, 2013.  26 

The amendments are proposed under §551.002 and §554.051 of the Texas Pharmacy Act 27 
(Chapters 551 - 566, 568 and 569, Texas Occupations Code). The Board interprets §551.002 as 28 
authorizing the agency to protect the public through the effective control and regulation of the 29 
practice of pharmacy. The Board interprets §554.051(a) as authorizing the agency to adopt rules 30 
for the proper administration and enforcement of the Act.  31 
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The statutes affected by this amendment are Texas Pharmacy Act, Chapters 551 - 566, 568 and 32 
569, Texas Occupations Code.  33 

§295.5.Pharmacist License or Renewal Fees.  34 

(a) Biennial Registration. The Texas State Board of Pharmacy shall require biennial renewal of 35 
all pharmacist licenses provided under the Pharmacy Act, §559.002.  36 

(b) Initial License Fee.  37 

(1) The fee for the initial license shall be $281 [$215] for a two year registration and for 38 
processing the application and issuance of the pharmacist license as authorized by the Act, 39 
§554.006.  40 

(2) In addition, the following fees shall be collected:  41 

(A) $13 [$11] surcharge to fund a program to aid impaired pharmacists and pharmacy students as 42 
authorized by the Act, §564.051;  43 

(B) $5 surcharge to fund TexasOnline as authorized by Chapter 2054, Subchapter I, Government 44 
Code; and  45 

(C) $5 surcharge to fund the Office of Patient Protection as authorized by Chapter 101, 46 
Subchapter G, and Occupations Code.  47 

(3) New pharmacist licenses shall be assigned an expiration date and initial fee shall be prorated 48 
based on the assigned expiration date.  49 

(c) Renewal Fee.  50 

(1) The fee for biennial renewal of a pharmacist license shall be $281 [$215] for processing the 51 
application and issuance of the pharmacist license as authorized by the Act, §554.006.  52 

(2) In addition, the following fees shall be collected:  53 

(A) $13 [$11] surcharge to fund a program to aid impaired pharmacists and pharmacy students as 54 
authorized by the Act, §564.051;  55 

(B) $5 surcharge to fund TexasOnline as authorized by Chapter 2054, Subchapter I, Government 56 
Code; and  57 

(C) $2 surcharge to fund the Office of Patient Protection as authorized by Chapter 101, 58 
Subchapter G, Occupations Code.  59 

(d) Exemption from fee. The license of a pharmacist who has been licensed by the Texas State 60 
Board of Pharmacy for at least 50 years or who is at least 72 years old shall be renewed without 61 
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payment of a fee provided such pharmacist is not actively practicing pharmacy. The renewal 62 
certificate of such pharmacist issued by the board shall reflect an inactive status. A person whose 63 
license is renewed pursuant to this subsection may not engage in the active practice of pharmacy 64 
without first paying the renewal fee as set out in subsection (b) of this section.  65 

(e) Duplicate or Amended Certificates.  66 

(1) The fee for issuance of an amended pharmacist's license renewal certificate shall be $20.  67 

(2) The fee for issuance of an amended license to practice pharmacy (wall certificate) only, or 68 
renewal certificate and wall certificate shall be $35. 69 
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CHAPTER 297. PHARMACY TECHNICIANS AND PHARMACY TECHNICIAN 1 
TRAINEES  2 
§297.4  3 

The Texas State Board of Pharmacy proposes amendments to §297.4 concerning Fees. The 4 
proposed amendments to §297.4, if adopted, will raise pharmacy technician and pharmacy 5 
technician trainee fees to generate revenue to support the Fiscal Year 2014-2015 budget.  6 

Gay Dodson, R.Ph., Executive Director/Secretary, has determined that, for the first five-year 7 
period the amendments are in effect, there will be fiscal implications for state government as a 8 
result of enforcing or administering the amended rule as follows:  9 

Revenue Increase  10 

FY2014 = $395,016  11 

FY2015 = $592,500  12 

FY2016 = $592,500  13 

FY2017 = $592,500  14 

FY2018 = $592,500  15 

There are no anticipated fiscal implications for local government.  16 

Ms. Dodson has determined that, for each year of the first five-year period the amendments to 17 
§297.4 will be in effect, the public benefit anticipated as a result of enforcing the rule will be 18 
assuring that the Texas State Board of Pharmacy is adequately funded to carry out its mission. 19 
The effect on large, small or micro-businesses (pharmacies) will be the same as the economic 20 
cost to an individual, if the pharmacy chooses to pay the fee for the individual.  21 

Economic cost to pharmacy technicians required to comply with the amended rule will be an 22 
increase for a two-year registration of $28 for an initial registration and $25 for a renewal 23 
registration. The economic cost for pharmacy technician trainees will be an increase for a two-24 
year registration of $15.  25 

Comments on the proposed amendments may be submitted to Allison Benz, R.Ph., M.S., 26 
Director of Professional Services, Texas State Board of Pharmacy, 333 Guadalupe Street, Suite 27 
3-600, Austin, Texas 78701, fax (512) 305-8008. Comments must be received by 5:00 p.m., 28 
October 25, 2013.  29 

The amendments are proposed under §551.002 and §554.051 of the Texas Pharmacy Act 30 
(Chapters 551 - 566, 568 and 569, Texas Occupations Code). The Board interprets §551.002 as 31 
authorizing the agency to protect the public through the effective control and regulation of the 32 



October 16, 2013 2 
 

practice of pharmacy. The Board interprets §554.051(a) as authorizing the agency to adopt rules 33 
for the proper administration and enforcement of the Act.  34 

The statutes affected by this amendment are Texas Pharmacy Act, Chapters 551 - 566, 568 and 35 
569, Texas Occupations Code.  36 

§297.4.Fees.  37 

(a) Pharmacy technician trainee. The fee for registration shall be $62 [$47] and is composed of 38 
the following fees:  39 

(1) $55 [$40] for processing the application and issuance of the pharmacy technician trainee 40 
registration as authorized by the Act, §568.005;  41 

(2) $2 surcharge to fund TexasOnline as authorized by Chapter 2054, Subchapter I, Government 42 
Code; and  43 

(3) $5 surcharge to fund the Office of Patient Protection as authorized by Chapter 101, 44 
Subchapter G, Occupations Code.  45 

(b) Pharmacy technician.  46 

(1) Biennial Registration. The board shall require biennial renewal of all pharmacy technician 47 
registrations provided under Chapter 568 of the Act.  48 

(2) Initial Registration Fee. The fee for initial registration shall be $96 [$75] for a two year 49 
registration and is composed of the following fees:  50 

(A) $91 [$67] for processing the application and issuance of the pharmacy technician registration 51 
as authorized by the Act, §568.005;  52 

(B) $3 surcharge to fund TexasOnline as authorized by Chapter 2054, Subchapter I, Government 53 
Code; and  54 

(C) $2 [$5] surcharge to fund the Office of Patient Protection as authorized by Chapter 101, 55 
Subchapter G, Occupations Code.  56 

(3) Renewal Fee. The fee for biennial renewal of a pharmacy technician registration shall be $96 57 
[$71] and is composed of the following:  58 

(A) $91 [$67] for processing the application and issuance of the pharmacy technician registration 59 
as authorized by the Act, §568.005;  60 

(B) $3 [$2] surcharge to fund TexasOnline as authorized by Chapter 2054, Subchapter I, 61 
Government Code; and  62 
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(C) $2 surcharge to fund the Office of Patient Protection as authorized by Chapter 101, 63 
Subchapter G, Occupations Code.  64 

(c) Duplicate or Amended Certificates. The fee for issuance of a duplicate or amended pharmacy 65 
technician trainee registration certificate or pharmacy technician registration renewal certificate 66 
shall be $20.  67 



-----Original Message----- 
From: Jeff Carson  
Sent: Monday, August 19, 2013 2:08 PM 
To: Becky Damon 
Subject: Technician ratios in the state of Texas 
 
To whom it may concern, 
 
My family has owned and operated pharmacies in the San Antonio area for over forty years. We have seen a lot 
of changes in that time, some good and some bad. This is a potential change that could be both. I certainly agree 
that in today's practice of pharmacy technicians can do a lot of great things and decrease the overall burden to 
pharmacists. However, there needs to be a limit or that decrease in burden could become an increase in liability. 
Our pharmacies are what you would call hybrids. We do both conventional pharmacy as well as prescription 
compounding both sterile and non-sterile. In the regular dispensing pharmacy, there are only so many 
prescriptions a pharmacist can SAFELY check. At some point, you can have too many technicians producing too 
many prescriptions for one pharmacist to check. So in this instance, my experience tells me that having more 
than 4 techs per one pharmacist is about maxed out. I don't see where it is either efficient or safe for technicians 
to produce more completed, ready to check prescriptions than the pharmacist can check in a reasonable 
amount of time. This does NOT free up the pharmacist to provide more cognitive services like counseling. It 
simply pushes more and more prescriptions thru the workflow faster than the pharmacist can do final 
verifications. Having huge piles of prescriptions waiting final verification sitting around in piles creates a 
cluttered environment that is more likely to result in a dispensing error than a clean and organized environment. 
 
However, there are other pharmacy environments that could see significant benefit from increased ratios 
beyond 3 or 4 per pharmacist. For example, long term care specialty pharmacies are quite different from 
traditional dispensing pharmacies. Since there is very little contact (if any) with the patient, and therefore very 
little interruptions in the process of final verification being completed by the pharmacist on duty, there would be 
an appropriate need for say up to 6 technicians per pharmacist. You may even be able to argue for 7. Also, in the 
pharmacy engaged in compounding both sterile and non-sterile, there could also be some significant 
advantages. In order to stay compliant with USP guidelines, as well as state and federal guidelines, there are a 
significant and growing number of continuous quality improvement and control issues that require an ever 
increasing amount of time to complete and stay up to date with. It would be of significant benefit to have say up 
to 6 technicians per pharmacist to help with this. But here again, at some point there are just too many 
technicians producing too much finished product for one pharmacist to keep track of. 
 
At some point more is not better. At some point more is actually dangerous. I just cannot support going from a 
restricted 3 all the way to unlimited! That just isn't a rational change. I am always for change that improves 
outcomes. But have we not learned our lessons from the past that too much change too fast leads to human 
failures?  
 
I am very excited about adding the new class of pharmacy A-S. Let's go one step further and add Class A-NS 
(non-sterile compounder)and Class A-SNS (sterile and non-sterile compounder)as well as Class-ALTC (long term 
care specialty). Then we can assign appropriate technician ratios to each category as well as start training our 
compliance officers in the specific areas of expertise. 
 
In addition, I would also be in support of increased fees with each of these new categories in order to provide 
more resources to the TSBP in hopes of improving it's ability to regulate in these areas of expertise. 
 
Sincerely, 
Jeff Carson, R.Ph. 
Chief-of-Staff 
Oakdell Pharmacy, Inc. 
210-240-8316 cell 
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