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Bill
Number
H.B.1

Action Chart for Implementation of Legislation Passed by the 2015 Texas Legislature Session

Provisions of the Bill

H.B. 1 Appropriations Act

The base appropriation for TSBP for FY2016-2017 is approximately
$234,000 more than the base appropriation the previous biennium.
The majority of this additional appropriation is targeted to give TSBP
staff a merit raise.

In addition to the base, the agency received a Contingent Revenue
rider for implementation of SB 195 that would appropriate $1,311,007
in FY2016 and $800,913 in FY2017 and give the agency 7 additional
FTEs. This rider also outlines a schedule of payments to TSBP from all
of the agencies that license individuals authorized to access
information in the prescription monitoring system to fund S.B. 195.
(Note: The Comptroller’s Office has determined that the provision that
allows agencies to transfer funds to TSBP to fund implementation of
S.B. 195 does not become effective until 9/1/2016. Therefore, under
their interpretation the agency cannot collect fees from the other
agencies until 9/1/16).

Effective Date

9/1/2015

Internal
Deadline
9/1/2015

Action/Status

H.B. 751

(1) H.B. 751 amends Pharmacy Act to allow pharmacists to substitute
“biological products” if:
=  The physician authorizes substitution;
= The patient doesn’t refuse the substitution; and
= The “biological product” is designated as “therapeutically

equivalent” to another product by FDA.
(2) The bill specifies that, not later than the third business day after
dispensing the pharmacist must “communicate” to the prescribing
practitioner the name of the product provided and the
manufacturer or NDC number. The communication must be
conveyed by:
= entering the information into an interoperable electronic
medical record system; or

= through the use of electronic prescribing technology, PBM
system, or a pharmacy record that the pharmacist reasonable
concludes is electronically accessible by the prescribing
practitioner; or

= by faxing, phoning, electronic transmission to the physician.

(3) Notification is not required if:
= there is no interchangeable biological product approved by

FDA; or

9/1/2015
Rules by
12/1/15

12/1/2015

(1) Draft rules to implement H.B. 751 were
presented to the Board for consideration as
proposed rules at the August 4, 2015, meeting
and the Board voted to propose the rules at that
meeting.

(2) The rules were published in the September 25,
2015, issue of the Texas Register and they will
be considered for final adoption at the
November 3, 2015, meeting.

10/19/2015
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= 3 refill prescription is not changed from the product dispensed
on the prior dispensing.
The notification section of the bill expires on 9/1/2019.
(4) Rules must be adopted by 12/1/2015.

Effective Date

Internal
Deadline

Action/Status

H.B. 1550 | H.B. 1550 amends the Pharmacy Act by adding a new Section 562.057 1/1/2016 1/1/2016 (1) Draft rules to implement H.B. 1550 will be
that: presented to the Board for consideration as
(1) Allows pharmacists, in an emergency, to administer epinephrine to proposed rules at the August 4, 2015 meeting
a patient using an auto-injector device; and the Board voted to propose the rules at that
(2) Requires the pharmacist to report the administration to the meeting.
patient’s primary care physician; (2) The rules were published in the September 25,
(3) Specifies that a pharmacist may not receive remuneration for the 2015, issue of the Texas Register and they will
administration; and be considered for final adoption at the
(4) Provides that the pharmacist is not liable for civil damages if the November 3, 2015, meeting.
pharmacist acts in good faith and complies with Board rules.
S.B. 195 S.B. 195 amends the Texas Controlled Substances Act to: (a) 6/20/2015 | 3/1/2016 (1) Draft rules to implement the PMP and the other
(1) Allow the Board, on or after 6/20/2015: for Sec. provisions related to prescriptions in the
= Allow the Board the authority to adopt rules to implement the 481.003(a), Controlled Substances act as specified in S.B.
PMP and certain other provisions related to prescriptions in 481.073, 195 will be presented to the Board for
the Controlled Substances Act (Sections 481.003(a), 481.075, 481.074, consideration as proposed rules at the
481.076(c), 481.0761(a) and (g) ,Sections 481.073 481.075, November 3, 2015 meeting.
(Communication of Prescriptions by Agent), 481.074 481.076(c),
(Prescriptions) and 481.352; 481.0761(a) &
= Sign a contract with a vendor to operate the PMP; and (g) and 481.352
= Call a meeting of the Prescription Monitoring Work Group. (b) 9/1/2016
(2) Effective 9/1/2016: for the transfer
=  Transfer the PMP from the DPS to TSBP; of Program and
= Establish a program to fund the Prescription Monitoring other sections
Program (PMP) though a surcharge on the license fees of not listed in (a)
persons authorized to access the PMP and
= Eliminate the Controlled Substance Registration program.
10/19/2015 page 2 of 5
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S.B. 460

(1) S.B. 460 amends the Pharmacy Act to:

Allow a pharmacy to notify consumers how to file a complaint
using an electronic messaging system.

Allow the Board to inspect financial records relating to the
operation of a pharmacy only in the course of an investigation
of a specific complaint;

Allow the Board to inspect the records of a pharmacist if the
pharmacist practices outside a licensed pharmacy.

Specify that a person cannot own a Class E Pharmacy license if
the person has held a RPh license in this or another state that
has been restricted, suspended, revoked, or surrendered for
any reason;

Specify that a pharmacy license may not be renewed if the
license has expired for 91 days or more;

Requires a pharmacy to report to the Board in writing, no later
than 30-days before the date of a change of location;

Prohibit waiving, discounting, or reducing, or offering to waive,
discount, or reduce a payment copayment or deductible for a
compounded drug in the absence of:

o Alegitimate, documented patient financial hardship; or

o Evidence of a good faith effort to collect; and

Eliminate the requirement to post the “Generic Sign.”

(2) S.B. 460 also amends the Dangerous Drug Act to add a provision
currently in the Pharmacy Act that in the event of a natural or
manmade disaster allows RPhs to dispense up to a 30-day supply
of a dangerous drug on a refill, without authorization of the
practitioner, if:

Failure to refill the Rx might result in interruption of a
therapeutic regimen or create patient suffering;

The nature of the disaster prohibits the RPh from contacting
the practitioner;

The Governor has declared a state of disaster; and

The Board, through the Executive Director, has notified
pharmacies they may dispense up to a 30-day supply of a
dangerous drug.

9/1/2015

10/1/2015 for
an Application
for the Change
of Location of a
Pharmacy

1/1/2016

(1) Draft rules to implement S.B. 460 will be
presented to the Board for consideration as
proposed rules at the August 4, 2015, meeting
and the Board voted to propose the rules at that
meeting.

(2) The rules were published in the September 25,
2015, issue of the Texas Register and they will
be considered for final adoption at the
November 3, 2015, meeting.

S.B. 807

S.B. 807 specifies that the Board must waive the license application

and examination fees for an applicant who is a military service member

or military veteran:

(1) Whose military service, training, or education substantially meets
all of the requirements for the license; or

9/1/2015

1/1/2016

(1) Draft rules to implement S.B. 807 will be
presented to the Board for consideration as
proposed rules at the August 4, 2015 meeting,
meeting and the Board voted to propose the
rules at that meeting.

10/19/2015
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()

Who holds a current license issued by another jurisdiction that has
licensing requirements that are equivalent those in Texas.

(2) The rules were published in the September 25,
2015, issue of the Texas Register and they will
be considered for final adoption at the
November 3, 2015, meeting.

S.B. 1243

S.B.

1243 establishes a Prescription Drug Donation Pilot Program

(Program) in the Department of State Health Services (DSHS). The
Program must be established in one or more cities with a population of
more than 500,000 but less than one million.

(1)

(2)

(3)

(4)
(5)

A Charitable Drug Donor (pharmacy, nursing home, manufacturer,

hospital, etc.) may donate non-controlled Rx drugs to DSHS for use

in the Program.

The donated drugs may be accepted and provided or administered

to patients only by a:

= Charitable medical clinic;

= Physician's office for patients who receive assistance from an
indigent health care program; or

= Licensed health care professional in a penal institution.

DSHS must establish and maintain an electronic database which:

= Lists the name and quantity of each drug donated to DSHS
under the program; and

= Allows a charitable medical clinic, physician, or other licensed
health care professional to search for and request drugs.

The entity providing or administering the drug may charge a

nominal handling fee in an amount prescribed by DSHS rule.

DSHS must adopt rules for by 12/1/2015.

9/1/2015

Drug Donations
after 1/1/2016

S.B.1307

S.B.

1307 specifies that all occupational licensing agencies must adopt

rules to:

(1)
()

(3)

(4)

Give military service members, veterans, or spouses an exemption
from paying a penalty for failing to renew;

Allow military service members, veterans, or spouses an additional
two years to complete any CE requirements or any other
requirement related to the renewal of the license.

Allow agencies to adopt rules that establish alternate methods for
a military service member, veteran, or spouse to demonstrate
competency to meet the requirements for obtaining the license;
Requires agencies to post a notice on the home page of the
agency's website describing the licensing provisions available to
military service members, veterans, and spouses.

9/1/2015

Law is
applicable to an
application filed

on or after
1/1/2016

1/1/2016

(1) Draft rules to implement S.B. 1307 will be
presented to the Board for consideration as
proposed rules at the August 4, 2015 meeting,
meeting and the Board voted to propose the
rules at that meeting.

(2) The rules were published in the September 25,
2015, issue of the Texas Register and they will
be considered for final adoption at the
November 3, 2015, meeting.

10/19/2015
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S.B. 1462

S.B. 1462 adds a new Subchapter E. Opioid Antagonist to the
Dangerous Drug Act that:
(1) Allows Drs to prescribe/issue a standing order for an opioid
antagonist, without risk of discipline, to a:
= Person at risk of an opioid-related drug overdose; or
=  Family member, friend, or other person in a position to assist a
person at risk of experiencing an opioid-related drug overdose.
(2) Specifies a R.Ph. who dispenses or does not dispense an opioid
antagonist under a valid Rx is not subject to criminal/civil liability
or disciplinary action for:
= Dispensing or failing to dispense the opioid antagonist; or
= |f the R.Ph. dispenses an opioid antagonist, any outcome
resulting from the administration of the opioid antagonist.

9/1/2015

6/30/2016

10/19/2015
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