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July 7, 2008 
 
 

This letter will serve as notification of changes to and reminders concerning 
the Texas Health and Safety Code affecting Texas registrants.   
 
 

All Registrants 
 
Fees 

The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) may charge a nonrefundable fee of $25 before processing an application for annual 
registration and may charge a late fee of $50 for each application for renewal that the department receives after the date the registration 
expires.  The received date will be determined by the date the renewal was received by DPS.  If the renewal is late, the registration will not 
be renewed until the late fee is received; this applies to all applicants, even if the applicant is exempt from other registration fees. 
 

Prescriptions 
 Effective September 1, 2008, all prescriptions for Schedule II-V controlled substances must contain the below information to be considered 

valid and, subsequently, filled: 
• quantity of the substance prescribed (written as both a number and as a word) 
• date of issue (can not be postdated) 
• name, address, and date of birth or age of the patient (if the patient is an animal, the species and the name and address of the 

owner) 
• name and strength of the controlled substance prescribed 
• directions for use of the controlled substance 
• intended use of the substance prescribed unless the practitioner determines the furnishing of this information is not in the best 

interest of the patient 
• printed or stamped name, address, Federal Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) registration number, and telephone number 

of the practitioner’s usual place of business 
• the signature of the prescribing practitioner, unless the prescription is called in to the pharmacy 
• the practitioner’s current and valid DPS registration number for practitioners licensed in Texas. The DPS registration 

number must belong to the practitioner issuing the prescription; the prescribing practitioner may be a properly registered 
physician’s assistant or an advanced practice nurse on Schedules III-V prescriptions. 

 
 Effective March 12, 2008, Schedule II controlled substance prescriptions must be filled within 21 days after the prescription was issued.  

The Official Prescription form is void if presented for filling later than 21 days after the date of issuance.  A new prescription is 
required.  Note - there are existing Official Prescription forms that have been preprinted with a shorter time frame for filling (3 or 7 days).  
These are allowed to be filled within 21 days. 

 
Penalties 

A violation of the Texas Health and Safety Code Section 481.128 is a state jail felony and subject to civil penalties.  If the registrant 
knowingly commits an offense, a civil penalty of not more than $5,000 per act can be assessed.  If the registrant commits an offense 
without the requisite culpable mental state, a civil penalty of not more than $1,000 per act can be assessed.  A district attorney of the 
county where the act occurred may file suit in district court in that county to collect the civil penalty. 
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Practitioners 
 
Official Prescription forms 

All Schedule II controlled substance prescriptions must be issued on an Official Prescription form.  The DPS is the sole source for the 
Official Prescription form.  Effective September 1, 2008, the cost per pad (100 prescription forms) will increase to $9.00.  Official 
Prescription forms, written in error, must be returned to the Texas Prescription Program.  Official Prescription forms that are lost or stolen 
must be reported to the Texas Prescription Program.  
 

Emergency Medical Services (EMS) 
A new application has been developed for Emergency Medical Services (EMS).  The medical director and provider’s representative are 
both required to sign the application.  All satellite and remote locations must be listed.  The provider must have a current EMS license with 
DSHS and the medical director must have a valid Texas medical license before an application can be approved. 

 
Mid Level Practitioners (MLP) 

All supervisory physicians, delegating prescriptive authority, must certify the authorizing delegation when a MLP applies and at each 
renewal period.  A MLP must notify the Controlled Substance Registration Section within 7 days when a change in address or supervisory 
physician occurs.  The practitioner must have a valid Texas medical license and a DPS registration number. 

 
Physicians in Training (PIT) 

Persons participating in the Texas State Board of Medical Examiners Physician in Training program must have a DPS PIT number for all 
controlled substance prescriptions they issue.  The DPS PIT number is issued by the Texas Prescription Program.  The DPS PIT number 
must be requested by the training coordinator of the teaching institution on behalf of the physician in training.  The training coordinator of 
the teaching institution will provide the DPS PIT number to the physician in training.  The DPS PIT number is only valid for the duration of 
the training program. 

 
 

Pharmacies/Pharmacists 
 
Registration 

The pharmacist in charge must sign the registration renewal form if the business activity is a pharmacy; this includes a long term care 
facility.  The administrator of a hospital must sign the registration renewal form if the business activity is a hospital. 

 
Electronic Transmissions 

 Effective September 1, 2008, all prescription information for Schedule II-V controlled substances must be transmitted to the DPS through 
our vendor, Atlantic Associates Inc., no later than the 15th day after the last day of the month in which the prescription is completely filled.  
The transmission must include the below information: 

• prescribing practitioner’s valid DPS registration number (if the practitioner is not registered in Texas, then the DPS 
registration number should be entered as 90140100). 

• official prescription control number (Schedule II prescriptions only) 
• patient’s (or the animal owner’s) name, age or date of birth, and address (including city, state, and zip code) 
• date the prescription was issued and filled 
• NDC number of the controlled substance dispensed 
• Quantity of the controlled substance dispensed 
• pharmacy prescription number 
• dispensing pharmacy’s DPS registration number 
 

 A pharmacy, that has an approved written plan with the Texas Prescription Program, can fill Schedule II controlled substance 
prescriptions issued by a practitioner not registered in Texas. 

 
 If the Schedule III-V controlled substance prescription is issued by a physician’s assistant or an advanced practice nurse, their DPS 

registration number must be recorded on the prescription and transmitted to the DPS through our vendor Atlantic Associates, Inc. 
 

 All Schedule III-V controlled substance prescription refills must be transmitted with complete prescription information within the required 
time frame.  Schedule II controlled substance prescriptions can not be refilled. 

 
 Atlantic Associates Inc. sends a postcard to each transmitting pharmacy confirming the receipt of data and count of accepted records.  If 

the number of accepted records is less than the number of records transmitted, then the rejected records must be corrected and 
retransmitted.  Note – only retransmit the corrected records. 

 
 A pharmacy may request a waiver from electronic reporting if a pharmacy fills less than 15 controlled substance prescriptions per month or 

if a pharmacy is not automated and, therefore, unable to transmit electronically. 
 

 Official Prescription forms, where the Schedule II controlled substance is not dispensed or the form is not returned to the patient, must be 
mailed to the Texas Prescription Program. 

 
 

Contact Information 
 
Controlled Substances Registration   512/424-2188 
Texas Prescription Program   512/424-2189 
Web address     http://www.txdps.state.tx.us/criminal_law_enforcement/narcotics/index.htm 
Email account     tppcsr@txdps.state.tx.us 
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