TEXAS PHARMACIST LICENSE RENEWAL OPTIONS

A Texas pharmacist license must be renewed before the expiration date every two years to "maintain the license." The three options for a Texas pharmacist license at renewal are to renew as:

- Active
- Inactive, or
- Allow the license to lapse.

There is no option to retire or cancel the license, or to place your license on hold when it is time to renew.

I WANT TO RENEW AS:

ACTIVE

If you are currently **Active** and renew as **Active**, you pay the renewal fee and report that you have met the CE requirement based on <u>Rule 295.8</u>. You are not required to be working or living in Texas to maintain an Active license. If you have completed the required CE based on <u>Rule 295.8</u>, it is not to your advantage to choose the lnactive status since you are required to pay the same renewal fee.

INACTIVE

If you renew as **Inactive**, you pay the same fee* as an Active license. However, you cannot practice pharmacy in Texas while the status is Inactive. The CE requirement is waived at license renewal for an Inactive license. **During the online renewal process, you can request the Inactive status by using the pull-down response list when answering the question regarding completion of CE hours**. You would be required to maintain an Inactive license by continuing to renew it every two years. To reactivate the license in the future, you would be required to provide documentation of CE hours based on <u>Rule 295.9</u>. Contact TSBP if you are currently **Inactive** and wish to return to **Active** status.

*The **only** time the renewal fee is waived is when a pharmacist meets the requirements to renew as Inactive Exempt. A pharmacist is eligible to renew as Inactive Exempt when he or she is at least 72 years of age at the time of license renewal or has been licensed by TSBP for 50 years or more.

I WILL ALLOW MY LICENSE TO LAPSE:

If you choose to **allow your license to lapse**, your license status will be:

- Delinguent for one year from the expiration date.
 - A delinquent fee will be added to the renewal fee the first day after the expiration date.
 - o A second delinquent fee will be added in another 90 days from the expiration date.
 - You can still renew a delinquent license until one year from the current expiration date by completing a renewal application and paying the fees.
 - No exams would be required if you renew a delinquent license within one year from the current expiration date.
- After one year from the expiration date, the license status will change to Expired if the license is not renewed.
 - You would be required to apply for relicensure if you wanted to be an Active Texas pharmacist.
 - Relicensure requirements include taking and passing the law exam, and other possible requirements based on when you apply, or if you have been practicing as a pharmacist the previous two years in another state.
 - o The fees and requirements for relicensure can be found as follows:
 - Relicensure Rule 283.10
 - Fees Rule 283.9
 - o In some situations, the best method to obtain a current Texas license would be reciprocity instead of relicensure.