Pharmacist License by Exam/Score Transfer
IMPORTANT: Based on Board rule 283.9, once a pharmacist applicant has successfully completed all requirements for licensure, a license will be issued with a 30-day expiration date. The first renewal fee must be paid within the first 30 days of licensure. For more information, see FAQs for new Texas pharmacists.
To be eligible to be a licensed pharmacist in the state of Texas, you must meet the following criteria:
- Be at least 18 years of age;
- Have obtained ONE of the following:
- A Bachelor of Science degree in Pharmacy or Pharm.D degree from a Board approved ACPE accredited college; OR
- Full certification from the Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Equivalency Committee (FPGEC) if you have graduated from a college of pharmacy program located outside the US.
- Completed minimum number of hours (1,740) as required by the Accredication Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE)
- Taken and received passing scores on BOTH the:
Want an overview of the application process?
Watch our video tutorial in a separate tab or via the embedded video below:
You can also download the:
- PDF version of this tutorial,
- the application checklist,
- and the link library to easily navigate to the sites and pages discussed.
Step One: The applicant applies with the Texas State Board of Pharmacy (TSBP)
The applicant must apply with TSBP for licensure by examination by submitting the appropriate application and fee online through the Online Licensing System.
This part of the application process may be submitted as early as six months prior to the applicant’s expected graduation date.
Step Two: The applicant may attach the Supplemental Documentation to TSBP online application.
While completing the online application with TSBP, the applicant may attach the following items to the online License by Exam application:
- Copy of an Official Identification containing a Photograph and Signature (i.e. Driver’s License or State ID Card)
- Copy of Social Security Card
- Copy of Birth Certificate, Permanent Resident Card, Naturalization Papers, or US Passport
NOTE: If any of the above documents list a different name, or the application lists a different name, the applicant must submit a legal document of a court ordered name change. Examples of such legal documents include a marriage certificate or divorce decree.
After graduation (or upon completion), submit the remaining items:
- Graduation Affidavit completed and submitted by applicant's College of Pharmacy or Copy of the FPGEC Certification.
- Graduation Affidavit
- Certification of the minimum number of Pharmacist Internship Hours (1,740), which may be reported on the Graduation Affidavit.
All supplemental documentation should be attached to the online application. If you are not able to attach the documents, you may mail them to:
ATTN: Pharmacist Licensing Specialist
Texas State Board of Pharmacy
333 Guadalupe St Ste 3-500
Austin, TX 78701
After you complete your online application, you will receive an automated email with the link and service code to complete the fingerprinting. Make sure to complete the Fingerprint Session as soon as possible, if you have not been fingerprinted for another TSBP application (TX Intern or TX Pharmacy Technician).
- Further instructions to: Schedule your Fingerprint Session with IdentoGO
Step Three: The applicant registers with the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP) and submits the non-refundable fee for the exams.
The applicant must register with the NABP to take both the NAPLEX* and MPJE exams. The applicant will also be required to pay the non-refundable fee(s) for each exam.
This part of the application process may be submitted as early as six months prior to the applicant’s expected graduation date. However, the applicant will not be authorized to take the exam(s) until TSBP has approved the applicant and NABP/Testing Center provides the Authorization to Test (ATT).
*Texas participates in the NAPLEX Score Transfer Program. For more information regarding the Score Transfer Program, contact NABP.
Step Four: Application and Supplemental Documentation is reviewed by TSBP
Allow at least eight weeks for the application and supplemental documentation to be reviewed by TSBP. If there are any deficiencies in the application, the applicant will be notified in writing via U.S. Postal Service. This notification will be mailed to the address listed on the application.
Additionally, if the applicant has something that will show on a criminal history background check, then the applicant and results from the background check must be reviewed by an in-house Enforcement Officer. This review process can take up to several months.
If it has been longer than 90 days, and you are certain that the application file is complete of all the above requirements, you may call 512-305-8070 and request a status of the Enforcement review.
Step Five: Applicant receives Authorization to Test (ATT)
Once the applicant is determined eligible, TSBP will notify NABP that the applicant has met the eligibility requirements. NABP will email the applicant that they may purchase the exams.
Once the applicant has purchased the exams, they will receive the ATT from the testing center and will then be allowed to schedule the exams.
Step Six: Applicant successfully takes and passes the Examinations
Once a week, NABP will provide TSBP with applicants who have received passing scores. Pharmacist licenses are issued in a group once a week, generally on Fridays. Once an applicant is licensed, their license will appear on the license verification search within 24 hours.
If an applicant believes they should be licensed, but cannot find it online, they should check again the following Friday.
New pharmacists will receive a letter from TSBP confirming they are licensed within three weeks.
Exam scores may be viewed through NABP. If an applicant failed any of the examinations, TSBP will email a retake packet within 3 weeks.
Step Seven: Renew Initial Pharmacist License
In accordance with Board rule 283.9, once an applicant for a pharmacist license has successfully completed all requirements for licensure, a license will be issued with a 30-day expiration date. The first renewal fee must be paid within the first 30 days of licensure.
For more information, see FAQs for new Texas pharmacists.
After you have read the above instructions,
click the Apply button to proceed:
Helpful LinksCandidates Guide to the Texas Pharmacy Jurisprudence Exam
List of ACPE Board approved Colleges with School Codes
Information Regarding Testing Accommodations for Persons with Disabilities